Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm teaching my children Spanish . . .
(...) The point was made that the translator could have done a better job had he used a little license to play with the words and make it read with an improved cadence and rhyme. However, I really wanted a literal translation! My kids speak English and are learning Spanish -- they know the English version well. It is helpful to have a direct translation because the...
Published on December 18, 2001

versus
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspired translation
This is a literal translation of The Cat in the Hat, and it loses all of what makes Dr. Seuss special. The cadence, rhythm and rhyme are all missing in this very uninspired translation. If you want to read Dr. Seuss in Spanish, try Juevos Verdes con Hamon. That translation was done right!
Published on June 28, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspired translation, June 28, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a literal translation of The Cat in the Hat, and it loses all of what makes Dr. Seuss special. The cadence, rhythm and rhyme are all missing in this very uninspired translation. If you want to read Dr. Seuss in Spanish, try Juevos Verdes con Hamon. That translation was done right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Losing the rhyme is a crime..., May 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
A literal translation of Cat in the Hat does great damage to Dr. Seuss' original idea to teach children how to read. The Spanish version does not accomplish the goal. It contains little or no rhyme, uses words beyond a beginning reader's level, and does not entice the child to read the book in spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars El Gato Cabizbajo, October 10, 2000
By 
William Thomas (Albany, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
The literal, word-for-word translation destroys the flavor and fun of this classic. See Aida Marcuse's translations to see what can be done with Seuss by someone who puts in a bit of effort. It is not hard to rhyme spanish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible translation, December 14, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
My daughter owns a wonderful collection of books in Spanish. This is possibly the worst translation I have ever seen. While books like Green Eggs and Ham are fun to read in Spanish, this one is a torture. They should find a new translator, one who can maybe even rhyme once in a while, and reissue this fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWFUL TRANSLATION!!!, February 9, 2005
By 
Ken (Fairfax County, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
We first bought "Huevos Verdes con Jamon" an excellent translation of "Green Eggs and Ham." The translator, Aida E. Marcuse, managed to play with the wording to retain the "Seussian" rhyme, rhythm, and whimsy. Based on that, we bought this bilingual edition without inspecting it first--big mistake!

I am an Anglo-American who learned Spanish as an adult, and I could have done this translation. Carlos Rivera's translation looks like he took a English-Spanish dictionary and went through the text line by line, translating each word in turn. The result is clunky, non-rhyming, and completely devoid of the charm so characteristic of Dr. Seuss's works. A child exposed to this book might come to think of Spanish as a dull, clunky language compared to the fun English text. Of course, nothing could be further from the truth. Spanish is much easier to rhyme than English, so this translation makes no sense whatsoever.

My suggestion to Random House: call Aida E. Marcuse and get her to do the same quality translation for "El Gato Ensombrerado" that she did for "Huevos Verdes con Jamon."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What good is Dr. Seuss if it doesn't rhyme?, December 27, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
The Spanish portion of this book doesn't rhyme. I have seen other Dr. Seuss books in Spanish that do. This one is a direct translation of the English. I think it would have been a lot more effective to stray from the English enough to make the Spanish rhyme too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To Seuss or not?, October 10, 2004
By 
H. Martin (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
Before you buy this book -- use the "view it online option".

As the conflicting opinions point out:

1) It has neither rhyme nor rythm in Spanish (e.g., it is not a Dr. Seuss book but a literal translation.

2) If you want a faithful translation it seems to do that

My opinion: There are plenty of parallel, side by side, etc. story books and the fun of Seuss is lost.

But if you LOOK at the view it online, then you can decide if it meets your needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm teaching my children Spanish . . ., December 18, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
(...) The point was made that the translator could have done a better job had he used a little license to play with the words and make it read with an improved cadence and rhyme. However, I really wanted a literal translation! My kids speak English and are learning Spanish -- they know the English version well. It is helpful to have a direct translation because the kids can pick out the words they do know and fill in the rest because of the context --- this only works if the translation is exact/literal. The English version is also written on every page to help with that process of word-deciphering. For me, this was a very good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, useless, December 31, 2004
By 
Chris's Daddy (San Jose, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
Not only does this lose all the wit and charm of the original, it's not even very good as a Spanish primer. I can't imagine a real Spanish speaker using this kind of convoluted syntax. If you're looking for a fun Spanish children's book to read, then "Huevos Verdes con Jamon" (Green Eggs and Ham) is a much better choice, as well as many of the other Aida Marcuse translations. If what you want is a good vocabulary-builder transliteration, try the Spanish versions of P.D. Eastman's Books ("Corre, Perro Corre!" or "Eres tu Mi Mama?"). Anything but this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst translation I've ever seen, August 4, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a put-down to the Spanish language. It is literally translated- word-for-word, and obviously that does not work with any kind of translation. The translator has to use his/her discretion to transmit the message through whatever type of medium they are working with. In this case, Dr. Seuss's writing is playful and rhyming- this translation does not do this book any justice. They should really never have published this. Even as a non-native speaker of Spanish, I know that this translation is not well-done. My suggestion-- go read "Huevos verdes con jamon", which is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cat in the Hat: In English and Spanish (Beginner Books(R)) (Spanish Edition)
$8.99 $8.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.