Customer Reviews


480 Reviews
5 star:
 (256)
4 star:
 (130)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,573 of 1,599 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers to questions, and a man misplaced in time
THE QUESTIONS
To address the questions that most people have:

* This is an easier read than The Silmarillion.
* It is a greatly expanded version of Chapter XXI of The Silmarillion, "Of Túrin Turambar", BUT...
* Reading The Silmarillion is not necessary.
* It is told in a narrative voice.
* The narrative voice is archaic.
*...
Published on April 18, 2007 by Jonathan Appleseed

versus
39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DENSE and Epic
The Children of Húrin, also known as Narn i Chîn Húrin, is the latest J.R.R. Tolkien book. The stories of Túrin (son of Húrin) appear in earlier works like The Silmarillion, and are now released in full novel form thanks to tireless editing by his son, Christopher Tolkien. The tale takes place in the First Age of Middle Earth, and is somewhere...
Published on November 9, 2007 by Lauren Hutchison


‹ Previous | 134 35 3648 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars time & money, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Children of Hurin (Hardcover)
took more time than expected to ship and custom fee was too big. Item itself is as expected. Also all 3 items were separated in 2 different packages (still waiting for the last one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't get into it, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just couldn't get into it. Compared to his other writings this one did not grab me nor keep me interested. It seemed to me that it was a narration about a family right up to the middle of the book and then it started to change a bit and caught my interest. However I did finish the book because I thought it might change.

H
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you
love Tolkien then this is a good book. It's hard to follow at points but it gives good detail to the time of nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More depth, September 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Anything with the Tolkien label adds to the depth of the world that he created. "Children" was an opportunity to revisit characters from the "Silmarillion" with added focus.

It does not add greatly to the previous works, and so may be considered a waste of effort, but it was a nice chance to revisit characters and Middle Earth. I think most Tolkien fans would agree it was money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars requires a lot of concentration, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Hardcover)
I love JRR Tolkien, his work is very entertaining. I am enjoying "The Children of Hurin" but I have to take the book in small doses. This book requires a lot of concentration and I begin to feel my brain is on overload. This book does provide a lot of background info concerning some of the references in the LOTR series. In my opinion this book is not for the casual Tolkien reader, but for the serious Tolkien fan, only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Gem from Tolkien, July 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Children of Húrin (Audio CD)
The Children of Hurin is a masterpiece of literature. Well-written, well-edited, and well-narrated. The story stands by itself (Tolkien sketched it well before he wrote the Hobbit or LOTR), and it is a moving tale. The tone is less distant than the Silmarillion, but more "archaic" and mythic than Lord of the Rings. However, I liked the tone and thought that it fit the story well. Tolkien is a master of description and narration. The dialogue, though somewhat scanty, was very well-done. Every piece of dialogue felt right.

One important point to note is that the book starts off slow and feels less like a novel, especially the first chapter. Hang in there, because it gets much better. I always find the first chapter of a book the worst anyway. The Children of Hurin is a compilation of many unfinished texts, and roughly the first half of the book was written earlier and was less finished, as is explained in the appendix.

Christopher Lee was both good and bad. His deep resonant voice, of course, was excellent, although too deep to play a convincing woman (there are probably more female characters than you might expect, though not all that many). However, he halted too much during sentences, making some of the narration feel choppy. For some reason, this seemed more of a problem in the first half of the book. But overall, he was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelente composição da historia de Turin Turambar., April 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Uma nova leitura de uma das mais interessantes historias da primeira era. Muito bem editada e interessantissíma de ler.
Todos os fãs de Tolkien vão adorar adentrar ainda mais no seu universo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tragic tale before the 3rd Age, December 29, 2010
The first time I attempted to read the Children of Hurin I could only get a few chapters in before being overwhelmed by names and places. I tried reading it again and I understood the book much better and read in very quickly. The book while being very dense with names is a very tragic but great novel. The book doesn't have the polish prose that the LOTR has but it's still very good novel none the less.

The pronunciation guide in the book and the table of names makes and the map help one really comprehend such an epic tragedy that mirrors the Greek and roman mythological ones. I really enjoy how the book ties into the LOTR as the genealogy tables show that many of the characters in the book are very closely related to main characters. For example on of Turin's friends is a brother to Galadriel. The book definitely is meant more for the middle earth and Tolkien fans and not for casual one time readers of LOTR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Children of Hurin, June 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Children of Hurin (Paperback)
Who can debate the genius of Tolkien and his talent for fantastic tales like the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings series? Though apparently and unfinished saga; The Children of Hurin is background for these other stories; a part of the history of the introduction of man into the lives of the Elven and Dwarf kingdoms of Middle Earth. If you have enjoyed any of Tolkien's other writing you will enjoy this one as well.

What I find most enjoyable about reading any of Tolkien's works is that they are not just a one time read. You can read them over again at a later date and pick up something new of interest. This tale of the evil Morgoth and his desire to destroy all Elvs, Dwarfs, and Mankind by making them all slaves; and his pursuit of the Children of Hurin-Hurin whom he holds captive in his dungeons and the tragedy that befalls them is a sad captivating tale that you will want to keep in your library. I'll be holding on to my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic of J.R.R. Tolkien!, June 15, 2010
A Kid's Review
The book, The Children of Hurin, by J.R.R. Tolkien, is an amazing fantasy book on the life of Turin. The setting is all throughout Beleriand, and The North. The challenge in this story is that Melkor has caught eye of Hurin, and seeks to kill him through his proxy, A Great Dragon that can burrow to great depths, and is wingless. The plot highlights of this story are all of the childhood, and teenage years of Turin. Then, when an elf disgraces is mother, he chases, and throws him into a river,(which kills him.) A while after that he meets up with a dwarf named Mim, and takes shelter in the tunnels of the hill Amon Rudh. When Amon Rudh is sacked by invaders, Turin escapes and meets back up with his elf friend. Eventually, when the wingless dragon meets up with him, he, he slays it, with the blade of the Black Elf. Eventually, the story results in a dramatic ending of insanity.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 3648 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Children of Hurin: Deluxe Edition
The Children of Hurin: Deluxe Edition by J. R. R. Tolkien (Hardcover - May 16, 2007)
Used & New from: $54.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.