Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the serious ESL teacher
This book is a must have for those,who have moved beyond survival. When preparing my lesson plans, I always have this book opened. It is not for the new teacher, who wants a ready made lesson to teach on Monday. This book will make you look at your practice and teach you how to give kids the tools they need to succeed in their mainstream classrooms.
Published on November 12, 2001 by M. Enright

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Class
This book served its purpose while I was getting my degree to become a teacher. I would not have bought it for any other reason besides the fact it was required for the course.
Published 21 months ago by S. Garner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the serious ESL teacher, November 12, 2001
By 
M. Enright "me2heckle" (New York City, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a must have for those,who have moved beyond survival. When preparing my lesson plans, I always have this book opened. It is not for the new teacher, who wants a ready made lesson to teach on Monday. This book will make you look at your practice and teach you how to give kids the tools they need to succeed in their mainstream classrooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From a student's point of view, December 3, 2002
I was required to read this book for a university course. I found the CALLA method very interesting and I believe it would help in the classroom, but the book is very repetitive. I was bored to tears much of the time as I read through it cover to cover, which I was required to do. There is a basic theme (using content area materials in ESL classes) which is covered in the first few chapters, then the rest of the book is variations on the primary theme. An exciting novel it is not, but as a book you use for reference rather than reading cover to cover, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Calla Handbook: Implementing the Cognitive Academic Language Learning Approach, October 16, 2005
Extremely useful for those bilingual/ESL educators who are seeking a way to systematically move students from social language to academic language. Easy to understand guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is great., February 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The CALLA Handbook: Implementing the Cognitive Academic Language Learning Approach (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This is my textbook for Teaching strategies. I really get into it while I am reading it. It is great for all teachers expecially new teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, great price, July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The CALLA Handbook: Implementing the Cognitive Academic Language Learning Approach (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I bought this book for a class when I was getting my Masters. It was a great price for the book and saved me a lot of money as a struggling college student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful!, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The CALLA Handbook: Implementing the Cognitive Academic Language Learning Approach (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I teach ESL and needed to take some CALLA courses. I have found the CALLA approach to be very sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The CALLA Handbook, July 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had some beginning knowledge in the CALLA method and this handbook lays out the approach clearly so that the actual approach can be easily emplemented into any language learning classroom. I use this method somewhat already but now I am more prepared to start my school year off implementing the complete CALLA method of teaching. This book has been very helpful to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Resource book..., July 3, 2014
By 
Neola Merchant (Sonora, California USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The CALLA Handbook: Implementing the Cognitive Academic Language Learning Approach (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
A good reference for teachers of English learners. Typical resource book--some great ideas. I was required to purchase it for a class...didn't use it much, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent learning strategy resource, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent resource for any content area teacher who works with ELL or is teaching a foreign language. It is written in an easy to understand style with multiple suggestions on how to implement the strategies in the classroom instructional routine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just needed this for a class, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The CALLA Handbook: Implementing the Cognitive Academic Language Learning Approach (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
It came on time and in good condition. Not sure if I like the content. It's pretty helpful for ELLs, but I feel like there are better books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The CALLA Handbook: Implementing the Cognitive Academic Language Learning Approach (2nd Edition)
$79.33 $64.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.