Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Paranormal light
The Calling is what I think of as paranormal light. There are paranormal characters, but they are not fighting an evil nemesis are trying to save the world. They are living an everyday life just as any other human being would. Justin has chosen a career in the Coast Guard where he can sometimes secretively use his abilities to command the seas to save the lives of others...
Published on October 21, 2011 by Vanessa

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good romance. Silly paranormal premise.
The Calling
I really liked Justin. When he said he loved Mandy he meant it. No backing down. No second thoughts. Completely committed. They made her boyfriend a twirl your mustashe villian. It didn't make any sense that he could be that disturbed and no one had a clue. Mandy was ok. I totally understood her fear and doubts about Justin toward the end. How she...
Published on December 10, 2011 by phoenix2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Paranormal light, October 21, 2011
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
The Calling is what I think of as paranormal light. There are paranormal characters, but they are not fighting an evil nemesis are trying to save the world. They are living an everyday life just as any other human being would. Justin has chosen a career in the Coast Guard where he can sometimes secretively use his abilities to command the seas to save the lives of others. That is in fact where this journey begins. Justin is saving a father and son from a ship sinking due to a storm. The hanging on the edge of your seat action and suspense begins and readers are thrown into a book that can't be put down until they journey through the very climatic ending. This is a non-stop page turner.

Mandy is in the midst of bringing some normal back into her life. She has recently lost a breast to cancer and her self-esteem to an ex who dumped her when life got too real for him to handle. (That's right him to handle, selfish man all readers will love to hate.) She is bringing herself back from a horrific illness. She's went back to the nursing job that she loves, she's begun spending time with friends that stayed with her during her illness. She still has many doubts about what life has in store for her. Then a chance encounter with her ex's best friend (Justin) gives her something to look forward to. He's invited her to spend the day hanging out with him on the beach. It's something they have done many times before, but this time Justin doesn't have to hide his attraction.

The Calling has just become the best book that I have read this year. Without a doubt I can easily see myself raving about this book to every book lover I come into contact with for a long time to come! My husband would pass me while I was reading The Calling and stop to ask what I was smiling about. You can't help but smile while reading this book. It's not a comedy, but it makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, a real feel good book. Justin and Mandy are absolutely AMAZING characters. Readers are in store for an emotional roller coaster. I do not think there is a single emotion that reader does not experience at some point. Mandy and Justin do not have an easy relationship. They have many trials that they must face in the developing and strengthening of their relationship. After reading the greatest epilogue ever I turned off my Kindle looked down at it and sighed "wow."
Favorite quote from Mandy: "If you don't stop, I'll have a heart attack. If you do stop, I'll spontaneously combust. Your choice." Wow, to have a man make you feel that!

Favorite quote from Justin: (one shows his passion for Mandy, one shows his joyful personality)
"You have the part of my heart that I'm missing."
"Oh, your big ass is at the top of my list, too. In fact, we need to order dessert because some of your jiggles disappeared in the last year."

book from the author for the purpose of an honest review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good romance. Silly paranormal premise., December 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
The Calling
I really liked Justin. When he said he loved Mandy he meant it. No backing down. No second thoughts. Completely committed. They made her boyfriend a twirl your mustashe villian. It didn't make any sense that he could be that disturbed and no one had a clue. Mandy was ok. I totally understood her fear and doubts about Justin toward the end. How she resolved her doubts was contrived and silly. I thought the explanation of "the calling" was also silly. The race to save their lives was meant to be suspenseful but was more like "will this book never end?" They also had some pretty hot and steamy sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story - Fantastic Characters!, October 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely love this book! It does not have a huge paranormal presence in the storyline however it is there and plays a large part for two characters. This story focuses on Mandy and her struggles with cancer and moving past heartbreak. Mandy is a great character with amazing friends in this story. I love the poem in the beginning of the book ; it truly sets the book up nicely. I recommend this book yield anyone who loves a storyline with thoughtful and beautifully developed characters and a fantastic story of love.

