Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


310 of 364 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sobering and Disheartening
Too many reviews have dismissed this book as "propaganda" or a "smear" without any clear evidence to back up those labels. Rather than debate Freddoso's carefully constructed, well-researched contentions, these "reviewers" (almost all of whom, I assume, have never even read the book) resort to baseless mudslinging.

In reality, I found this book incredibly...
Published on August 5, 2008 by Joseph Baker

versus
25 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Evaluate
Freddoso opens by asserting that no major candidate for U.S. president has received less critical examination than Barack Obama. Personally, I think Freddoso's correct on this point - I read Obama's "The Audacity of Hope" and found it devoid of substance.

On the other hand, it is difficult to assess Freddoso's credibility and objectivity, especially after...
Published on September 2, 2008 by Loyd E. Eskildson


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

310 of 364 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sobering and Disheartening, August 5, 2008
Too many reviews have dismissed this book as "propaganda" or a "smear" without any clear evidence to back up those labels. Rather than debate Freddoso's carefully constructed, well-researched contentions, these "reviewers" (almost all of whom, I assume, have never even read the book) resort to baseless mudslinging.

In reality, I found this book incredibly well-documented and surprisingly objective. As Freddoso himself notes on many occasions, the book does not try to make any of the sensational claims bandied about by some. It does not attempt to "out" Obama as a closet-Muslim or claim that an Obama presidency would bring about the end of America. It merely attempts to dull the blinding sheen that the media has placed on Obama and his vapid message of "hope and change".

Those who take the time to read this book with an open mind will be in for a revealing look at Obama's meteoric rise. Freddoso carefully documents Obama's close connections with the seediest elements of Chicago politics, the myriad occasions on which he passed up opportunities to denounce "politics as usual" as a state legislator, and his Clinton/Rove win-at-all-costs mentality.

What results from this analysis is a picture of Obama that is much less sparkling than the one painted by his many admirers in the media. Beyond the lofty promises of "hope and change" lies the unremitting ambition of a "reform" candidate who has failed to reform or stand up for anything in his political career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 150 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abraham Lincoln he is NOT, September 21, 2008
Before reading this book, I had no idea that Barack Obama had gone to such great lengths to challenge hundreds of signatures on the ballot petition of his Democratic Illinois State Legislative opponent---enough so that she was disqualified and did not run.

The long and the short of that effort was that Illinois voters did not have a choice. I would not think that is the kind of change one ought to be proud of. A genuine one-candidate ballot, in a nominally Democratic nation.

The same might be inferred from Barack Obama's run for the U.S. Senate, in which his Republican opponent was suddenly smeared on a grotesque personal level---with facts that were indeed available to Obama's staff---two weeks before the election. Until that point, the candidates were running neck and neck. After, however, the Republican withdrew from the race, and no one took his place. Obama ran unopposed, once again. For the U.S. Senate.

In other words, Obama's political career has been more or less unvetted by the voters. He is, as he has said himself, a clean slate onto which idealists can project anything they like. And that is a huge problem.

For Obama's slate is apparently not so clean as the general mainstream press would have Americans believe.

Politics is very dirty indeed, but in Chicago Illinois, it is possibly dirtier and more corrupt than in any other U.S. locality. The Democratic machine rules. And Barack Obama is an ingrained part of Mayor Daley's corrupt, wasteful Democratic machine. Committed Chicagoan Democrats and Republicans alike have objected.

David Freddoso's superb, calm, collected, well-documented reporting (he's an above-average Columbia Journalism school graduate) demonstrates just how up-to-his neck in Chicago machine politics Obama has been.

Obama has voted for pork barrel farm subsidies to support ethanol, despite substantive scientific and environmental documentation demonstrating that ethanol production is a wasteful process responsible for driving food prices ever higher, while providing virtually no energy advantage.

Obama campaigned aggressively in favor of public campaign finance----only until it became apparent he could raise more money privately, at which point he disavowed his previous political principal.

Obama sponsored mostly bills authored by other people, a fact that his Chicago machine connections and advisers successfully absconded for him.

Even before reading this book, I had serious doubts about Obama. Now, though, the picture of an empty suit is complete.

And please---do not shout "racist" unless you take the trouble to read the book yourself. The facts have little or nothing to do with the man's skin color.

This book is neither conservative, nor liberal. It is a simple, declarative set of facts, extremely well documented. Those who argue Freddoso created a set of base smears have obviously not taken the trouble to read it. Rather, Freddoso goes to great lengths to invalidate baseless smears, e.g. that Obama was not born in the U.S.

Alas, there are many more substantive problems with this candidate that wise voters will want to examine before pulling the lever on Nov. 4.

There are plenty of facts, however, that clarify the point: About the only thing Obama has in common with Abraham Lincoln is that he moved to Illinois from elsewhere and sought office there.

