Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wicked good time
As a member of the exclusive Pretty Committee clique, Kristen Gregory is popular (times 10), stylish, snobby, fake-rich and insecure. But she has a secret that even her PC friends don't know. Her biggest secret is also her salvation and a source of joy. Kristen belongs to the Witty Committee, a group of intellectually gifted students who assemble via their PCs and role...
Published on July 24, 2008 by Teen Reads

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a cute, quick read
If you enjoy the Clique series, this is a cute story. It follows Kirsten through her summer dream of becoming the girlfriend of one of the cute surfers who hangs out around her neighborhood. It is not one of my favorites out of the series, as it is hard to focus on one of the clique members when you grow to rely on them as an ensemble, but it was a very enjoyable and...
Published 21 months ago by Kristine Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wicked good time, July 24, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen (Paperback)
As a member of the exclusive Pretty Committee clique, Kristen Gregory is popular (times 10), stylish, snobby, fake-rich and insecure. But she has a secret that even her PC friends don't know. Her biggest secret is also her salvation and a source of joy. Kristen belongs to the Witty Committee, a group of intellectually gifted students who assemble via their PCs and role play as the gifted person they admire most. With her Witty Committee friends, whose motto is "BOB - brains over beauty," Kristen is smart, loyal, proud and confident.

While her PC friends have taken flight for the summer, Kristen stays in Westchester, New York, where she lands a job tutoring Ripple Baxter to earn eighth-grade wardrobe money. Kristen begins tutoring Ripple in math, but the nine-year-old has other plans. Ripple is enthralled with PC Alpha Massie Block and connives to use Kristen to teach her how to become an OCD-Diva and Massie clone. Ripple is so obsessed with Massie that she insists everyone call her "Rassie."

After Kristen catches on to Ripple's scam and realizes her tutoring job with Ripple is more babysitting than teaching math, she is ready to call it quits --- until she meets Dune, Ripple's 13-year-old brother, whose blond hair is "the color of Baked Lays." Kristen turns the tables and uses Ripple to find out how to impress Dune, but things don't go according to plan. When Kristen shows up at the Gray Acres Skate Park (GAS) dressed like a skater, Dune and his skater friends are the opposite of impressed. Then there's Skye Hamilton, the eighth-grade Alpha and member of the Westchester Country Club, who is also crushing on Dune.

When Kristen is caught trespassing at the Westchester Country Club, she gets in trouble --- big trouble. And after Dune crushes back on Skye rather than on her, Kristen becomes depressed in a way that makes "Victoria Beckham look cheerful."

To resolve her "crush conflict" Kristen (aka Cleopatra) contacts her role-playing Witty Committee friends for advice. Can Einstein (aka Layne), Bill Gates (aka Danh), Oprah (aka Rachel) and Shakespeare (aka Aimee) come up with a solution? Here's a hint: Are Bill Gates and Oprah rich?

KRISTEN is the fourth of five novellas about members of the Pretty Committee. Each book is a light-hearted and fun-to-read page-turner with sound advice for teenage girls. The message from KRISTEN, is, in her own words, "hold on to your pride and own who you are." No wonder Kristen is not only a member of the Pretty Committee but also of the Witty Committee.

--- Reviewed by Donna Volkenannt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, August 3, 2008
This review is from: The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen (Paperback)
So far in THE CLIQUE SUMMER COLLECTION series, this has to be my favorite ending of them all!

Kristen is the character in the CLIQUE series that I have always secretly rooted for, because she is more realistic then some of her friends. She wants so badly to have money, and works so hard to fit in with the group that has endless amounts of it.

This book really made her character come to life, and I loved every page!

Even though she's stuck at home, she still finds things to do. Hanging out with the hotties at the local skate park, filling pools with Jell-O, and tutoring (and torturing) a nine-year-old wannabe in math; all in the same summer!

See how she does it in this fabulous summer read!

Reviewed by: Taylor Rector
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, July 17, 2008
This review is from: The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen (Paperback)
Compared to the first 3 books in the Clique Summer Series, I expected this book to be quite boring. It turns out I was wrong. This book is very enjoyable and will be something that you do not want to put down until you finish the whole book! I will say one little thing that is in this book, Kristin finally meet a very cute and nice boy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kristen, January 2, 2014
Kristen was an entertaining romance novel with must have secrets at every turn. Read it or face becoming an L.B.R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in With The Clique, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen (Paperback)
Again - gifts for my niece; ended up sneaking a peek at the content. Cute stories - a bit on the shallow side, regarding labels and monetary things but its still a good little series. The summer series was adorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet!, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book I will definitely read more of this series. I love Lisa Harrison's writing. About to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a cute, quick read, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you enjoy the Clique series, this is a cute story. It follows Kirsten through her summer dream of becoming the girlfriend of one of the cute surfers who hangs out around her neighborhood. It is not one of my favorites out of the series, as it is hard to focus on one of the clique members when you grow to rely on them as an ensemble, but it was a very enjoyable and light-hearted read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A light, fun summer read, December 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen (Paperback)
Length:: 1:17 Mins

A fun read, if you enjoyed the rest of The Clique summer collection books, you'll enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The worst one in the Summer Collection, August 14, 2008
By 
üüü (Grosse Pointe, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen (Paperback)
I found three things wrong with this book: (a) the story idea was a cliché, (b) Kristen didn't seem as particularly "down-to-earth" as she claimed and Lisi Harrison stressed, and (c) similar to the previous point, Kristen didn't seem very poor either. First off, this same story was used already in Sealed With a Diss (Kristen changes herself for the sake of a guy) and probably every other TV/book series ever made. The only difference between this and Sealed with a Diss is that it's the main conflict (so now you can't ignore the predictable story line) and there's another girl in the picture (not too creative). So, it's obvious Kristen will change how she dresses, acts, et cetera for surfer/skater boy Dune, Dune will call Kristen out on her changes and stop talking to Kristen (meanwhile he'll pursue the other girl), Kristen will do some desperate act for the name of love to convince Dune that she's worth loving, and Dune will be convinced. And, surprise, surprise, that's what happens! You'd think, if Kristen was a real person, that she would learn this from her previous, and practically identical, experience with Griffin, the Goth boy, but no. We have to go through this painstaking and frankly boring story line again.

And I'm not sure why everyone thinks Kristen is so down-to-earth, her point-of-view was identical to anyone else in the Clique (not including Claire, who's the only really down-to-earth person in the series), except she complained about money more. Harrison's view of middle class is skewed. In the story, brands like J. Crew and Anthropologie are called noted to be cheap, like when Kristen buys a J. Crew tank top and sews a Lacoste logo on it. Last time I was in J. Crew, the tank tops were $30. If Kristen was really trying to save money and her dad was really bankrupt, wouldn't she just go to Wal-Mart or something and buy some Hanes wife beaters if she wanted a tank top? Harrison, who claims she grew up middle-class, should have included in the book that Kristen knew a middle-class person in Westchester was different money-wise than a middle-class person in any other place.

I do like some things about this book though. The "Witty Committee" was a cute idea, I guess. The book is also an important part of the Summer Collection because of a few things it reveals in the end. But I suggest you don't read this book unless you need some way to pass time this summer. I wish I just asked a friend how this book ended instead of going through the whole thing myself. It's only a little bit above 100 pages, but it seems a lot longer. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clique Book, February 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen (Paperback)
Excellent product, excellent quality for what I need, shipped promptly, will be back. THANKS for the EXCELLENT service :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen
The Clique Summer Collection #4:Kristen by Lisi Harrison (Paperback - July 1, 2008)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.