Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A creative puzzle-solver with beautiful graphics
RPG's like Mass Effect, Skyrim, Dragon Age, etc., are typically my games of choice, but The Cave sounded intriguing. The cheap price and pre-order discount didn't hurt.

Players choose three of the seven available characters, each with unique talents. I'm currently playing with a knight who has the power of invincibility; an adventurer who can swing a grappling...
Published 23 months ago by Inspiring Insomnia

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, but glitchy.
I love the old Lucas Arts adventure games, like Monkey Island, and I was looking for something similar. The Cave is not like the old adventure games, in that the player does not pick objects and decide how to interact with them (ex: open, talk to, pick up, give, etc.) However, the game is imaginative and contains entertaining puzzles. Also, each character has their own...
Published 22 months ago by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A creative puzzle-solver with beautiful graphics, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
RPG's like Mass Effect, Skyrim, Dragon Age, etc., are typically my games of choice, but The Cave sounded intriguing. The cheap price and pre-order discount didn't hurt.

Players choose three of the seven available characters, each with unique talents. I'm currently playing with a knight who has the power of invincibility; an adventurer who can swing a grappling hook; and twins who have the ability to duplicate themselves. When you access special areas of the cave, you uncover scenes from your characters' pasts. Also, each character has a special quest that occurs in a unique area of the cave. (The knight is tasked by a king to defeat a dragon and retrieve an amulet for his daughter.)

You switch control between the three characters as you advance through the cave. Often, teamwork is required as you must position the characters in certain areas or have them perform tasks simultaneously. There are monsters, but there is no combat. Instead, you must figure out how to get past monsters with strategy alone. For one early example, you "battle" a dragon with a hot dog and a claw like those found in an arcade game.

Controls are simple, consisting of moving side to side, jumping, climbing, and picking up and using various objects. Characters can only hold one object at a time, and certain objects are needed to advance through different areas of the cave. Because it's not always obvious which objects must be used, you will often find yourself doubling back to retrieve dropped objects. This is a new type of game for me, so I've found myself running around aimlessly quite a bit, experimenting with different combinations of characters and objects to try to advance.

So far, I've experienced no glitches. What I have experienced are clever puzzles, beautiful visuals, and a game that will lend itself to re-playability as I will want to try out all of the characters.

Tip - If you get stuck, the Games Radar website has some helpful walkthroughs and a nice map that gives a layout of the entire cave system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, but glitchy., February 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I love the old Lucas Arts adventure games, like Monkey Island, and I was looking for something similar. The Cave is not like the old adventure games, in that the player does not pick objects and decide how to interact with them (ex: open, talk to, pick up, give, etc.) However, the game is imaginative and contains entertaining puzzles. Also, each character has their own dark history that slowly unfolds as you play. Because parts of the game only accessible by certain characters and only three can be played at a time, there is potential for many hours of gameplay.

The game is not without bugs. I was on the second to last level of the game when I began having trouble moving an object. My character kept walking forward and dropping the object when I just wanted it to grab the object and walk backwards. I learned how to get out of that trap, but then one of my characters fell through the floor and vanished. I cannot retrieve him and I must have three characters to leave the level. The game auto-saves and there is not an easy way to go to earlier saves (you have play programmer to do that). So, in my case I have to start over from level one, which is highly disappointing.

So, buy this game at your own risk. It IS fun and it seems that other people have made it to the end without any trouble. At the same time it is a newly released game and it might be better to buy it after it has been "out there" a while so the bugs can be worked out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonder by the makers of a classic., January 28, 2013
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
If you're a long time gamer, you must have played (and therefore loved) The Secret of Monkey Island and its first sequel, Lechuck's Revenge. Those games are both classic and belonging to a genre that sadly barely exists anymore (only Telltalle Games has kept the genre afloat, and while some indie developers also do it, their games usually lack the humor of the best classics). Those games, and others in the same genre, were the product of the great minds of Ron Gilbert and Tim Schafer.

Decades later, both of them reunited to work together in a new project: The Cave. The Cave has NOT the same style of gameplay as the Monkey Island games, but it sure as hell has the same heart. It looks and plays like a platformer, but it's actually a classic graphic adventure in a clever disguise.

You see, even though you control characters by moving with the analog stick, jumping and using special abilities, this is no Mario, Megaman or Rayman. You don't jump on enemies or attack them with an equipped weapon (mostly). No, the focus of this game is on puzzles and humor, just like in the previous collaborations by Gilbert and Schafer.

Along the game, you're instructed, related, haunted and made fun of by the titular Cave, a sentient geographical accident who talks to you as you plow your way through it with three characters of your choice from a group of seven, each of whom has a slowly-revealed personal history and a particular useful special skill.

Interaction between these characters and each other, NPCs, creatures or objects found in The Cave is filled with the same kind of progression you might have felt while playing old graphical adventures (i.e. trying to grab every item you find in the hopes you might need it later, combining items with one another and an almost pathological disregard for the well-being of any character that is not under your control). As usual, you will reach a part where you'll be stumped for a while until it snaps on you and you'll feel dumb for not having realized the solution before.

The game reminds a lot of the first graphic adventure by Gilbert, Maniac Mansion, due to the fact that you switch control between three characters in order to achieve your goals and that there are things that only certain characters can do. This, of course, doesn't mean you will reach a point in which you won't be able to advance (something that could very well happen in Maniac Mansion) because you chose the wrong character. To avoid this, every part of the Cave has either several solutions, generic solutions that don't depend on a character's special abilities, or parts that simply won't show up unless you have a specific character in your party. This encourages several replays, since you'll get to see specific scenarios according to who is in your party.

The one point this game has against it is the lack of protagonists dialogue. Your characters are silent, which is a shame, because the dialogue of the protagonists used to be some of the funniest parts in Gilbert and Schafer's games, and specially because some of these characters look really interesting. That being said, the game still has enough humor and clever puzzles to make you love it as much as you loved those classic ones. And, if you haven't played those classic ones, go and find them now. The first and second Monkey Island games have been remade with new graphics for the PC, and they're dirt cheap, so there's no excuse not to play them.

In any case, get this game. Unless you're looking exclusively for gun-totting action, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teams of 3 on a side scrolling platformer point and click, April 16, 2013
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Remember the days of point and click games where you'd collect objects then you'd reach some dead end and need to try everything from your inventory on something or craft 2 items from your inventory together (Shadowgate and Sam & Max come to mind)? Well this is a side scrolling platformer that does just that. You first pick a team from 7 characters, each with a single special ability. The Adventurer has a hook, the knight has a bubble, the hillbilly has stinky breath, the time traveler has some sort of teleport forward, the twins ... uh have creepiness, the monk has, well you get it. So you pick your team of 3 kind of like the old Maniac Mansion game and you send them down the cave. The real object is to find an item that you bring to a location to do something with. Yep, that sums up the game. There is a lot of useless travel, such as when you waste an item and need to go back. I'm not talking major back tracking, but its a minute of time that makes me think wow I really need to traverse this area to get a hot dog to give to something? Since it is side scrolling, there is jumping and box pulling, but no death. When you die, you just instantly respawn with no consequence. If there was a consequence, I'd hate to make the game any longer than it needs to be.

The charm of this game comes from the voice work done by the Cave itself and even its non speaking characters. The game is easy going and lighthearted, but to be honest I really feel like why am I doing this almost mindless busy work? There are no real enemies to speak of just death traps. Nothing makes me think that was such an awesome level I want to play the game again! But the real pain is that there is replayability since there are 7 characters. So to see everyone's ending, you need to play at least 3 times. Which is good... since there is replayability, but its bad since I don't want to replay the game.

