Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 124 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE THE MEDICAL-INDUSTRIAL COMPLEX
The "war on cancer" is being lost and this book gives the primary reasons why. The current treatments - mainly chemotherapy and radiation - are largely ineffective and so toxic people often die from their treatment rather than their disease. There's been nothing new from the research community in decades, and the number of cancer victims keeps rising. Ralph W. Moss worked...
Published on October 3, 2005 by Theresa Welsh

versus
2 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracy theory nonsense
zOMG! There is a 100% reliable cure for cancer but THEY are suppressing it!

If you are the sort of person who thinks NASA faked the moon landings, George Bush was responsible for the 9/11 attacks, and Elvis is not only still alive but also colluded with the Duke of Edinburgh to bump off Princess Diana, then you will find that this book appeals to you...
Published 15 months ago by Dr. Adam Jacobs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 124 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE THE MEDICAL-INDUSTRIAL COMPLEX, October 3, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
The "war on cancer" is being lost and this book gives the primary reasons why. The current treatments - mainly chemotherapy and radiation - are largely ineffective and so toxic people often die from their treatment rather than their disease. There's been nothing new from the research community in decades, and the number of cancer victims keeps rising. Ralph W. Moss worked at one of the most prestigious cancer research and treatment facilities in the US - Memorial Sloan-Kettering in New York. He quit when that institution deliberately misled the press and public about test results for a promising treatment. That treatment was the much-maligned laetrile (vitamin B-17) that was finally banned by the FDA and its proponents forced underground. Interestingly, Moss reports that Sloan-Kettering's most respected researcher, Kanematsu Sugiura, stood by the efficacy of laetrile until his death.

In The Cancer Industry, Moss shows how institutions like Sloan-Kettering pick and choose what to test and how to test it, and operate with a bias toward those methods that are the favorites of their financial backers, even to the point of disregarding their own researchers, as they did with Dr. Sugiura. The medical staff at Sloan-Kettering had a bias toward chemotherapy, since their Board of Directors included corporate bigwigs whose business interests benefited from chemo profits, which are enormous.

Another promising treatment, hydrazine sulfate, suffered the same fate as laetrile, even though its backers had considerable success with it. Unlike chemo, which generally makes the patient sicker, hydrazine sulfate works by building the patient's strength. It was the result of a logical deduction, arising from the fact that cancer patients often die of "cachexia," a term that literally means "wasting away." Hydrazine sulfate is an anti-cachexia agent. It works with the patient's own resistance to restore health.

What really doomed these two approaches to cancer treatment is that both are natural substances and their use in cancer treatment is part of a nutritional approach. Drug companies cannot patent anything natural or profit from nutritional therapy as they can from chemical substances which they alone control through patents. Laetrile is a naturally-occurring substance found in many foods, including apricots. Hydrazine sulfate is a very cheap substance that is readily available.

Moss also examines in detail the treatment of William Coley (Coley's Toxin) Dr. Lawrence Burton, Dr. Stanislaw Burzynski, Linus Pauling and vitamin C, and Virginia Livingston with her germ theory. All of these people achieved some success, but their methods were rejected by the orthodox cancer establishment.

Moss does not suggest that there is a formal conspiracy to suppress alternate treatments, but he does suggest that the organizations that control the direction of cancer treatment, whether government agencies, private companies, or research and treatment centers, have interlocking personnel and the agendas that matter are those that keep the funds flowing. He also shows that big egos and personal rivalries play a large part.

The cancer establishment has consistently downplayed prevention and ignored evidence that environmental factors or poor nutrition can be a cause or contributing factor in cancer. The big money interests that support the large charities like the American Cancer Society are not likely to approve of programs that suggest their products contribute to cancer. Moss examines the controversy over asbestos as a case study and shows how little interest there was among government or charities to warn the public about known dangers. While the entrenched players in the cancer war do little to inform the public about how to avoid the disease, they go out of their way to scare people about the likelihood that they will develop some form of cancer in their lifetime. Scare tactics bring in donations.

The book is well-researched and full of details (names, dates, test results), but I would have liked more information about the efficacy of screening tests, which is another big money-maker for the medical establishment. Is it really worthwhile to have mammograms and colonoscopies? Moss suggests that the "find it early" philosophy often makes no difference in the ultimate outcome. Given the high price and potential dangers of some of these screening tests, do they really serve the public or only the pocketbooks of those who provide the tests? It seems to me that screening tests are pushed on the public as a substitute for a cure, which these organizations have failed to provide, despite the billions of dollars they have spent since America declared a war on cancer more than 30 years ago.

It also seems to me that money is the primary motivator in all things medical in the US. Moss does not say there is a conspiracy and repeats the old mantra that a cure for cancer "would be worth a fortune." But wouldn't a cure ruin a perfectly good business, the cancer business? Moss shows just how many vested interests are involved in cancer, and I doubt any of them want to lose their market.

I'm betting that if we ever have a cure, or even better treatments, that the innovation needed will not come from the bloated and greedy US health care system, but rather from some country that has government-funded health care... somewhere where the incentives are for bringing down the costs by finding a cure for a deadly and expensive scourge. If you continue to believe the claptrap about America having the best medical research, then consider that it was two Australians who discovered that ulcers are caused, not by stress, but by bacteria and can be quickly and cheaply cured. What American drug company would have had the incentive to make such a discovery? Dr. Barry Marshall, one of the Australians whose persistence resulted in the breakthrough, was quoted as follows:

"The idea of stress and things like that was just so entrenched nobody could really believe that it was bacteria. It had to come from some weird place like Perth, Western Australia because I think nobody else would have even considered it."

Precisely the point of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prepare To Be Less Trusting After Reading This Expose, August 30, 2001
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
Moss has written a provocative book about how various factions in the cancer industry have become corrupted by the old, familiar struggle for money and power.
One of the more interesting chapters deals with the battle between a brilliant researcher in Houston named Stanislaw Burzynski and the cancer industry establishment. Members of the establishment are portrayed as favoring the use of patentable chemicals or synthetic drugs over any natural methods of treatment , such as that pioneered by Burzynski.
In discussing the cancer establishment Moss explains the make-up and activities of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, The American Cancer Society, The National Cancer Institute and The Food and Drug Administration.
My experience in reading this book has left me with even less trust in the people and organizations responsible for waging this country's war on cancer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book on alternative threapies, April 27, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
This book by an ex cancer insider at the Sloan Kettering institute details all of the alternative therapies which have been railroaded by the cancer establishment. An interesting read for anyone who has the nagging feeling that the cancer war is being lost because pharmaceutical companies are avoiding possible natural, non patentable cures,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dry but worth the read, September 9, 2007
By 
Dr.JNixt (Mid-Town, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
I compare this book to the "cancer" of Fast Food Nation. Why? Because you understand the why's, how's, and will probably get good and angry by the time you're done. I wouldn't recommend this for anyone going through cancer, or even their family members (would hit a lot of nerves you may not want to touch during times of emotional stress), but when you're loved ones are healthy and you feel like putting up a good fight, this will certainly give you something to go by.

As a health care professional, I try to read books with an open mind, especially those pertaining to my industry. I feel this was a balanced, fair representation of what is going on in our health care industry, especially as relates to cancer. In and of itself, cancer is scary. Combined with the health industry, you want to bury your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Ralph Moss, August 13, 2003
By 
Judith J Rose (Newburg, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
Ralph Moss shows tremendous courage as well as scholarly dedication. His book exposes the cancer industry for its greed and cynicism toward patients. The cancer industry's position on chemotherapy is such a BIG LIE that it is almost impossible not to believe some of it. I have to read this book over and over for it to sink in. Every cancer survivor should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant, November 23, 2000
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
If you have ever wondered about the Cancer Industry and wondered how it developed or who is who in the Cancer Industry or if you ever just had a feeling that all is not well where cancer treatments are concerned, then this book by Ralph Moss outlines in great detail the development of the Cancer Industry. It is absolutely fascinating. I highly recommend it as excellent reading for anyone with any serious interest in cancer, health or if you like fascinating books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book Documenting the Business with Disease, December 19, 2006
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
Ralph Moss does an excellent job documenting the fraud and deception that has been going on in healthcare for years. This is a must read for cancer patients and anyone looking to educate themselves about the truth concerning the "business with disease!" Millions of people are dying needlessly due to the war on information going on the this country.

