Your Garage Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Get Ready for Summer and Save 15% Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars43
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$30.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 19, 2008
What a joy to pick up a book and see photos of lovely kitchens in my size -- meaning, not McMansion. I am so disheartened by all the kitchen porn featuring 48 inch ranges under huge hoods behind islands with seating for six! Though the book specifically references the bungalow style, the photos and narrative describe how the Colonials and Tudors evolved early in the century, and there is plenty of visual and descriptive information applicable to these styles too. I especially liked the emphasis on finding ways to use authentic materials and styling while incorporating modern appliances, from lighting to cooking and even surfaces. The earlier book, Bungalow Kitchens, took on a very proscriptive voice, for example, absolutely banning in-ceiling spot lights. New Bungalow Kitchens, by contrast, is much more ecumenical, recognizing it is no sin to want to acknowledge and utilize the best of the current offerings, and provides real guidance on how to accomplish this without blatantly violating the period aesthetic. There are lovely kitchens in both dark stained and light painted finishes. It seems the author has a few favorite kitchens that were pictured over and over throughout the book. But the ones he chose certainly bore up well in their close-ups. I got several ideas that I can actually use, in fact, probably more ideas than I can actually use.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2007
I relied on this very well-written, beautifully photographed book while renovating my 1900 colonial revival house. Mr. Labau's eye, obviously honed by long experience, is pretty amazing when it comes to combining the class of the old with the functional needs of the new.
The best thing about this book is that you don't put it away on a shelf. It is an art book, too!
Ruby
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2007
I would consider this book to be one of the top five bungalow books to purchase! The pictures are exquiste and the narrative is done well. The book will give you several options: from traditional, small bungalow kitches to complete a major modern day bungalow kitchen. A must have in your bungalow book library.
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
MANUFACTURERon July 26, 2011
I'll be honest - I bought it for the pictures. We are in the process of remodeling our 1920s shingle craftsman kitchen and wanted ideas. Imagine our surprise when we noticed the same picture on three pages... then another on two.. then another on two. Instead of getting more case studies, the authors just reprinted some photos several times in several chapters to draw out the length of the book. Sure they had additional info in subsequent chapters but couldn't it have just been consolidated to make space for more photos?
Also, a number of these kitchens are repetitive and a few are just completely incorrect in terms of 'bungalow style'. But it is a pretty book and the quality of the printing is good. So, three stars...
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2008
I have purchased many Bungalow Arts & Crafts decorating and remodeling books. This book is on the top of my list. The author goes into detail about how an original bungalow home, in the early 20st century, was built and designed. How and where you maybe able to find original kit designs for your home. Also, there are many completed remodeling examples in the book, these picture helped me decide which design fit my taste the best. This book is a keeper for anyone who is considering remodeling their kitchen in the Arts & Crafts design.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2007
Peter Labau has crafted a practical and classy take on classic bungalow kitchens. The visuals are exquisite and as easy on the eyes as the words which flow from author to reader. His years of experience in classic home environments shines through each chapter. I found "The New Bungalow Kitchen" easy to read and very informative. The book also serves as a perfect reference for 20's period architecture in general. Each turn of the page brings another good example of how to create beautiful spaces. This is definitely worth having on your bookshelf as a reference for any re-development project you might have!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2007
The book gave us a lot of good ideas. We just bought a Bungalow built in 1941 and we are looking to overhaul the kitchen without disturbing the character and charm of the home. This book will help us do that. I was a little dissapointed that the book did not give more specific reccomendations i.e style of cabinets, materials used, finishes etc. They had some pictures, but alot of the details are not literally described . Still a great book.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2008
We finished building our new Craftsman home a few months ago. This book was very helpful in determining how we should create a kitchen that looked like it belongs in a bungalow, while keeping with modern conveniences. The chapters cover every detail from top to bottom, wall to wall, and there are beautiful photos that help you visualize each point. This book would be helpful for new homes like ours, and also for restorations. It shows how you can bring bungalow style to your home without it looking outdated and old. For me, this book was much more useful than "Bungalow Kitchens" by Jane Powell, which is more for the obsessive bungalow restorer. Peter LaBau shows you how you can utilize modern materials and conveniences in a "bungalow" way.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2014
Nice ideas but tedious, often repeated views of the same kitchen. And, very pricey ideas at that. Very high-end is nice but not what I had in mind at all. I will stick to my own game plan and complete my bungalow kitchen without breaking the bank, thank you very much.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
and hired the architect! Peter designed our new home with every bit of the design, art sense and historical knowledge / context he brings to this book on kitchens. Wonderful pictures, good solid information - it was a wonderful source of ideas as we built our new home. If you like bungalow style, you'll enjoy this kitchen book. Our new home is not bungalow style, I do love that style however not only for it's simple beauty but for the many practical aspects it encompasses. The images in this book gave us a lot of good discussion points as we worked through the details of the kitchen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse