Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ron Paul's Report of the U.S. Gold Comission
This book first written in the early 1980's by the honorable Congressman from Texas and Lewis Lehrman discusses the feasibility of bringing back the gold standard. Moreover, Paul makes the case for the gold standard and the case for abolishing the Federal Reserve, which has to its credit: a Great Depression, bloated government growth, skyrocketing public and private debt,...
Published on May 2, 2001 by R. Setliff

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Dated...
..but still holds up - I only wish Dr. Paul had a shadow's chance at the Presidency, but that would upset too many fat boys. A good read.
Published 16 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ron Paul's Report of the U.S. Gold Comission, May 2, 2001
This book first written in the early 1980's by the honorable Congressman from Texas and Lewis Lehrman discusses the feasibility of bringing back the gold standard. Moreover, Paul makes the case for the gold standard and the case for abolishing the Federal Reserve, which has to its credit: a Great Depression, bloated government growth, skyrocketing public and private debt, stagnating economic growth, and an inflationary boom in the 1970's.
Amidst, rampant inflation of the 1970's, a skyrocketing deficit... Things didn't look so good and a number of business and political leaders seriously enterained and supported the idea of reverting back to the gold standard. Sooner or later the financial institutions and fiat money cartel will abuse its power of the press and inflate us into another depression. Perhaps then instead of migrating to a world bank and currency structure, we will kill the fiat money machine once and for all.
Lastly consider these words: "Under a gold standard, the amount of credit that an economy can support is determined by the economy's tangible assets, since every credit instrument is ultimately a claim on some tangible asset. But government bonds are not backed by tangible wealth, only by the government's promise to pay out of future tax revenues... A large volume of new government bonds can be sold to the public only at progressively higher interest rates. Thus, government spending under a gold standard is severely limited.... In the absence of a gold standard, there is no way to protect savings from confiscation through inflation.... This is the shabby secret of the welfare statists' tirades against gold. Deficit spending is simply a scheme for the hidden confiscation of wealth. Gold stands in the way of this insidious process..." Moreover, the author also makes it known that the gold standard wouldn't have the prolonged economic distortions and vicious boom-and-bust cycles that fiat money systems have. Who was the author? None other than Alan Greenspan in an essay called Gold and Economic Freedom. When Greenspan, the Federal Reserve Chief, is face-to-face with Ron Paul... in the back of his head, he knows Paul is right and that the central bank is wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An economic history of the United States, July 17, 2007
By 
This book offers a well documented, detailed account of the history of money and banking in the United States. In it, Congressman Paul outlines why fractional-reserve banking, unenforced property rights and money not backed by hard assets cause inflation, and what the consequences of inflation really are. The concepts are fairly easy to grasp. Sadly, in a noble effort to achieve the greatest amount of integrity, and originally intended for an audience of higher caliber, this scholarly work is unlikely to be read by the average layperson. Albeit comprehensible by many, it combines two subjects - history and economics - that normally force all but the most steadfast inquirers of truth to avoid. I highly recommend this book to anybody interested in monetary policy and reform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny, January 22, 2012
By 
S. Lamb (Death Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case for Gold (Paperback)
I suggest Amazon to remove all the 1 star 'reviews' because those 'reviewers' are attacking Ron Paul. They have not read a single word of this book and came up with a conclusion that the book is worth only 1 star. These 'reviewers' should be banned

I'm qualified to give this book a 5-star because I bought and read this book. Although this book was written 30 years ago, it is still a good read. There are few sentences from this book that I think it is worth to point out.

"Money does not make wealth. Only hard work creates wealth."

"... a gold standard holds in check the ability of the government officials to expand their power."

"Economic growth comes from productive efforts which are encouraged by savings, low interest rates, reliable currency, and minimal taxes."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best overviews of US monetary history, August 7, 2007
By 
This book makes an excellent case for a return to a full gold standard. This is an idea that has been spurned by the economics mainstream, due in no small part to the influence of J.M. Keynes, who famously called gold the 'barbarous relic'. Fiat currencies, with their partner, fractional reserve banking, provide 'elasticity' to the money supply -- a sort of code word which means that they give to the government the ability to destroy the value of the currency at wil, inflating prices and causing a credit bubble which will inevitably pop, causing pain to both rich and poor.

This book is intended for the average educated reader, so do not expect a nuanced treatment of economic theory; yet what theory there is here is pretty clearly presented. If you like this book, you should also read Murray Rothbard's "The Case for the 100% Gold Dollar", "What has the government done to our money?"; also Griffin's "The Creature from Jekyll Island", and Bonner and Wiggin's recent work, "Empire of Debt".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks like Ron has a lot of enemy reviewers, July 2, 2012
This review is from: The Case for Gold (Paperback)
I find it just a "little" suspicious that all of the negative reviews (many exceedingly venomous)are given only one star and were all posted between January 17 through the 22nd of 2012. Loooks like somebody was pretty busy contacting all their friends for a while. Wonder how many of these Ron Paul enemies actually read the book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The case for sound money., May 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case for Gold (Paperback)
Ron Paul is, as always, brilliant. In this book, Dr. Paul gives you the history of currency in our colonies and how they made the most logical decision for the definition of the dollar. It is a must read considering just how much money the Fed prints every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, February 27, 2012
This review is from: The Case for Gold (Paperback)
This is a great book, please take the time to read it. I assume, from reviewing the negative 1 star comments, none of the individuals who left those reviews have ever read a page of the book. I say this because all of their arguments against the gold standard are debunked in this book. Also, many of the reviews reference his foreign policy and are clearly people who have not read the book. They are warmongers scared to walk outside without government. Amazon lets you leave reviews without buying the book from them so for that reason I assure you the negative one star reviews are people you should feel bad for.

Sincerely,
A guy with a brain, that works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold Standard, January 19, 2012
This review is from: The Case for Gold (Paperback)
Dr. Paul continues to make valid and poignant arguments for gold, much like his 1970s contemporary, Ronald Reagan. I recommend to anyone with a desire to learn more about traditional conservative monetary policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important subject, September 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Case for Gold (Paperback)
This book I gave four stars because it covers a very important subject. It is a bit difficult to read because the print is very small and also because in this book Ron Paul doesn't write in such layman terms as he does his other books. I found his other books much easier to read. And much easier to understand. This book was a bit of a chore to get through but I did learn some things in this book that I didn't learn in his other books. So if you're willing to struggle through a book like this you can learn some new things but if you're fairly new to the subject I would go for other books on the subject written by him or by others. His End the Fed book would be a good place to start or the book by Murray Rothbard The Case Against the Fed. However I'm very impressed with all the work Ron Paul had done way back in 1982 for this book. I'm very impressed with his knowledge of the subject despite not having gone to school for economics. At least I don't think he ever graduated with an economics degree. I think he was self-taught. In any event it's very impressive how much he knows about the history of money and the workings of the system. Take care and God bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, May 4, 2012
This review is from: The Case for Gold (Paperback)
Ron Paul is the man and really knows what's up. What a great book, thank you!

After reading this book, I have converted from supporting Obama and now support Ron Paul. What was I thinking? Spending is not the answer. Fiscal conservatism is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Case for Gold
The Case for Gold by Ron Paul (Paperback - January 25, 2012)
$9.95 $8.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.