There are a number of alternative healing therapies that work so well and cost so little when compared to conventional treatment, that Organized Medicine, the Food & Drug Administration, and their overlords in the Pharmaceutical Industry (The Big Three) would rather the public not know about them. The reason is obvious: alternative, non-toxic therapies represent a potential loss of billions of dollars to allopathic medicine and drug companies. The Big Three have collectively engaged in a medical collusion for over 70 years to influence legislative bodies at both the federal and state levels. The ultimate objective of which has been, and still is, to produce regulations that encourage the use of drug medicine while simultaneously creating restrictive, controlling mechanisms (licensing, government approval, etc) designed to limit and stifle the availability of non-drug, alternative modalities. If your goal is to empower yourself with life-saving knowledge, "The Cancer Industry" is for you.

Dr. Matthew J. Loop

- Author of "Cracking the Cancer Code"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read and shiver!!!!!!!, February 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
This is a very important book on how the cure for cancer will probably never be found and the industry behind it! If like me you have lost a number of close relatives and loved ones to cancer you can't help getting angry with every page you read. Did they die for no reason other than human greed? Were there better alternatives for them? Was their suffering unnecessary? I think so! And one day it can be my turn, what will I do then? Will I dare stay away from the orthodox treatments and go find something else? But what? Many of the unorthodox treatments are only available to those who have enough money so many people will never have access to them and the only option is what doctor tell them to do. Therefore it is important to get as much information as possible ahead of time, don't be caught without the necessary knowledge at a very difficult time in your life. Although this book was written many years ago it is still very much worth reading and there are a number of updates done by the author a few years later.

Sadly enough the author starts by saying that things were getting better for the alternative medicine because people were choosing it big time but, maybe because of that, everything is about to get far worse. The EU is about to ban a lot of health supplements and alternative therapies and lower the contents of vitamin and mineral supplements till they eventually will become useless. Much of the same will happen in the US, I think. I am sure that one day the only option will be allopathic medicine, whether you want it or not, and all in the name of profits and big business. This is the "free" world...

The stories told in this book are simply fascinating and very well written too! It is the kind of book you don't want to put down till you have finished. Sometimes there are maybe a bit too many details for the layperson but bear with it because they all adds to the understanding of the situation. Sad to see that some of the biggest scientists of the last century were so badly persecuted...... Also sad to hear what their patients went through because of it. The information on the alternative ways to cure cancer, or at least to prolong life, is fascinating!

Freedom to choose how you want to be treated should be a human right! No one should have the right to impose a certain treatment on you. Many of us pay very expensive health insurances but in the end it is them who decide how you should be treated and that is wrong! In my case for example, I use mostly alternative medicine, my husband does not, why can't we use our allowances together? As it is I have a little allowance and have to pay all the rest, while they never have to pay me any costs on regular doctors or medication. My husband doesn't make any use of his alternative allowance at all so we both lose out! But we have no choice.... I am not going to start making use of allopathic medicine, even if I have to save on other things!

As I said get all the information you can, if possible before the illness strikes, because when you are ill or stressed out because a loved one is ill, it is a lot more difficult to make the right decisions! And sometimes after a treatment that damages your immune system there is no way back! Another book I can recommend is Anticancer: A New Way of Life, a very different book but also very interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs to read this, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
I have never run into anyone who has read this book. I did a report in my Environmental Science class at college on it and the class was stunned to learn the truth, which the professor assured them was indeed fact. After reading this book, you will realize that a cure for cancer will never be found, or allowed to be found - unless there is money to be made to replace this very lucrative and deadly business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cancer Industry (Paperback)
Tons of research. The book is a bit dated, but the info is reverent to today. A beginning book for anyone who wants real research on the cancer industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cancer Industry
The Cancer Industry by Ralph W. Moss (Paperback - October 8, 1996)
Used & New from: $6.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.