Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Camp of the Saints
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 20, 2009
I felt as if this book had been written by a Roman patrician, solid-as-stone . . . a man exquisitely yet sorrowfully tempered by the storms of life and the defects of men. Raspail puts one in mind of a patrician who cares deeply about his family, his nation, and his people, the Caucasians of Northwestern Europe, who created one of the greatest civilizations the world has ever known.

A patrician of the Roman Republic, not the Roman Empire.

This is not some racist polemic, because one of the most intriguing and heroic characters is actually a Hindu, European-in-spirit, and sounding a warning about the centuries-old laconic spirit of his own people, who are assaulting France, en masse. He sounds this warning to Europeans, especially to his fellow French citizens, who insist on believing that all men are equal in every way (not just in a legal sense), and take no action to turn aside the gigantic invasion of the illegal immigrants, who eventually change the character of France, with no hope of return.

Invasions happen, all the time, throughout history. What is the proper response?
How should the Indians have reacted to the Europeans, the Palestinians to the Israelis, the Celts to the Saxons? Is physical resistance advisable, or should one follow a philosophy of "love and acceptance"? It would be a hard decision to make.

I was particularly captivated by the similarities Raspail portrays between the Christians, hippies, and liberals. Raspail portrays them as being all essentially of the same spirit. I think he is correct. They all, guilt-ridden, want to give away the store--repeatedly turn the other cheek, literally treat all men as they would their own family, and show how noble and righteous they all are (at someone else's expense, of course, always at someone else's expense!). "Give me the refuse of your teeming shores" . . . "As ye do to the least of these My brethren, so ye do to Me" . . . (but I will get in my car and flee to northern France while you lesser beings mingle with the flood of "refuse")!

I was taken by the way Monsieur Raspail is an advocate for Europeans--some as they are, most as they could be. European civilization, created by Europeans (oftentimes with violence), for Europeans (and others who yearn for Western innovations and traditions). . . certainly not an act of nature, in which all people should be able to partake at will simply because their own societies are, sadly, wretched; but the act of dedicated and inspired people. A people who, sometimes stumbling, sometimes irrational, for the most part cared deeply about their families and their society.

All the heroic characters, those who care about Europe, (and, in particular, France, which is the landing destination of the floating armada of the tragic and pitiable refuse of India), Raspail portrays as essentially pagan. Ethically pagan, in the highest sense. Morally self-realized, like the Greco-Roman moralists, and the Indo-Aryan sages.

Just compare this book to that silly book by Garry Wills, What Jesus Really Meant, or some such nonsense. Garry's Christians, like Raspail's churchmen, would be on the shore, welcoming these people, "the million Christs," to the land of milk and honey. Or maybe not. Maybe they would flee to northern France while exhorting those less holy to mingle with the wretched refugees. But I don't think they would make a stand for the excellence and integrity of their civilization.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
A bit long, but the core message of this decades old warning on the dangers of unrestricted immigration of those who have no interest in joining the host culture could not be more relevant as muslim hordes invade Europe and, if they had their way, the US. This is no time for politically correct BS. Islam and freedom are not compatible as history has shown over and over. The more allowed in, the worse it gets until Europe won't be Western so much as an "stan" suffixed dump like AfganiSTAN and PakiSTAN, etc.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
Seems to be coming true. God help us if it does.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2010
I read this book in 1980 and have only watched it hasten toward fulfillment in the intervening years. Where are our champions against the encroachment of Islamo-Fascism (a redundancy)? Where are our modern-day Charles Martel and Vlad the Impaler? We are led by weaklings and quislings, like the unspeakable Obama, who appear to hate the West and to acquiesce in Third World efforts to bring it down. Behold the cowardice of temporizing Liberalism: let's just say we want to negotiate, and hope the bad guys will simply go away. Why do not more see, as Jean Raspail saw, that Liberalism is survivor guilt disguised as an ideology? It is self-hatred. We have the right to turn away the assault, overt or covert, of howling, Koran-chanting savages who will rub out their own people for getting a Western style haircut, stone their young women to death for not wearing tents, issue fatwas against people who threaten their impotent idol called Allah. It is time to grow a spine and to turn back Gog and Magog. Thank you, Jean Raspail!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
He predicted today (March 2016) in 1973. Everyone in the book is like the rats today. To quote one of the only good guys in the whole book, "Bang bang! Bang bang! Bang bang! You're all dead!" Raspail had the nature of dying Europe figured perfectly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2015
The Camp of the Saints is an unbelievably powerful book, evoking Ayn Rand’s dystopian novel Atlas Shrugged, but without the hopeful ending. As Europe now finds itself inundated with third-world refugees, the book is enjoying a resurgence – more than four decades after it was written.