It looks good, it feels good to play, but its just busy work with little entertainment. You might feel good thinking oh I use this with that, huzza! but that's about all the feeling this game gives me despite all of its charm. For $15, that price is dead on, but there will be a Steam sale somewhere that will have this game at $5 or less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Fun!, October 28, 2013
By 
Fiona (Breckenridge) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It's a Double Fine game. Need I say more? No, I don't. But I will. It's a story-driven, point and click game. Lot's to do, though it could be a tad repetitive at the beginning and end of a game with a new group of adventures -- if you go after all the trophies or if you should decide to learn all the character's stories -- which I do encourage because that's the best part about the game. The colorful, though dangerously so, characters and the humor of the creators had me laughing out loud throughout the entire game (no mater how many times I've played it).

Narration and style of animation are superb, in my opinion. And control is simple enough. I've encountered ZERO glitches and am very happy.

Definitely a great game! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazingly Deep Cave, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I've only played this game once so far, but I loved the animation, the ease of movement, and the humor (both visual and verbal). I can't wait to play again, using some of the other characters so I can explore their parts of the cave. I was a little slow to realize what the cave paintings meant, so luckily they aren't part of the gameplay.

Overall, although this game was a bit short, I gave it 5 stars because of its humor and graphics. Those hillbilly feet slapping their way across the rock formations is just too much!! The monk needed more patience than I could muster for almost too long (dang lotus petals!!). Enjoy The Cave!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing.. addicting... mysterious... and mysteriously intriguing ;), November 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game seemed really interesting at first... but then I bought it... and instantly fell in love :) It's addicting, mind-bending, hilarious, mysterious, and very dark in the most delightful way.

It has many WOAH, WOW, and HOLY SH*% moments - something you might not expect from a simple environmental puzzle game. It's a fast-paced environmental puzzle game, with strategy and thinking followed by quick, precise, and decisive execution of plans.

I recommend this to gamers everywhere - an indie classic you shouldn't miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun little game, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I'm a huge fan of Ron Gilbert's work. The humor really shines through here in The Cave. Gameplay it's not too advanced - simple platforming and logic/puzzle solving.

The narration is what makes the game. Witty, funny, not overdone. But replaying the game multiple times for all the endings isn't worth it. Most of the further plot is gained from picture storytelling. And there are puzzles you have to replay no matter who you choose for your adventure. Each playthrough is about 3 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concepts and puzzles, Too much back and forth, May 4, 2013
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This is an awesome puzzler. And any level of gamer should be able to take it on. The voicing and soundtrack are also wonderful. Add to this the idea of seven different characters going into the cave three at a time for slightly differing events/sections, and this game seems destined to be called amazing. But then you begin actually playing it. While not the end of the world, the controls don't always work the way you want them to; ladders are easily missed or accidentally grabbed, etc. But the real drawback of The Cave is all of the running around you're going to be doing. This could have been simplified by allowing you to itemize everything you pick up, so that you didn't have to travel around seeking something you dropped because you could only carry one item at a time. The run-around often just feels like something thrown into the game to inflate its length. Sometimes it does feel appropriate for pacing, but only rarely. Still, it's hard to mind these cons too much; as the premise itself, along with the puzzles and story delivery, is fantastic. I also liked that it wasn't always clear straight away exactly what each character's special power was supposed to do. At least four of them I began playing with, thinking that their powers would never be useful, only to find myself amazed at what the designers managed to do with them. Lastly, there's the issue of multiplayer. Up to three people can play this game at the same time (at least on the PS3, where I've been playing). But the screen will never split, and only the characters who stay on the same screen as the primary player will be allowed to even move. This can be tricky to keep up with because the primary player isn't the player with the first control, but the last player to have manually switched from one character to another. It's still fun and I recommend playing with people, because the puzzling is great and you'll all feel like winners when something gets solved. But the co-op could have been much improved upon. All in all, I really did like this game. It's pretty unique for a point and click puzzle game. And the replay value is up there. So I'd recommend it to those who aren't turned off too much by its drawbacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, but also passable., July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cave [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Fun for a bit. But the solution to the problems are so obscure in the vein of "get the bucket of chicken to stop the miner from throwing dynamite at your tape recorder." Oh, and the BACKTRACKING...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cave [Online Game Code]
The Cave [Online Game Code] by Double Fine Productions
$14.99 $7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.