Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivers Unique Insight Into Raising Children
Hyman's book offers plenty of good insight into raising children based on the growing Western movement towards corporal punishment alternatives. Rather than simply suggesting theoretical disciplinary approaches, he cites real world ideas & results from countries like Sweden where a general aversion towards corporal punishment has caused a significant decrease in...
Published on April 30, 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best case against spanking
This book may have been good about 20 years ago, but there are much better methods available today. He makes a good case against spanking, but offers options that only spoil the child (rewards, etc). I much prefer the books "Setting Limits for your Strong-Willed Child," and "Taming the Spirited Child Without Breaking Their Spirits." Both books agree...
Published 20 months ago by David J. Herzog


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivers Unique Insight Into Raising Children, April 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
Hyman's book offers plenty of good insight into raising children based on the growing Western movement towards corporal punishment alternatives. Rather than simply suggesting theoretical disciplinary approaches, he cites real world ideas & results from countries like Sweden where a general aversion towards corporal punishment has caused a significant decrease in violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parents need to know how to discipline w/o spanking..., July 22, 2006
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
My parents used corporal punishment. Because of this, I vowed never to spank my children. I didn't know how to discipline, though - what to do IN PLACE of spanking. My daughter is now almost 30 and the mother of my beautiful 3 year old granddaughter. My daughter graduated from college, was an honor student praised by all her teachers throughout school, she never got into trouble the law, or misbehaved beyond giving me a bit of "normal teenage attitude". And she wasn't spanked! My son is 21, mentally handicapped, a well behaved, loving adult with a great sense of humor. Spanking is useless with a special needs child.

To the reviewer between 8 & 13 who wrote "it's ridiculous not to spank", my heart breaks for you. You're being lied to if someone has told you that spanking is necessary.

The author doesn't suggest that parents NOT discipline their children. What he HAS written is that there are other methods of discipline besides spanking. And, BTW, the author has an advanced education and clinical studies to support his work. Bryan's wife
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book., December 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
I have to say that this book is very well written. I feel that everyone should read this book, although I know some would probably never even consider reading a book like this. I didn't believe in spankings before I read this book, but now I don't feel so left out. Everyone I know spanks their kids and I am the "odd ball". I get criticized alot, but this book has made me feel alot better about who I am as a parent and a person. The author did a good job explaining why he believes the way he does and I have to give him credit. He is very intelligent and brave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actions are louder than words., June 16, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
True, Hyman proceeds with his book without really considering at any great depth, the possible virtues of spanking. Perhaps that is because the arguments in favor of spanking are so shallow: parents should be able to do as they please with their kids, or the Bible says it's OK. Hyman's evidence against spanking is admittedly mostly anecdotal. That's because there is very little else out there. He banks heavily on the common-sense and proven principle that if parents want their kids to treat others well, then parents should treat others well. If a parent tells his kid not to hit others, then hits (spanks) his kid, what is the child to think? To Hyman, and to even the most casual observer of human nature, actions are louder than words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book for someone who disagress on spanking kids, January 7, 2002
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
Chapter 1 An Alien Point of View (on spanking)
Chapter 2 Abuse or Discipline?
Chapter 3 Why We Hit and What It Does to Kids
Chapter 4 Back to Basics: What You Need to Know About Effective Discipline
Chapter 5 Changing Your Appproach to Discipline
Chapter 6 Rewards and Punishments
Chapter 7 Anger and Resentment
Chapter 8 Using Therapeutic Techniques
Chapter 9 What We Need to Do Next
Some of the topics discussed in this book:
Discipline, Punishment, and Corporal Punishment
Why Ads Become Aggressive
What Spanking Does to Kids
Family Factors
What Is Your Orientation to Discipline?
The Dos and Don'ts of Prevention
Diagnose the Causes of Misbehavior
How to Set Up a Reward System
Dos and Don'ts for the Effective Use of Timeouts
How to Run a Family Council/Meeting
8 Steps to Anger Control
How to Produce Hostile Children
How to Defuse Your Child's Anger
What Not to Do When Your Child Blows Up
7 Essential Qualities of Effective Psychotherapy
Understanding and Avoiding Emotional Maltreatment
Teaching Your Child to Think and Act Rationally and Appropriately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stop spanking kids, November 17, 2005
By 
Ronnie Clay "R.C." (Winnsboro, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
I love this book it is teaching parents not to spank their kids. I mean pick on someone your own size. beating up on little people means your a real coward. Children have rights to they are human beings. I don't care what the bible says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best case against spanking, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
This book may have been good about 20 years ago, but there are much better methods available today. He makes a good case against spanking, but offers options that only spoil the child (rewards, etc). I much prefer the books "Setting Limits for your Strong-Willed Child," and "Taming the Spirited Child Without Breaking Their Spirits." Both books agree that spanking is not effective (and traumatic), but offer more effective alternatives. (My kids responded beautifully to them) I would say that this author did a lot of important work, but the newer books are more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Offers great insight and alternatives to parents, May 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
The author does a great job at giving real-life examples of situations where some parents might turn to spanking as a method for discipline, and then in turn offers alternatives that can be useful. Besides offering alternatives to spanking, the author discusses the importance of prevention of misbehavior, modeling good behavior, and catching children being good, instead of always catching them being bad, and rewarding those good behaviors.

I don't have children of my own yet, but I found this book to be very informative, in that it explains what child abuse it, how spanking as discipline can often escalate to child abuse, or even mask child abuse. The author also does a very good job at describing what physical abuse can actually do to kids, not in just the physical aspect, but on an emotional level as well. I will definitely take much of what I learned from this book, and apply it into my own style of parenting when the time comes for me to parent my future children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let's leave the dark ages behind, ok?, April 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
My expectations for the book plummeted when it started with a painfully embarrassing imagining of a discussion between characters from the awful 1980's sitcom "Mork & Mindy". Probably a bad idea to embed material in your book whose shelf-life is guaranteed to be short.

Thankfully, there was no further cheesiness and in the remainder of the book, the author succinctly showed why violence against your own children is a bad idea and provided many examples of alternative ways to correct their behavior. I particularly enjoyed the small case studies and would have appreciated a lot more, because they show how to apply the theory to real-world circumstances.

For any prospective parent, this book is a good start; it mostly just gives you a taste of what's possible and a few basic principles about how to get there. The conscientious parent should probably buy a few more books that provide a greater variety of non-violent child rearing practices in order to better spark the imagination.

I note that one reviewer gave the book a one-star rating and complained that it wasn't "Christian". Sadly, Christian child-rearing practices have come to be associated with rigid, highly punitive, physically abusive approaches to discipline, presumably in accordance with the proverb "Spare the rod, spoil the child." This, of course, comes from the Old Testament, and no sane human being would ever use that as a reliable guide to moral behavior. I will point out that Deuteronomy 21:18-21 suggests that a rebellious child should be put to death and even most fundamentalists would be shocked at that solution. My view is that any good, decent human being should be receptive to information that can allow them to be kinder human beings while still fulfilling their responsibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another alternative to sparing the rod and spoiling the child, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting (Paperback)
Fortunately, this is one of the handful of new books offering alternatives to beating the devil out of your children and scarring them for life. Good resource for parents who want an alternative to the Bronze Age thinking in Proverbs, given by Solomon, who beat his children and tortured his subjects. Nothing holy about that in the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Case Against Spanking: How to Discipline Your Child Without Hitting
$32.95 $22.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.