Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What was that piece of music? With this app I now know!
It's amazing how just how much classical music one hears, whether from a movie or a commercial. Many pieces I recognize but don't know the name of. This app is really wonderful just to listen through and have the titles available. If you're a casual classical listener like me, this is really a great app to play in the background then click over to when I hear a tune I...
Published 23 months ago by Gamerzmom

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No big deal
This app is basically a single album classical music compilation with very poor sound quality. You can buy similar "essential" compilations in the Amazon music store, often for 99 cents, but always with better sound. I don't see that packaging as an app has any advantage in this case.
Published 23 months ago by Just Wondering


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What was that piece of music? With this app I now know!, May 14, 2012
By 
Gamerzmom "Gamerzmom" (Chandler, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
It's amazing how just how much classical music one hears, whether from a movie or a commercial. Many pieces I recognize but don't know the name of. This app is really wonderful just to listen through and have the titles available. If you're a casual classical listener like me, this is really a great app to play in the background then click over to when I hear a tune I particularly like. Thank you for such a great app!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
amazing, and less than a cent per piece. go nutcracker! plus, the pretty wood background. I am listening while I type!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No big deal, May 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
This app is basically a single album classical music compilation with very poor sound quality. You can buy similar "essential" compilations in the Amazon music store, often for 99 cents, but always with better sound. I don't see that packaging as an app has any advantage in this case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Recommended, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
This app does what it says it will do - you can identify various classical works that you may have heard elsewhere. But:

- Execution is poor as noted by other reviewers. The app will run multiple pieces at the same time if you're not careful. Controls are limited and quirky.

- Sound quality is appalling. It sounds as if all 100 magnificent pieces had been crammed into a one-minute, 131 meg download. Which is exactly what has happened with this app. The best you can say for the music is that it's recognizable.

Great concept - I wish it worked. But even the most talented developer can't suspend the laws of physics. If you're interested in classical music, give yourself a break and pop for a high-quality mp3 compilation by a name orchestra.

Postscript - I'd like to see the developers polish the interface and offer this app with a 1-gig music package, which is what it would take for good quality sound. Then we could talk about whether we like the selected arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superb app, but poor sound quality., May 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
I have mixed feelings about this app. I love the concept, design, and usefulness of the application. The music selection is pretty good. The majority of the most noteable songs are here, although some key pieces like "Fanfare For The Common Man" and "1812 Overture" are missing. My main issue is with the sound quality. These songs have around 8 times the compression of average mp3 files, which are already compressed. This translates into really tinny sound, especially in classical music with it's very wide dynamic range. Despite the negatives, this app is a bargain for a buck. For those not real familiar with classic music, it's worth having just to be able to identify these songs one has heard all his or her life. I really wish this app had better sound and a few adjustments to the song selection, but overall I think it is well worth the dollar I paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good selection; but problem with singly selection, May 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
Music frequently plays multiple selections at the same time. Good selections, but the selection controls often don't respond and the kindle fire has to be turned off before the controls respond. This happens only when multiple songs are being played at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not taking account of the highly questionable taste of their top classical hits, the functionality of this app is highly wanting, May 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
Leaving aside my disappointment in the choice of classical essentials, the functionality of this app is lacking. No playlist or favorites.no sorting or blocking least favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars flawed, May 15, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "John" (Thousand Oaks, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
I like the concept of the app but the music sample rate is too small for the songs to sound right. I do like the ability to identify a song and find out the name of the music. All in all - you won't be terribly upset as long as you are prepared for some tinny sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, horrible sound quality., May 13, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
there is a pretty good selection of music here. the interface is straight forward and easy to use, though it does lack a bit in features. the rel issue with this app thoug is the quality of the music. none of its great quality, though some of it is acceptable for the average non-audiophile. unfortunantly most of it i s horrible. The performances are fine, but there is so much compression that it ruins it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very bad sound quality, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classical Music: Essential Collection (App)
I should have read the negative reviews before purchasing this app. Quality of recording is awful. That totally ruins the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x968c2690)

This product

Classical Music: Essential Collection
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.