This book encompasses a wonderful story that will make any one realize how strong love truly can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, November 13, 2011
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
3 1/2
Ashley has a very well written book and she does a good job in telling her story. But I have to admit I was looking for something a little different. This is a story about a woman who has had breast cancer and meets a demigod. The thing is you read about Mandy's drama with her ex and her cancer and you don't get to know about the paranormal aspects of the story until almost the middle of the book and it's very light on the paranormal.

I liked Mandy but she was so hung up on her ex that she almost missed someone special in her life and I couldn't figure it out for the likes of me why. The dead beat ex dumps her when she is in need of someone, he tires to sabotage her new relationship and even tires to kill her but yet she still can't get past him. WAHTEVER! LOL. This is just a few things the ex does. Yep, there's more.

Justin I did really like, I also enjoyed how the author went about his story and bringing his dad back to him.

I read PNR to get away from everyday life's drama and this one brings you into it. So that's the biggest reason I couldn't get it into this story.

You get a good drama roll between the characters and some great sex. Just don't expect some kind of huge paranormal roll like most RNR book because this is a light paranormal romance. I do suggest if you like some of the aspects of the book please do give try it.
Laurie

4 stars by Midalah
What woman wouldn't want a hero in their life? What about one who just happens to have supernatural powers? We first meet Justin in this story doing what he does best, being a hero. This very act brings him back into Mandy's life after almost a year; within that year she went through something that every woman fears: being diagnosed with breast cancer and having a mastectomy. Having her heart ripped out just before the surgery happens, Mandy has retreated from just about everything, including Justin.

One of the things I liked about this book was how soft it was. Many paranormal romances hit you fast and hard with some sort of supernatural dilemma that our hero and heroine must face together. It's during that dilemma that we see them fall in love and navigate their romance while solving the supernatural mystery or battle something "evil". With this book, we watch a friendship rekindled and blossom into a romance, with Justin's abilities being the potential obstacle in their lives. Will love conquer?

The only way to find out is to get this book when it is released to find out. You won't be disappointed. I know a story has me engrossed when I feel the pain of the characters during low points, I smile when something wonderful happens or I want to cry when something breaks the characters' hearts. With that being said, this book broke my heart, lifted me up and made me laugh. It's definitely worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story with a light paranormal twist, August 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book. I thought the female character, Mandy, was written so beautifully and her story of strength and courage touched me. The paranormal touch of this story brought a wonderful side to Mandy & Justin's story. It was written extremely well with both characters being dealt dire circumstances in the beginning to come out on the other side strong individuals and together, a strong couple. It was one of the best paranormal stories I have read. It was about two extraordinary people trying to live a normal life together. I would recommend you read this book. It will leave you with a wonderful feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Irritation, July 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
Don't acquire this book unless you want to get pissed off with 30% left to go. Another book where the heroine suddenly seems to lose all of her intelligence after having her life saved by her boyfriend. Its all his fault after that and low and behold her love isn't strong enough to see any side but her convoluted idea. I don't understand why an author would think this a logical next step in the rhythm and flow of the story. It makes me not want to read the rest of a book, but also regret wasting my time in the first place. She had a breast cancer survivor just give up and run away instead of fight after half the book is about her fight and living after the scare. So FYI, if your a strong or intelligent woman don't bother reading, it will just piss you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing premise -that's about it., November 25, 2011
By 
Jay (Los Angeles & Park City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Calling (Paperback)
A man who controls the sea? A cancer survivor who escapes an abusive relationship and gets a second chance at love? At first glance, the description made the story seem like the perfect blend of the paranormal and romance. Unfortunately, the premise was the best part.
Meet Mandy. Her self esteem is non-existent thanks to an emotionally abusive ex-boyfriend and a battle with breast cancer. Enter Justin, the ex-boyfriend's too-good-to-be-true best friend who picks up the pieces. Of course, Mandy's ex who is gratuitously written as the villain is never far behind in his attempt to screw up Mandy and Justin's new-found happiness.
I suppose I can agree that readers are in for an emotional roller coaster, but in all honesty, I found the calling to be highly overrated and disappointing. The paranormal aspect is barely touched on, and we never really find out many details about what the 'calling' actually is. It was so poorly developed that the story wouldn't have been a whole lot different had it not been included.
As a whole, this is a novel with a generally thin plot and some melodrama and porn-without-a-point scenes thrown in for good measure.
For 0.99, you don't have a whole lot to lose, however, this book is not nearly as amazing as some of these reviews would lead you to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zesty......., June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
A small amount of paranormal. A very sexy man who has loved her for a long time. Unfortunately, she chose the wrong man. Mandy is a breast cancer survivor who got abandoned by her fiance after the news. She is now back on her feet and has the fortune to encounter Justin again. Justin is her ex fiance's friend or so she thinks. Needless to say after the misunderstandings are cleared, we find a romance between Mandy and Justin.

