Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Amethyst Jewelry Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$21.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2012
If you are a fan of the series, you need this book. Beautifully complements the show with photos from tHe production, as well as historical background info that helps round out the characters and grounds the show into the time period of the Jazz Age. One caveat: this does contain some spoilers, so if this is for a gift, make sure the recipient is at least familiar up through the second season. All in all though, this is a nice book and a must-have for fans.
11 comment106 of 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
I bought the series companion book "The World of Downton Abbey" and loved it so when I learned that this book was coming as a follow up/advanced look at season 3 I knew I "had to" get it too.
This book has the same sort of beautiful photography and level of detail as its predecessor but seems to be divided into character sections complete with series related details and historical detail/background information.

If you're a fan of the series there will perhaps be a little spoiler detail but few will mind that because this book is such a fantastic series companion. Those with no series interest but interested in historical details or just in quality photography should also take a look. The book is well worth owning.
0Comment62 of 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
An ABSOLUTE MUST HAVE for all Downton Abbey Fans. This would make an excellent Christmas present! Quick! Before they are all gone. This is an amazingly detailed book. Not only is it beautifully presented .... think coffee table book..... the contents are just fantastic. There is narrative, there is "scrapbooking" with pictures of things of the era, there is character analysis, it is just a great great book. Do they have Emmy's for books????? I give this TEN stars!
0Comment38 of 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
I liked this book because of the individual background on each character. It presents interesting historical and cultural background that will enhance the viewer's understanding and enjoyment of the world of high English society. Plus it's fun!
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
I'm a huge fan of Downton Abbey! If you've not had the opportunity to watch the show you need to! For those of you that are already fans or if you know someone that is. This would be a great gift for them. The Chronicles of Downton Abbey is a beautifully constructed book with gorgeous photos of the cast members. It even included the newest cast member, Shirley MacLaine. The book not only has insightful character profiles, but also interesting historical facts. Don't worry about spoilers for season 3 though. This book only whets your appetite for the upcoming season. I can't wait to find out what happens between Bates and Anna, and Matthew and Mary. I love, love, love this book!
Read more at [...]
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
Loved every page. The highlights for Season 3 were not "spoilers" since they had been rampant in print journalism, but this book was an excellent background of the series creator and each of the main characters
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
Outstanding review of the British life of the wealthy and their service staff. A great journey through the world of Downton Abbey.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
I am only a little ways into reading this book. I am enjoying delving into the characters and the era, but I wanted to go ahead and mention that the book does give away some story line from Season 3. Make sure you watch the first couple of episodes of Season 3 before you start reading this book.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
My mom will love it - she was so frustrated that the previous volume didn't give away anything about Seaon 2! Beautifully done & lots of good explanations about things that most Americans wouldn't know!
0Comment13 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Gorgeous, gorgeous book! I LOVE this complete digest of who's who, their backstories, their lives, why they do what they do, their clothing, their customs of the times, everything you wanted to know about Downton Abbey and more. This book is full of full color photos from the series. I highly recommend this book for the serious DA fan. Be aware, for the US fan who has not yet seen Season 3, there are spoiler alerts, but this is a beautiful book and well worth the small price for a large hardbound book.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse