Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When will Ebook publishers listen to their readers. NOW PLEASE!
I downloaded the Kindle app hoping to find this book because I can't get it for my Nook. Low and behold the first review I read says it's the only one of Braun's entire The Cat Who series not available on Kindle either. Why do these publishers leave a book or even a few of them out when putting a whole series in Ebook form. Same holds true of Piers Anthony's Xanth...
Published 10 months ago by Pamela Betts

versus
41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is this the only one not on Kindle
Book is great but Publisher needs to put this one on Kindle along with all the others.This is the only one of the series not on Kindle and it makes me not want to get the others
Published on March 13, 2012 by Joyce Andrea Sperling


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is this the only one not on Kindle, March 13, 2012
This review is from: The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (Mass Market Paperback)
Book is great but Publisher needs to put this one on Kindle along with all the others.This is the only one of the series not on Kindle and it makes me not want to get the others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When will Ebook publishers listen to their readers. NOW PLEASE!, April 25, 2014
This review is from: The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (Mass Market Paperback)
I downloaded the Kindle app hoping to find this book because I can't get it for my Nook. Low and behold the first review I read says it's the only one of Braun's entire The Cat Who series not available on Kindle either. Why do these publishers leave a book or even a few of them out when putting a whole series in Ebook form. Same holds true of Piers Anthony's Xanth series. Also James Lee Burke's Dave Robicheaux series. Extremely frustrating. They are not listening to those of us who have been asking this question for two years and more..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In Which Qwill, Koko, and Yum Yum. . ., February 18, 2004
This review is from: The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (Mass Market Paperback)
. . .investigate the death (was it murder?) of the local newspaper publisher.
Alas, Qwill's doctor girlfriend has moved to Boston to specialize, leaving him without the benefit of female companionship. But not to worry! In "Shakespeare" we are introducted to Polly -- a widow about Qwill's age who manages the local library. In Polly, Qwill seems to have found a soul mate.
Also, Mrs. Cobb, Qwill's landlady from Down Below (see "The Cat Who Turned On and Off") and his new cook and housekeeper (see "The Cat Who Played Post Office") decided to re-marry. Will the third time prove the charm for Mrs. Cobb?
This mystery, set once again in Pickax (pop. 3,000) while not the best of the series is certainly an entertaining read. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not on Kindle....??, February 28, 2014
This review is from: The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read and reread all this series. I love them. I want them all on my Kindle. I'm up to this one and will not purchase the remainder until this on is available in Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare, July 3, 2004
By 
smartnurse123 (Slidell, LA United States) - See all my reviews
I enjoy listening to the Cat Who...series on my way to work by audio. I recommend them because they very light and enjoyable. Koko and Yum-Yum have typical cat personalities and are very whimsical. The end always has a neat twist, although many story-lines in this series are very much alike...
In this episode, Koko becomes fascinated with Qwilleran's antique and rare books, especially the Shakespeare plays. He regularly throws them on the floor of the library. Qwilleran soon realizes that Koko's antics will help him solve a mystery...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a real page-turner, January 25, 2000
This review is from: The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (Mass Market Paperback)
Once again KoKo the cat solves another crime, but this book was not an exciting page-turner as some of her previous books. It was a good story and definitely gives you more character development as the series continues, but the exciting mystery hardly seemed there. I found myself not even caring whether Qwill solved the crime or not.
If you are interested in reading the entire series by Braun, then I would suggest reading this book just for the smooth flow of the series. But if you are just looking for a good mystery to read, I would suggest skipping this one and finding one of her other books, such as "The Cat Who Saw Red."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Cozy Series!, August 16, 2006
In the 7th book in The Cat Who...series, James Qwilleran aka "Qwill", is becoming acclimated to his new life as a millionaire in Pickaxe City (400 miles north of everywhere). He has moved his two beautiful Siamese cats (KoKo and Yum Yum) into the old Klingenschoen mansion and has settled in for a five year stay to fulfill the requirements of Aunt Fanny's will.

As the book begins, Qwill is awaiting the arrival of "the big one", a huge snow fall, as predicted every day on the weather report on WPKX. He is starting to adapt to life as the richest man in Moose County, and has started dating the local librarian, Polly Duncan. He begins to get acquainted with the various families in town, and develops an easy friendship with Junior Goodwinter, the young, energetic editor of the Pickax Picayune. When Junior's father dies suddenly in an accident, Qwill sympathizes with his friend, and looks for ways to save the centuries' old newspaper run for years without profit. Qwill begins to become suspicious of Junior's mother, and her reaction to her husband's death. It seems the widow is ready to sell all of her possessions and has been seen around town with a new man. Could the death of Senior Goodwinter have been anything more than a bad car accident? Distracting Qwill from the suspicious death is the upcoming marriage of his beloved housekeeper, Mrs. Iris Cobb. Qwill brought Mrs. Cobb up from "Down Below" to manage his household and the new museum that is being created in the Klingenschoen mansion. But the man she is marrying is highly disliked in town, and Qwill works hard to insure that Mrs. Cobb is marrying the right man for her.

This is my favorite cozy mystery series! I had read all of the books in the past, and wanted to read them again for a second time. This time around, I have chosen to listen to them on CD, as I love the voice of George Guidall. I am happily rediscovering how Qwill became a resident of Moose County, and how many of the series regulars join him from "down below". In this installment, Qwill brings Hixie Rice to town, and begins to talk about having old friend, Arch Riker, join him in Moose County. Also in this book, Qwill's long-time romance begins with librarian, Polly Duncan.

This is a great series by my favorite author!

The first book in the series is called "The Cat who Could Read Backwards". Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for Moose County content but 3 for mystery, January 8, 2004
By 
Jeanne Tassotto (Trapped in the Midwest) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (Mass Market Paperback)
This 7th book in the popular Cat Who series opens in November as all of Moose County waits for the arrival of 'the Big One' the first snow fall of the season. Jim Qwilleran, known as Qwill or Mr. Q, has recently inherited a fortune contingent on his residence in Moose County for 5 years. He has decided to leave his career as a journalist 'Down Below' and stay in Moose County, '400 miles North of everywhere'. Qwill has begun to use his fortune to help the people of Moose County by various contributions channeled through the 'K fund'.
His largest planned project is setting up a museum in the mansion full of antiques he has inherited but the one possibly nearest his heart is luring a decent cook into one of the local restaurants. The cook has arrived accompanied by a friend of Qwill's from down below, Hixie Rice, and is a bit of a mystery.
Other matters that concern Qwill are the romance of his housekeeper, Iris Cobb and his own budding romance with the local librarian, Polly Duncan. Qwill has also taken an interest in the local newspaper and the family that runs it. His companion, Koko, a Siamese cat has taken an interest in pushing valuable volumes of Shakespeare plays off the bookshelves. As always by the end of the book Qwill has resolved all issues and realizes that Koko was ahead of him all the way.
The emphasis in the series has always been more on the characters, the cozy element and less on the mystery aspect. This is particularly true in this one. If you are a Moose County fan you MUST read this book as it moves the series along on serveral important fronts but if you are looking for a mystery this probably isn't the book for you. The resolution is rather contrived and frankly by the time you get to it you may have forgotten half of the questions it was supposed to answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Author dies at 96, November 11, 2013
Lilian Jackson Braun (June 20, 1913 - June 4, 2011) was an American writer, well known for her light-hearted series of "The Cat Who..." mystery novels. The "Cat Who" books center around the life of former newspaper reporter, James Qwilleran, and his two Siamese cats, KoKo and Yum-Yum, in the fictitious small town of Pickax located in Moose County "400 miles north of everywhere." Although never formally stated in her books, the towns, counties and lifestyles described in the series are generally accepted to be modeled after Bad Axe, Michigan, where Braun resided with her husband until the mid-1980s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Cozy Series!, August 16, 2006
In the 7th book in The Cat Who...series, James Qwilleran aka "Qwill", is becoming acclimated to his new life as a millionaire in Pickaxe City (400 miles north of everywhere). He has moved his two beautiful Siamese cats (KoKo and Yum Yum) into the old Klingenschoen mansion and has settled in for a five year stay to fulfill the requirements of Aunt Fanny's will.

As the book begins, Qwill is awaiting the arrival of "the big one", a huge snow fall, as predicted every day on the weather report on WPKX. He is starting to adapt to life as the richest man in Moose County, and has started dating the local librarian, Polly Duncan. He begins to get acquainted with the various families in town, and develops an easy friendship with Junior Goodwinter, the young, energetic editor of the Pickax Picayune. When Junior's father dies suddenly in an accident, Qwill sympathizes with his friend, and looks for ways to save the centuries' old newspaper run for years without profit. Qwill begins to become suspicious of Junior's mother, and her reaction to her husband's death. It seems the widow is ready to sell all of her possessions and has been seen around town with a new man. Could the death of Senior Goodwinter have been anything more than a bad car accident? Distracting Qwill from the suspicious death is the upcoming marriage of his beloved housekeeper, Mrs. Iris Cobb. Qwill brought Mrs. Cobb up from "Down Below" to manage his household and the new museum that is being created in the Klingenschoen mansion. But the man she is marrying is highly disliked in town, and Qwill works hard to insure that Mrs. Cobb is marrying the right man for her.

This is my favorite cozy mystery series! I had read all of the books in the past, and wanted to read them again for a second time. This time around, I have chosen to listen to them on CD, as I love the voice of George Guidall. I am happily rediscovering how Qwill became a resident of Moose County, and how many of the series regulars join him from "down below". In this installment, Qwill brings Hixie Rice to town, and begins to talk about having old friend, Arch Riker, join him in Moose County. Also in this book, Qwill's long-time romance begins with librarian, Polly Duncan.

This is a great series by my favorite author!

The first book in the series is called "The Cat who Could Read Backwards". Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare
The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare by Lilian Jackson Braun (Mass Market Paperback - June 1, 1988)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.