Obama's record is a vapid landscape of "present" votes, of avoiding controversy, of failing to back genuine educational, financial, political and other change, of failing to eradicate slums, and of failing the poor and working Americans whom Obama professes to support.

Obama is just another wealthy elitist.

Independent, Democratic and Republican American voters---everyone, in short---really cannot afford to cast ballots without reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


494 of 597 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's slick -- and he's dangerous, August 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you ever had any doubts about the glib deviousness and empty rhetoric of Barack Obama, elaborations on these meticulously researched and documented items in this book should convince you he's the most dangerous candidate ever to run for the presidency in the history of America:

- How Obama won his first election (to the Illinois State Senate) by having his lawyers knock all his opponents -- including the black, female incumbent -- off the ballot on technicalities, so he could run unopposed.

- How Obama voted to deny medical care to babies born alive after abortion -- a bill too extreme even for Nancy Pelosi (Freddoso has an exclusive interview with the nurse central to the case).

- A story Obama would like to stay buried in Chicago: How he used his clout as a U.S. Senator to save the corrupt Cook County Political Machine when reformers of both parties tried to challenge the entrenched political bosses.

- How Obama's wife Michele's salary nearly tripled in 2005 -- the same year he was sworn in to the U.S. Senate and began earmarking funds for her employer.

- How Obama's friendship with the hate-spewing Reverend Jeremiah Wright was no accident -- but a carefully thought out personal and political decision.

- Why Obama thought his association with '60s-era terror-bomber Bill Ayers wouldn't matter -- an exposé of the insular radical chic of Chicago's Hyde Park politics.

- How state Senator Obama was paid more than $100,000 for legal work -- then helped his client's company get $320,000 in taxpayer grants.

- How, at a time when he says he was short of work and short of cash, Obama obtained $112,000, plus campaign contributions, from someone he later made into a government grantee through his public office.

- Inside Obama's 17-year relationship and irregular land deal with developer Tony Rezko, whose livelihood depended on sapping the taxpayer for subsidies.

- "I've never done any favors for him," says Obama about Rezko. But he has -- lots of them, as Freddoso shows.

- Why Rezko's conviction for corrupting public officials might become the Whitewater scandal of Obama's campaign.

- How Obama speaks of the days when his family was making $240,000 per year as if he had been suffering poverty -- while, just last March, he voted to raise your taxes if you make over $32,500 per year.

- The Chicago Machine politician who "made a U.S. senator" out of Obama by giving him plum committee assignments and high-profile legislation in its late stages (often removing the original sponsors), and helping him spread money around through earmarks and "targeted" grants.

- How Obama avoided taking unpopular stands in the state Senate by voting "present" about 130 times -- or simply by absenting himself from tough votes altogether.

- Obama's little-known vow to Planned Parenthood in July 2007 -- and why it would mean the end of every state, federal, and local regulation of abortion, and the end of all restrictions on government abortion funding.

- A "new politics?" How, in less than four years as a U.S. senator, Obama has voted for some of the worst special-interest legislation to move through the chamber.

- How Obama opposes school choice through vouchers or tax credits -- while sending his own children to an elite private school.

- How Obama wants -- and has voted -- to abolish secret-ballot elections in the workplace when employees determine whether to unionize, allowing unions to intimidate and harass workers who don't support them.

- Why Obama's foreign policy would take its cues from Jimmy Carter's.

- "Post-partisan?" Why the respected National Journal named Obama the most liberal member of the United States Senate in 2007 -- beating out Barbara Boxer, Ted Kennedy, Hillary Clinton...and the previous title-holder, John Kerry.

Beg, borrow or buy this book, absorb the shameful details on those points and you'll know all you need to know about this slick, glib fraud.

And that will be that he and his bitter wife are the last people on earth you'd want occupying the White House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


751 of 947 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Case Against Barack Obama, August 5, 2008
[...]
Since Obama himself is so obtuse about his background, beliefs, accomplishments (are there any?), etc., it is imperative that someone actually do the research to find out about the true Obama before handing him the highest office in the land. As a person who employs other people, I would want much more information than what is on Obama's thin public resume.

This book does that research for you and comes up with the fact that Obama's resume IS thin. He decided after only 143 days in the US Senate that he was ready to step up and be President. He has the most liberal voting record in the US Senate. He attended a racist church for twenty years and then only quit the church when it became a political liability. He was a community organizer in Chicago whose main accomplishment was getting asbestos removed from a single apartment house and even then they didn't remove all of it. This is the experience you need to run the country?

America is ready for a man or woman of any skin color, ethnicity, religion to be President but they must at least meet the minimum qualification of being "experienced" in executive management. Obama has never run anything in his life other than a campaign. We don't need another Jimmy Carter no matter what skin color he is.

