Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odin's BEST
You will find not only Norse myths in this book, but Teutonic tales as well. The drawings are incredible, as in all children's books. Adults will not be disappointed with this one, and children will be pleased to hear the exciting stories within. A MUST have for Norse mythology book collectors. An oldie but GOODIE! Classic and captivating. What else can I say...
Published on May 5, 2004 by KTM Kim

versus
81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware !!!!!!
Buyer beware ! This Alladin Publication is the same as the Dover Publication Nordic Gods and Heroes. However, it is lacking much of the original artwork, especially that which introduces each of the four parts.
The first 3 parts are Norse mythology and the 4th is the Teutonic Ring of the Nibelungs. This book was written for children and young adults and gives only...
Published on January 20, 2008 by einar


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odin's BEST, May 5, 2004
By 
KTM Kim (Long Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Children of Odin (Hardcover)
You will find not only Norse myths in this book, but Teutonic tales as well. The drawings are incredible, as in all children's books. Adults will not be disappointed with this one, and children will be pleased to hear the exciting stories within. A MUST have for Norse mythology book collectors. An oldie but GOODIE! Classic and captivating. What else can I say? . . . I'm buying another one incase I lose my present copy-THAT IS HOW GOOD IT IS! I also reccomend My Viking Book by Ruth Harshaw. Hard to find and quite old, but it is THE best children's book EVER! Don't miss either of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware !!!!!!, January 20, 2008
By 
einar (Grand Rapids, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Children of Odin: The Book of Northern Myths (Paperback)
Buyer beware ! This Alladin Publication is the same as the Dover Publication Nordic Gods and Heroes. However, it is lacking much of the original artwork, especially that which introduces each of the four parts.
The first 3 parts are Norse mythology and the 4th is the Teutonic Ring of the Nibelungs. This book was written for children and young adults and gives only a bare bones telling of the myths. Be prepared for some archaic language : "dost", "spake", "knowst", etc.

Why Amazon chooses to sell these two books as a pair is beyond me as they are essentially identical. I recommend the Dover edition because of the extra artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively, entertaining, December 28, 1998
By A Customer
This book is different than many mythology texts, it is a good read. The stories are more like stories, and they carry on from one story or chapter to the next. It holds the attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Storytelling, June 26, 1997
By A Customer
This book was (and still is) one of my childhood favorties. As I was growing up I found most texts boring and lost interest in mythology books that concentrated on being specific and complex. I stumbled upon this book in my Junior High library and was instantly hooked. It is full of wonderfully told stories that constantly entertain while providing an imaginative way of getting the stories' points across. It is a great book for children and I would suggest it for parents too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review of one of the best books i've seen., March 3, 1997
By A Customer
This book is definatly one of the best books i've seen. The tales of Odin, and the other Norse gods, has never been told in a more imaginative way (in my opinion, of course). The stories were intriging and filled with lush discriptions. If you like mythology, Norse or other, then this book is a must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Into to Norse Mythology, February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Other than Thor and Odin, I had almost no familiarity with Norse mythology, but decided I wanted to learn more about it. This ended up being one of the best introductions to a new mythology that I have ever read. Written as a narrative (rather than a dictionary of mythological beings, which is what you find in most mythology books), you are able to get a much better picture of the Norse pantheon. I got the Kindle version, so there was none of the artwork mentioned in some of the other reviews, but the storytelling is so good, you don't even really need the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to Norse "myths" for young people!, April 10, 2007
By 
Cwn_Annwn (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Children of Odin: The Book of Northern Myths (Paperback)
Simplified watered down versions of stories from the Eddas. This book seems to be aimed at a late elementary or jr. high school age reader. For that target audience this is a great introduction and would probably be the best thing you could buy if you were trying to picque a young persons interest in the Norse "Myths". If your an adult there are several other books on this subject that I would recomend over this one though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to leave a lasting legacy to your grandchildren, January 28, 2007
This review is from: The Children of Odin: The Book of Northern Myths (Paperback)
Buy and read a copy to you grandchildren; They will remember the experience forever. I actually reference back to this book when I do studies on philosophy and religion. There is much more here than meets the eye, and the stories have survived for millenia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes for casual reading, July 7, 1999
By A Customer
If you want details, you're not going to find them here. But here you WILL find connected, flowing storytelling and a sense of BEING there when stuff happens. You won't find drama and excitement here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disapointment, September 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it was very dissapointing to recieve this book and find out that there were no illustrations in it. this was not clear to me at all when i purchased the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Children of Odin: The Book of Northern Myths
The Children of Odin: The Book of Northern Myths by Padraic Colum (Paperback - July 1, 2004)
$9.99 $9.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.