Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW! I HAVEN'T SEEN THIS IN A LONG TIME! GREAT TV MOVIE!
This is a very good TV movie from the mid 70's. The story is about a small town and it's sadistic sheriff(played by Vic Morrow) who has a unique way of dealing with out of town highway speeders. He just rams them until they go out of control and go over the side a famous cliff on the outskirts of the small town. Saves a lot of time and the tax payers money! right? That is...
Published on July 10, 2007 by ! MR. KNOW IT ALL ;-b

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Soundtrack and Performances by Sheen and Morrow
Awesome early 70s soundtrack - as funky as that car - it's ultra swanky with lots of wah-wah guitar and stuff that could have worked for Soul Cinema or Blaxploitation movies - in a word, it's very well done and contributes a lot to the atmosphere of the film - even though the story is supposedly taking place in the 50s, a good decade or so before music sounded like this...
Published on May 24, 2010 by Green Manalishi


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW! I HAVEN'T SEEN THIS IN A LONG TIME! GREAT TV MOVIE!, July 10, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The California Kid (DVD)
This is a very good TV movie from the mid 70's. The story is about a small town and it's sadistic sheriff(played by Vic Morrow) who has a unique way of dealing with out of town highway speeders. He just rams them until they go out of control and go over the side a famous cliff on the outskirts of the small town. Saves a lot of time and the tax payers money! right? That is until the "California Kid"(played by Martin Sheen) comes to town looking for his brother, who's missing! I was lucky enough to order this through Amazon when it was available! The DVD transfer is very good, but no extras. I would be happy to have a few classic TV movies on DVD like this, extras or not! Keep them coming! "Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark", "Bad Ronald", "The Boy Who Cried Werewolf", "Trapped", "Dark Night Of The Scarecrow" Oh the 70's TV movies were great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheen And Morrow Classic, January 7, 2008
By 
Trevor William Douglas (Gorokan, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The California Kid (DVD)
What a pleasant surprise to find this 1974 televison film in pristine condition!

Billed as ABC TVs 200th 'Movie Of The Week'

Martin Sheen is excellent as always and is ably supported by Nick Nolte, Stuart Margolin and Michelle Phillips.
Vic Morrow steals the show as Sheriff Roy Childress.
Look fast for Martin's real life brother Joe Estevez, playing his screen brother, at the beginning of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Soundtrack and Performances by Sheen and Morrow, May 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The California Kid (DVD)
Awesome early 70s soundtrack - as funky as that car - it's ultra swanky with lots of wah-wah guitar and stuff that could have worked for Soul Cinema or Blaxploitation movies - in a word, it's very well done and contributes a lot to the atmosphere of the film - even though the story is supposedly taking place in the 50s, a good decade or so before music sounded like this! Actually, the movie is a mixed bag for me.

The Good:

Martin Sheen and Vic Morrow put in great performances.
Music is great, as mentioned.
Story has potential, but...

The Bad:

...but kind of falls flat in the end so that when it's over you're like, "That's it?". Anti-climatic.

The Ugly:

