Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$12.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2009
Yessssssssssssssss! Oh my God! I don't know what to say! Breathless, I am sitting here typing this review screaming the words: Why would Ashley and JaQuavis murder this book like they did?!?!?!?! The Cartel was . . . I don't think there's a word in the dictionary that can define this book and how wonderful it was!

Hey Mr. Carter . . . tell me where have you been? They been watching, they been searching, they wonder-ing . . . To you, forever, from me to you. I heard somebody say, "Church, say I'ma need a suit." That's what basically happened when Young Carter showed up for his father, that he never knew funeral. When Young Carter arrived to Miami he had no idea he would be taking over The Cartel picking up where his father left off. With the help of his twin brothers Mecca and Money and Uncle Polo he immediately takes over likes he's from Dade County, but he's from Flint, Michigan, and he know his role and he plays it well. . . In Dade, Young Cater, go farther, go further, go harder is that not why he stayed? And if not then why bother? And he's far from being the [....] that his mother had fathered. . . Blind eyes could look at him and see he's the truth.

And then there's Miamor, the bad Brooklyn [....] who's also in Miami to take over. She and her crew "The Murder Mamas" job was to take down The Cartel. When the plan goes wrong she loses her sister in the mix, And now, Miamor is out for revenge. She don't care who die. She'll kill ya' grandma if she has too. Miamor is ready to put the man six feet under who took her sister, but there's a problem: the man happens to be the man who she's in love with brother. Can she bring herself to do it? Or will she put being in love over getting revenge for her sister?

The Cartel grasped you by page one and let me tell you -- you better have on a seatbelt because this book is a crazy ride packed with nonstop action you won't see coming. You will journey with the Diamond family where you will never hear the two words: "Cartel quit" because they win and their enemies lose. That is, until one bad episode go wrong after another. . . After reading The Cartel you won't see the city of Miami the same. This story is combined with everything any book has to offer: drugs, sex, lies, drama, revenge, murder and redemption . . .

Very beautifully written, great plot and twists, well developed characters and great choice of words! I really mean great choice of words. The sex scenes were amazing!!!! Every character had their place and I traveled with them for every which-a-way they turned. Even the smaller people who didn't have a big role I found myself getting emotional attached to their lives. The only thing that took away from the story for me personally was, for this to be a street story, capture in the heart of Miami I would have like to see the characters go more inside the real Miami. I only say that because I'm from down there, and would have liked to see them name a couple places where they were at. . . But who cares because this story was so damn good it doesn't even matter.

I read this entire book in one day. I was force to put it down because I could no longer bear to see anybody else get hurt. Every chapter I found myself screaming NO, NO, NO, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, and WHY, WHY, WHY!! I knew I had to keep reading to find out what happened next. And my heart raced for every page I turned. A part of me wishes this story was a non-fiction because I so lives for Young Carter and I hope he really exist; so I could be on the next flight home to find him and make him my setup, and I ain't talking about robbing the dude.

This is urban-street-hip hop- literature at its best thanks to Ashley and JaQuavis. The Cartel is a hands down classic!!! This story will be talked about long after it's put down. You don't believe me, read it and prove me wrong!!
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on June 1, 2009
"The Cartel" falls between the good, the bad and the ugly. Using the street lit handbook and a predictable plot line, this novel will have you glued to your seat.

Someone younger or newer to the genre would welcome the mixture of drama and violence and enjoy this novel. For me, those are the exact problems I found with this novel.

This difference in opinion simply could be chalked up to my reading resume. I've read a lot and at this point I expect a little more, particularly creativity and originality. Realism doesn't hurt either.

