Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, written by a great guy!
The class I took with this book was written by the author, Dr. Geoffrey Cooper himself. Before I say anything else about the book, Dr. Cooper is a super smart guy. He discovered the ras oncogene, which you'll learn about in this book! (He is also a notable humble guy, as he doesn't even mention himself in the book, while he gives you tons of stuff on other scientists who...
Published on June 12, 2012 by J52

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition
The product itself was delivered in perfect condition, brand new. I'm not a fan of the book in general though. Throughout my semester with this book my professor was constantly having to correct mistakes he found in the book. The flow of the information in book is decent, the diagrams can leave a little to be desired. I have had several textbooks that are very interesting...
Published 22 months ago by Eric W.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, written by a great guy!, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
The class I took with this book was written by the author, Dr. Geoffrey Cooper himself. Before I say anything else about the book, Dr. Cooper is a super smart guy. He discovered the ras oncogene, which you'll learn about in this book! (He is also a notable humble guy, as he doesn't even mention himself in the book, while he gives you tons of stuff on other scientists who discovered great things in cell biology, and even got Nobel prizes).

This book is a great book for an undergraduate class in cell biology. The diagrams are all well-drawn, and the book explains some complex concepts/cascades quite well. Studying the diagrams and illustrations is very very helpful when studying.

Additionally, the text is pretty comfortable to read. The text isn't crammed in together, and everything is organized pretty well (you usually don't have to turn the page to see a diagram the text refers to).

I kept this book after the class, as it is a great reference, and easy to understand. It's well-written, concise, and interesting.

Be thankful if your class uses this book. You'll not only learn about cell biology, but a lot about science in general.

GREAT FOR PRE-MED STUDENTS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition, March 27, 2013
By 
Eric W. (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
The product itself was delivered in perfect condition, brand new. I'm not a fan of the book in general though. Throughout my semester with this book my professor was constantly having to correct mistakes he found in the book. The flow of the information in book is decent, the diagrams can leave a little to be desired. I have had several textbooks that are very interesting and packed with information, this one just doesn't quite deliver. I highly recommend any faculty considering using the book for a class carefully review the book before selecting it. My professor chose it on a whim and was not impressed with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, September 24, 2012
Can get a little wordy but overall a great book. I used it for a molecular cell biology course and it has also prepared me for the MCAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cell theory, January 21, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great overall coverage of general cellular biology. The text is clear and concise with enough review material to refresh the memory of basic cell theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
Was not expecting the book to be in such great condition, almost brand new except for some highlighting. Very fair and accessible price as opposed to bookstore prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for medical cell bio, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
this was a required book for my medical school i used it alot it was very good. just really long chapters and etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
The book was amazing! It was a brand new book for such a good price! Shipping was extraordinary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, December 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
I think the book is well written and fairly easy to follow, even if it is a difficult subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
The display case arrived just as described without any issues. The distributor responded very quickly and the product arrived before the date that I needed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cell: A Molecular Approach, January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
Arrived pretty quickly and in the condition described. Very pleased with the service, product, and price. Cheaper than school bookstore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition
The Cell: A Molecular Approach, Fifth Edition by Geoffrey M. Cooper (Hardcover - March 31, 2009)
Used & New from: $24.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.