Bare bones production. But I didn't really mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a REVIEW from an OWNER of the new BLU RAY version!, October 19, 2010
This review is from: The California Kid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just popped in the new Blu-Ray version....it looks very very good. Much better than one might expect from a decades old TV movie of the week. Obviously shot on film its a nice 73minute flick that is almost more fun from the standpoint of watching Vic Morrow (between this and Dirty Mary Crazy Larry he corned the market on jerkwater USA Sheriffs in the 70's), and a very young Martin Sheen and Nick Nolte than the story itself. If you are into retro shows or car movies and haven't bought it I'd recommend the extra couple of bucks for the blu-ray.
There are NO bonus features.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, Poor Car Details, January 28, 2008
This review is from: The California Kid (DVD)
I never saw this when it originally aired, but it has held up well for it's time. My only critique is that "The California Kid" had a Windsor Ford V8 in it - and does show it in some shots, but when they do a real close-up, it's a small-block Chevy. I guess they weren't as detail-oriented as movies are today. I liked and enjoyed the movie otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars California Kid - Older Now - Younger Then !, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The California Kid (DVD)
This was such a cool old Hot Rod movie ! Martin Sheen, Nick Nolte, Vic Morrow, and Michelle Phillips when they were all about 20 yrs old (except for Michelle who looked 17). Fun to see the old cars, and the scene where the '34 Ford first rolls into town over the bridge was too much ! Loved it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Got it at Frye's for about six bucks. And it's not really worth much more., August 14, 2011
By 
Rykre "The Rogue Scholar" (of the vast Western Dystopian Wasteland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The California Kid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a pretty decent made-for-TV movie. Even here it's in the 1:33 standard TV frame. The story is pretty decent but it's definitely nothing you'd enjoy in the theatre. It was made in 1974 and for a TV movie, it certainly has an impressive cast. Seeing Martin Sheen in his 20's is a treat for Sheen fans, and this movie also had Vic Morrow (Bad News Bears, Twilight Zone: The Movie) as a sadistic sheriff and Michelle Phillips (formerly a singer from the Mamas and the Papas), Nick Nolte (48 hours, Cape Fear) and even Gavan O'Herlihy (Never Say Never Again, Superman III).

The story was pretty predictable: Kid seeks revenge from a bad sheriff who killed his brother though it was reported as a speeding accident.

The only problem with this movie is the fact that it's on Blu-Ray. For Blu-Ray, this picture quality is deplorable. I found it in the discount bin basket at Frye's Electronics. All the Blu-Ray discs in there were selling for about 6 bucks or less. Oh well, I've spent more on two beers so I guess that wasn't too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kid arrives....on DVD!!, September 20, 2009
By 
Only Bond (Southern Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The California Kid (DVD)
FINALLY after watching this for years on a lousy tape copy, The Kid arrives on DVD!! My only wish is that they would have also included the SPEED CHANNEL 25th Anniversary Special. Hmmm.... perhaps a SPECIAL COLLECTORS EDITION is in the works for a future release that will include this special with interviews with Kid builder Pete Chapouris, producer Howie Horwitz and revisiting the town "Clarksburg, CA" used in the filming. Never got to see this on SPEED CHANNEL.... or any where else for that matter.

I have always dreamed of owning my own Kid someday but sadly I'll have to settle for the movie. This is a MUST HAVE MOVIE for any hot rodder or car nut and is enjoyable over and over!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional For A Made-For-TV Film, November 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The California Kid (DVD)
Got a Hot-Rod heart? Interested in a tale where the bad guy gets undone by his own scheme? 'The California Kid' might just be what you're looking for. Based on actual tales of speed-traps set up in rural areas to bilk unwitting travelers, this film captures the look and feel of one such scenario. Vic Morrow plays the scheming sheriff and quickly earns the scorn of the audience - a mark of a good actor. After he causes the death of two sailors who are only trying to make it back to their base before they're considered AWOL - Martin Sheen shows up in his sharp looking '34 Ford Street Rod, looking for answers to his brother's death. He quickly sizes up the situation and without explanation develops a plan to expose the sheriff. Good co-star performances by Michelle Phillips, and Nick Nolte round out the 'known' actors in this film - but the rest of the cast performs just as well. Better than expected for a made-for-TV movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of California Kid, June 2, 2009
This review is from: The California Kid (DVD)
As a car nut, I've always read about the flamed 34 Ford coupe in this movie. The car is an icon in the hot rod world. I had never seen the movie, it's not in the video stores and it never runs on TV. Since it was inexpensive, I decided to buy it. It was a thrill to see the car at last. The movie wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. It's really dated but was enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The California Kid [Blu-ray]
The California Kid [Blu-ray] by n/a (Blu-ray - 2010)
$14.93 $11.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.