I enjoyed the story. The sex was hot and sweet. Did not like her ex at all. Mandy had a few moments I wanted to shake out of her, but all in all was a great read. 4.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great summer read!, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
I loved this. It was a great summer read that I devoured in one day. I loved both of the characters and hope they show up in another book or it continues. Will definitely go on to read the author's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great debut, March 14, 2013
This review is from: The Calling (Kindle Edition)
The Calling is Ashley Lynn Willis's debut novel-and there's nothing quite like falling in love with a writers product right at the onset of their career.

In order to explain my rating, I've decided to list what I did/n't like about this one.

First, to like:
1) The cover. LOVE the covers, the whole infusion of stormy-looking shades and the choice of font. It caught my eye a while back when Ashley Lynn very first announced its reveal.

2) Mandy. I find it (often) pretty difficult to connect with female characters and it is almost always the male characters of any books that drag me along for the ride and keep me reading, but I have to say that Mandy played just as strong a role as Justin for keeping me entertained.

3) The handling of Mandy's conflicts. Even as early on as the 2nd chapter, when Mandy believes she's found a lump (and worries her breast cancer may have returned), the conflicts are handled so well. I LOVED Mandy's friend, and the way she dealt with that initial scene. I became an instant fan of the two of them, thanks to their relationship and the natural dynamics between the duo.

4) This book opens right into action. And well written action at that. From the off, the reader knows what the supernatural/paranormal element of this book is going to be/revolve around because we are shown with enough clarity and absolutely no confusion-bit in a way that feels 100% natural. And the fact that these aren't in your face and the biggest driving force of the plot bothered me not one iota.

5) Justin. Yum. What more is there to say.

6) The entire plot, from beginning to end (with one exception, which you'll find in my dislikes below). The settings. The descriptions that ensured I knew where `we' were and what was happening every step of the way. Not once did I have to work my way through any kind of confusions.

7) The ending. It's beautiful. And if you already have a soft spot for Justin, it will deffo make you love him all the more.

Onto the dislikes (though that is seriously too strong a term for this rather feeble and pathetic list):

1) The fact that Justin knew right from the very first moment, without any reasons/explanations as to how he knew/drew his conclusion that Mandy was pregnant due to her symptoms she described. How did he know this? What experience did he have to draw on? Just a simple bit of internal dialogue/character thought would have helped clear out that tiny niggle of `but how would he know?' in the readers mind.

2) Maybe one or two spots, it felt as though the emotional paragraphs could have been shortened to notch the pace up a little higher (but only those toward the end)-it only needed a tiny bit, in only a couple places, because this is one of those books that I read the opening 20% real fast because that's what the pace dictates (and I could not put it down), so you know the pacing is superbly bang-on in some areas and the writer has this powerful ability to haul you into her story at whatever speed she chooses.

3) In the back of my copy (which I received for free through the Read 2 Review scheme-and if you think I'm being kind on my review for that reason, you should go check out others I've written and you'll understand I am only ever honest), the writer had shared chapter one of her new book, Killing Abel, along with the words: `Coming Fall 2012′. Why? I already want to read that sucker and I'm being told I can't have it until then??????? Gargh!

Okay, let's wrap it up. You want to know if I'd recommend this baby? Yup, yup, 100% yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Calling
The Calling by Ashley Lynn Willis
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.