"The Cartel" will have some readers enthralled. For those who crave a little more depth, it's an okay read - nothing new or exceptional but readable.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 22, 2013
This book was truly bad! I came across several typos and grammar errors. There was even a part where a paragraph literally did not seem to fit with the rest of what was written on the page. Additionally, I didn't understand the need to describe every designer, shirt, skirt, watch and even makeup line that a character was wearing. I felt insulted by the stereotyping regarding attractiveness in the African-American/Afro-Carribean culture. I would not recommend this book to anyone.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 19, 2009
At the beginning I couldn't put the book down. The first couple of chapters I was like; DANG, something I tried to write but they did it better! In the middle; some of the plot twists made me feel a little slow because I just didn't understand. Especially when Money "love" was revealed. I was like, "are ya'll serious, a mafia family would have never."
I had another issue, Mia has a tat that say at the beginning what crew she was with, so why didn't Young Carter question it to Uncle Polo if he knew they were at war.
Other than that, it was a very good read because I love Street Novels and I'm a big Mafia (Godfather) reader. I love the fact that they tried to combine the two but they have to get the Mafia side better because certain things the Diamonds did or let happen (security wise) would never happen in the Italian Mafia or even in the Black Mafia.
I recommend the book and I'm going to be watching for Part II.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on January 3, 2009
This is by far the best book that I have read by Ashley & JaQuavis. Some of their other books in my opionon were mediocore, but this book was on a whole another level. The diamond family is Crazy. Miamor and Carter were a cute lil couple. Mecca diamond was just crazy, i found myself jus shaking my head at his stupidity. This book had you just turning pages in a rush to find out what happens next. I was shocked at some of the twist and turns that book offered. I cannot wait until the Cartel 2 come out, b/c it is the first of a trilogy. Ashley & JaQuavis job well done, and plz keep it up!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on February 26, 2013
"a full- blooded Dominican as her natural mocha skin glowed...he stared into his wife's green eyes...
...and being mixed with black and Dominican gave her a goddess look...she was the spitting image of her mother
which made her every man's desire and every woman's envy...though they were twins, they were the complete was darker: wilder, thuggish in appearance, more ruthless, trigger happy..."
This book begins with several incorrect assumptions.
1- "black and Dominican mixture" is as invalid as
white and American mix
red and French mix
yellow and British mix
brown and Brazilian mix
The color of one's skin and the name of one's nationality are
like oranges and carburetors, completely unrelated.

2- the correlation with poor behavior and richer skin color is as invalid as:
less skin color and less kindness
more skin color and more complexity
less skin color and less diligence
more skin color and more driving skill
less skin color and less control.

Bottom line, skin color has nothing to do with how people act. Somehow, this book insists that the 'darker' twin is by contrast with the 'lighter' twin, "wild, thuggish, trigger-happy, ruthless."
This book shows how absent African-American history has been in the public and parochial schools. Students who have the talent and skill to write a book are completely unaware of the huge, on-going, praise-worthy contributions of people who have large amounts of protective melanin in their bodies. The export of manufacturing jobs has left millions of people of all skin colors out of the dignity and pride of work. This is a national emergency.
Reading this book and watching gangster rap videos are very similar experiences--nullifying everything Dr. King lived and died to achieve.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on April 23, 2013
Being that i live in miami this book is a joke, constantly this book confuses the hatian culture with jamaicans which is a big difference. In one part of the book it desribes a mansion in lil hati which is ridiculous u have a better chance of seeing pigs fly before u see a mansion in lil haiti. The authors really should have researched Miami before writing this book. This book is a MUST NOT READ it is poorly written
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 19, 2014
The most absurd stereotypes. I couldn't get past the prologue in which a "full blood Haitian" hid his decent with his lighter skin tone and small dreadlocks. Disgraceful and so backwards.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on January 31, 2009
Oh man, Ashley and JaQuavis really did this one up! I have to put this close to the top, if not on the top, of my street lit favorites!

The Diamond family is off the hook. They run Miami like they invented the city. The patriach is Carter Diamond, and he's helped by his twin sons Money and Mecca. But when Carter is killed, it's his illigetimate son, Carter Jones, who really steps up to the plate.

But then young Carter falls for the beautiful Miamor (english translation: my love), unaware that she has an agenda. She has a grudge against the Diamond family, and has sworn to take them down. But she didn't plan on falling in love. And what a love it is!

This book really has the streets down pat, and it has a love element that can't be beat, too!

This book is the truth!

Good job, Ashley and JaQuavis. I can't wait to read the upcoming books in this series!
Raw: An Erotic Street Tale
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2015
I almost never give up on a book before the end, but all the glowing reviews for this book are incomprehensible to me and I quit at 49%. Most 1980's porn would put the plot of this thing to shame. There are no appealing characters. If not stone cold killers, they are empty headed bimbos obsessed with possessions.

The authors pay absolutely no attention to detail, typos abound, but the plot anomalies drove me crazy. After seeing a limo similar to his own leave the Cartel estate, the leader of the rival Haitian gang drives right up the Cartel leader's home by telling the gate guard that Mr. Diamond was returning to the house because he forgot something. Unfortunately for the guard and the reader's sense of disbelief, there was no one named Diamond in the original limo.

Speaking of 1980's porn, the sex in this book is right out of an adolescent's wet-dream including near foot-long members. Give me a break! Do yourself a favor, do not bother with this title.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Cartel 3: The Last Chapter (The Cartel)
Cartel 3: The Last Chapter (The Cartel) by Ashley JaQuavis (Paperback - August 1, 2010)

The Cartel 2
The Cartel 2 by Ashley JaQuavis (Paperback - November 1, 2009)

The Cartel 4 (Urban Books)
The Cartel 4 (Urban Books) by Ashley JaQuavis (Paperback - October 30, 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.