Buy the book and actually do some research before voting. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real story of Obama's background, August 9, 2008
By 
Bruce R. Gilson (Wheaton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book obviously will impress many people favorably and many others unfavorably, depending on their political positions. As we've seen already, those of a conservative bent will be impressed favorably, as you can see from the five-star reviews, and liberals will equally be inclined to give it a one-star rating, which we've already seen. In the interest of fair disclosure, I have to admit my own somewhat conservative point of view; however, I'm well to the left of the author, and when he gives examples of Obama's political positions that appall him, I have to admit that on at least three issues (abortion, gun control, and gay rights) I'm closer politically to Obama than to the author's point of view. But those are really not the main criteria to rate Barack Obama on.

Still, the extreme conservative positions of the author do make it imperative to check out the facts brought out in this book, and when I saw the appalling conduct that the author claimed for Obama's first successful attempt at political office, I needed to check this out. I found that not only conservative sites, but sources like CNN, hardly a conservatives' darling, confirmed this story. It seems that one of Obama's political mentors, an African-American woman named Alice Palmer, was an Illinois state senator who decided to run for the Congress when a seat opened up because the incumbent got into a sex scandal, and endorsed Obama to succeed her in the State Senate. Palmer had not reckoned with the fact that Jesse Jackson's son wanted that same seat, and she obviously could not counter the famous name. When she tried to regain her old seat in the Illinois Senate, she found Obama unwilling to stand aside for her; and while he certainly had every right to run against her, the tactics he used to rule her (and two others!) off the ballot were strictly in line with typical Chicago machine tactics (I grew up in a machine-dominated New York, and I recognized them!) What he did to insure that he would have an uncontested race for the Illinois Senate was to make sure that nominating petitions were thrown out on the slightest technicality -- depriving Chicago voters a right to a fair choice in the election.

Episode after episode demonstrates that Freddoso's main thesis, that Obama is a cross between a '60s radical and a Chicago machine politician, is confirmed. And there are copious footnotes that can be followed out to confirm them. (Some liberal reviers' claims that the footnotes are bogus certainly imply that they never even tried to confirm the stories; I have in only a couple of cases, and those give me confidence to trust this book!)

It is amazing, in the light of my memory of 1968, where the Daley machine sent police after the radicals of the day and serious bloodshed ensued, to see a modern-day radical extremist like Barack Obama so thoroughly embracing the machine politics of the son of Richard J. Daley, the current mayor Richard M. Daley, but it is amply confirmed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


263 of 334 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obama Is Even SCARIER Than I Thought...Get the Facts Here!, August 5, 2008
By 
Just Bill (Grand Rapids, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Like many Americans, I've seen the media bend over backwards to portray Barack Obama in a favorable light. On the Yahoo homepage, for example, I counted the number of Obama headlines during a one-month time and compared them to the number of McCain headlines. The difference was striking. Obama made news even when the news seemed to be "Obama Sneezes!" or "Obama Helps Little Old Lady Cross Street!" or "Obama Reacts to McCain's Reaction!"

The media absolutely LOVES Obama. Why? What happened to the independent media, the press being the fourth estate, the watchdog of the people? Somewhere along the way, the media became the lapdog of the liberal left. And that's why Obama is dubbed "the Messiah" by conservative talk-show hosts.

Who is Obama? Where did he come from? What does he really believe? I've been wondering those questions and many more for months now. When I first encountered Obama and his women-swoon-during-his-speeches persona, I was intrigued. But when I started to hear reports that he had the most liberal voting record in Congress, that he was an inexperienced first-term Senator who hasn't accomplished anything of substance since taking office, and that his friends ranged from racists to terrorists...I began to wonder if I'd ever get the truth about Obama.

The Case Against Barack Obama answers my questions and gives me the information I need to talk to people who have succumbed to his siren song of "change." Thanks to The Case Against Barack Obama, I now know that the kind of change he stands for is the kind the people of the Soviet Union and Communist China have been trying to throw off for decades. Obama is a radical left-wing socialist who wants the government to control our lives from cradle to grave.

I suspected Obama wasn't what he claimed. But I had no idea he was this bad. Seriously, Barack Obama is THE most dangerous man in politics. If he is elected President, he will create change, all right -- he'll cause America to take a giant leap to the left. If you want to know what that will look like, ask your European friends, those people who stagger under tax burdens of 60%-70% of their income, who have to wait forever in long lines for health care, and who struggle to breathe free and live to their full potentials.

Barack Obama scares me. Not because he's black. But because he's dishonest, radically leftist, and as divisive as any politician I've ever seen. He may preach "hope" and "change" and being a "unifier." But his actions do not match his words.