The specific details of the plot are less important than the underlying question that resonates on every page: is the secular liberal West willing and able to defend its own ideals? Jean Raspail is not optimistic.

The book is uncomfortable, often painful, to read. Read it anyway.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
Superb translation, gripping story and hauntingly prescient. Other reviewers have called Raspall zenophobic and racist, but if this were a story by a Native American about Europeans swarming over tribal land in North America, would they call that author zenophobic and racist? For those who are in the throes of pc paralysis, this novel might offend you. For the rest of us, it is a fearless example of thought-provoking literature by a brilliant author who doesn't pander to the chronically sensitive or the anti-First World crowd.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2007
This book is amazing. We are living it here in the USA with the invasion of illegals from Mexico. They are destroying our economy, robbing our welfare system, raping our hospitals and leaving no future for American children, but despair. The president spends his time with Irag while the invaders have already gotten into the country and will only leave with force which Americans don't have the willpower to pursue.

While reading this book I was amazed at how boldly it applied to today, right NOW. This author has somehow captured the future and has warned us.

Send the Illegals home and do it in a manner that they will never want to return.
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2016
This novel is even more relevant today as Europe, in all its feel good self delusion, attempts to deal with the aftermath of admitting more than one million "refugees." Western foolishness and naive "compassion" will be it's undoing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2011
I found this book to be both profound and utterly un-put-down-able. The idea is very simple: A flotilla of a million of India's poorest and most wretched sets sail for France. Along the way, as this gigantic flotilla gets close to Egypt (in an attempt to pass through the Suez), and then again South Africa, the militaries of these countries threaten to sink the ships and drown the migrants rather than let them land and be forced to deal with them. A regrettable solution, killing them before adopting them, but the only real choice given what might happen if the migrants did land -- right?

Liberal France, on the other hand, is lacking any ability to even pretend to protect itself in this way. Were the country to harm the migrants instead of taking them in, it would never be able to look itself in the mirror again. So, the now hundreds of thousands (because a couple hundred thousand have died en route) land in South France. To be all too concise, the worst nightmares of liberal France quickly ensue and, in a short time, there no longer is a France as we know it.

The language of the book is brilliant and often stronger than you may be used to. There's plenty of racist doggeral, yes, but this is laid on in such thickness that the book's migrant million end up feeling much more like the metaphors for French fear that they are, and less like a real ethnic group being really slandered. They come off as pure bogeymen from Gaul nightmares. This is because the book is about France and modern French fears and problems -- problems which most of the liberal democracies share -- in the gaps in civilizations.

By the end of the book you may find yourself focused more on culture than ethnicity. In fact, as the story climaxes, one of the more heroic defenders of France against the invaders is a Frenchman of Indian ethnicity. He is simply a French patriot defending his country, and the fact that he has dark skin matters naught because he is French first. And why should he not defend his country against an invasion (even an unarmed one?) Most white Frenchmen could never do this, of course, feeling a weird racial guilt at the very idea of fighting poor third world people (even if they are conquering France.) The author uses the term "The Beast" to describe this moral-induced inability to confront something like an unarmed invasion, even when it is evident the result will be much worse than what the Nazis brought with their panzers and Luftwaffe.

Needless to say, after reading the book, I'm disappointed only that it isn't more popular. This surely has to do with all of the bold and filthy racial language. No doubt the book's simply on a de facto blacklist here in the western world because, though full of good questions we really should be mulling over in public without moral fear of doing so, it's more brutal and in your face than, say, Heart of Darkness.

In any case, don't compare this to The Turner Diaries or something like that. I've read The Turner Diaries and there is not even remote comparison between these works. The Camp of Saints is poetic, sublime, a product of Enlightened tought, and a masterpiece. You may feel a bit like Pandora if you choose to open it up. But then, who could ask for more of any book?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse