Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Kids, This Book is Great!
At first my seven year-old son, a devout Captain Underpants fan, was doubtful as to whether or not to get this book. He saw the so-so ratings on Amazon and didn't think he was going to enjoy it. But upon purchasing a used version of the book, he found he loved all the activities included.

Inside he found stickers, crossword puzzles, word finds, jokes, a comic:...
Published on July 25, 2005 by James Choma

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Captain Underpants books contain free spelling lessons!
I shared the concern of a previous reviewer about the multitude of misspellings in the Captain Underpants books. However, instead of forbidding my 9-year-old son from reading the books (which he loves), I turned the Captain Underpants books into a spelling lesson. I have my son mark the misspelled words and then write them correctly. If he's not sure of the spelling, he...
Published on December 14, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Captain Underpants books contain free spelling lessons!, December 14, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
I shared the concern of a previous reviewer about the multitude of misspellings in the Captain Underpants books. However, instead of forbidding my 9-year-old son from reading the books (which he loves), I turned the Captain Underpants books into a spelling lesson. I have my son mark the misspelled words and then write them correctly. If he's not sure of the spelling, he looks it up in the dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Kids, This Book is Great!, July 25, 2005
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
At first my seven year-old son, a devout Captain Underpants fan, was doubtful as to whether or not to get this book. He saw the so-so ratings on Amazon and didn't think he was going to enjoy it. But upon purchasing a used version of the book, he found he loved all the activities included.

Inside he found stickers, crossword puzzles, word finds, jokes, a comic: "The Bride of Harry Potty," and step-by-step instructions on how to draw the Captain Underpants characters. It runs about 96 pages, but it's chock full of fun.

Now, don't buy this expecting another Captain Underpants adventure; it's an activity book. If your child is looking for something to ease the wait for the next Captain Underpants book, give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My 10 year has always loved Dav Pilkey...., February 8, 2007
By 
S. Gayhart (Culpeper, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
My son has enjoyed listening to Dav Pilkey books for years. We would read them to him as an infant, toddler and now he loves to read them himself. He has read the books Dav Pilkey wrote for school age children, all of them. The "Book O' Fun" books, he really has appreciated the activities included in the fun pack books, based on "The Captain Underpants Series." He is especially fond of the step by step examples given for drawing the different characters. We would recommend any of Dav Pilkey books. Your child can grow with the wide range of creative books Dav Pilkey has published. I suggest parents browse Dav Pilkey's various book collection and maybe even give him a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good adventure, September 26, 2011
By 
lettra (FLORISSANT, MISSOURI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
My son lives Captain Underpants. It is not the comics I grew up with or custom to but he loves it. If the books makes him want to read I say GOOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love Captain Underpants, April 8, 2004
By 
Nathan (Brooklyn NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
I love the activities in this book. The comics made me laugh until I wet my pants. The jokes and comics are hilarious. It's not my most favorite Captain Underpants book but I still love it. Though the jokes are a lliittttlle overoffensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, April 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
Anything I can do to encourage my 9 year old son to read, even if it's something silly, is great. When I find the books at a good price and in good shape that's a major plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit hit for a 7 year old!, November 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
We bought these and other Captain Underpants for our 7 year old grandson. They are his favorite books and prefers the softcover to hardcover so that he can take them anywhere to continue reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied Aunt, October 19, 2004
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
I bought my nephew this book as his first chapter book and he absolutly loved it, he sat down and read it in one day, and he just turned six. I am not bothered by the misspelled words. After all these books are supposed to be written by 2nd graders, and at that young an age teachers should not be correcting spelling, they should be encouraging children to sound out a word, and then make an educated guess as to how it is spelled. It's about recognizing letter sounds, and letter combinations, not exact spelling. That comes later. I plan on getting the entire series for my nephew for christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift!, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
Daughter is into this book series so I think an activity book is a great addition. Another Easter basket surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rating based solely on a review on Huffington Post by a concerned parent, October 27, 2013
This review is from: The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 (Paperback)
[...]

Apparently one of the stories involves significantly belittling of women. I leave it to you to decide (please read the huffington post article) whether this is something you want your children to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2
The All New Captain Underpants Extra-Crunchy Book o' Fun 2 by Dav Pilkey (Paperback - September 1, 2002)
$4.99 $4.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.