The Case Against Barack Obama is an eye-opening book for those who may be on the fence, or who need solid facts to help educate friends who have been duped. Barack Obama makes Slick Willy look like a rank amateur. Read this book and see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


197 of 250 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sobering Look at the Man Who May Become President, August 4, 2008
This is an intriguing book that shows a view of the Democratic Presidential candidate that no one wants to see. We have been so proud of our country for nominating a black American as the Democratic Presidential candidate, and we were so taken by this candidate's good looks and charming ways. I think we all had hopes that he was a politician free of the dirty dealings that seem to have become part of the American political process. As the months have passed since his nomination, and as we've listened to what he has to say and NOT the way he says it, doubts have surfaced for many of us.

This book written by a Chicago resident who has seen at close hand how Mr. Obama gets things done politically, reveals the "real" Obama. If you believe that a person's actions in the past predict to some extent, his actions in the future, then our country, already in trouble, could be in for unimaginable difficulty, if this man is elected.

This book isn't a hatchet job written by some guy with an axe to grind. It's an expose of a candidate with strong socialistic leanings, questionable political dealings, and frightening personal and political associations, as documented by someone who has experienced Mr. Obama more personally than most of us have.

I think this book fills in a lot of blanks in the sparse information we have about Mr. Obama. I agree that much of what this book reveals is shocking and most of it disappointing, but we need to know who this man really is. As Americans, we have the right and responsibility, particularly at this crucial time in the evolution of our country, to know who we are or are not, voting for. This book will give you a lot to think about while you are making that decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another viewpoint, August 6, 2008
Being from Illinois, I have had an oportunity to watch this guy in his very early days in the state senate. I am happy that someone is actually going through his record and things he actually said and did in those early days and exposing him for the fraud he really is.

Yes he is charismatic, gives nice speeches, and has an attractive family but I hope people will wake up to find out what he is really about. I doubt that MSNBC, the Today Show, GoodMorning America will have this author on their shows as it paints a different light on the media's beloved anti-Bush savior Barack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


215 of 279 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As an Obama Supporter, I was shocked, August 4, 2008
I haven't read anything this surprising and enlightening since I read How to Measure Anything: Finding the Value of "Intangibles" in Business. As someone who was leaning toward supporting Obama, I was surprised at how much was left unexamined about him. Whether you support Obama or not, you should at least learn this about the candidate.

For example, Obama's support of "open voting" in union votes would make it public knowledge how everyone votes in unionization decisions in firms. This leaves those who don't hold the "correct" opinion to be open to intimidation and coercion by other workers.

Still, Freddoso makes too much of some areas of Obama's past. I felt his association with Rev. Write was just another example of political convenience for a man who represented the African American community of Chicago, while Freddoso believes this association tells us something deeper about Obama's character.

However, no voter supporting Obama can claim to be informed without reading this book. Now Freddoso just needs to write something like this for McCain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Man in the Mirror, August 11, 2008
Those who come to David Freddoso's THE CASE AGAINST BARACK OBAMA either have already made up their minds about the political/economic issues related to their distrust of Barack Obama and merely seek confirmation of the same or they are truly undecided about whether to trust him as president. Freddoso's text is not meant to be a dispassionate even-handed account. He clearly shows his vitriol in every chapter. Freddoso's main thrusts fall into two overlapping categories. In the first, he appeals to the emotions of his readers as he dissects Obama the man rather than Obama the senator. Freddoso details Obama's two decade relation with the reverend Jeremiah Wright and bluntly asks us to judge Obama's perception of character as faulty. Ditto for his association with crooked real estater Tony Rezko. This part is less damning than that of the rest of his animus towards Obama. Most people are willing to cut Obama some slack here since the focus is more on Wright and Rezko than on Obama. However, in the second category, logic, Freddoso's case is far more compelling since he roots his claims mostly in areas that are irrefutable: the words of Obama himself and the deeds of Obama as he goes about his daily job as a US senator. And it is precisely here that Freddoso zeroes in on the reasons why John McCain has slowly crept into a polling dead heat with Obama at a time that Obama ought to have a truly monstrous lead. Freddoso describes Obama's economic policies of tax increases as the reason why America has legitimate concern over a candidate who is not shy about his vision of a tax-burdened America. Freddoso scores further points on Obama's relative lack of experience in every facet of public service, and this he warns is not the job for a man when that job demands a short learning curve. McCain, he notes, shines in both areas. Thus as the reader seeks clues about who is this man called Obama, that reader may well want to look inward for those answers in a`manner that fairly judges the competence and judgment of a man who seeks a job that demands both before election day. THE CASE AGAINST BARACK OBAMA is a book that demands the reader judge himself just as much as the subject of that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Case Against Barack Obama: The Unlikely Rise and Unexamined Agenda of the Media's Favorite Candidate
$27.95 $11.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.