Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Closers
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 22, 2005
In Connelly's previous novel, The Narrows, Harry Bosch was seriously considering coming out of "retirement" and returning to service with the LAPD, despite several misgivings, one of which was the entrenched corruption throughout the force. However a new police chief is on board with a mission to clean house. Harry's old enemy, Deputy Chief Irving, a self-serving political player, wants Harry to fail and will do anything to achieve this end. Bosch has been assigned to the Open-Unsolved Unit, (cold cases) teamed up with his old partner, Kiz Rider, a no nonsense police woman in a predominately male domain, embark on an unsolved seventeen year old murder of a young girl, shot through the chest and taken out of her bedroom and dumped in a field. Harry attacks this unsolved murder with calculated zeal, leading to possible corruption in the force, pushing the case to it limits to find the perpetrator. The Closers begins at breakneck speed and doesn't let up until the last page is turned.

Reading The Closers was like meeting an old friend after a year of absence. Harry Bosch is one of the great characters in crime fiction, a man with an incredible sense of justice and an over bearing conscience, that pulls him into trouble from time to time. His relationship with Kiz Rider, as his partner, is a perfect match, as they know each other well, can read each other's thoughts before a word is spoken. Kiz never rides on Harry's coattails, but contributes to the motion, adding her own special skills to the investigation. Harry is older but he's a little smarter, and careful to stay within the bounds of the law. Kiz keeps Harry in line and is there to prevent him from slipping into his old, unorthodox habits.

As a piece of crime fiction, The Closers is by no means a character study, it is entirely plot driven, following Harry Bosch at work to every twist and turn of the case. Connelly knows how to write a crime novel and does not leave anything to the imagination. I have come to believe that the crime genre is an art form all its own, and Connelly has become one of its masters.

This is the real thing. Modern detective fiction doesn't get any better, and in the hands of Connelly, one can be sure the ride will be thoroughly entertaining; and The Closers delivers on all counts - a five star effort.
0Comment| 169 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was my favorite Bosch novel in a long time. From start to finish the book evidences Mr. Connelly's respect for pure police work untainted by political and personal considerations. Chief Bratton has clearly made a positive impact on our author. As a character, Harry Bosch had been kind of drifting--I am glad to welcome him back.

This book is the finest example of a police procedural. It touches on all the major policing issues of the day, local use of the Patriot Act, the "CSI" effect, various social issues, attention to unsolved cases, increased expectations of officers, and still remains faithful to the predecessor works. Granted, you have to know the prior works to fully appreciate the involvement of Deputy Chief Irving and Bosch's newfound peace with his situation but Connelly's plot is rich enough to carry the entire work without the need for Bosch's usual internal conflicts. Besides, I'm sure that Bosch will run into trouble again soon--L.A. has a new mayor and nobody knows what he really believes or what he really stands for (other than re-election.

The masters make their work appear effortless--this work takes Connelly and Bosch to new heights. Do not expect to put it down until you are finished.
0Comment| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2005
Once again, Michael Connelly has caused me to lose sleep. If I open one of his books, I don't rest until it's done. And I've never regretted the sleep deprivation!

The Closers reinforces the reader's belief in Harry Bosch, reunited with Kiz Rider, and their dedication to the victims of murder, regardless of their age at death.

Letting the chips fall where they may is a brave stance and the only modus operandi when Bosch is involved.

My advise, start at the beginning of Connelly's career as a novelist and ride along with Connelly as he develops one of the most incredible law enforcement characters ever!
11 comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The Closers" is a good summer read for devotees of "Forensic Files", "Cold Cases", and "CSI" The tragedy of a young girl's unsolved murder has far reaching consequences for all involved. Michael Connelly writes an intriguing mystery/crime novel and he does it without major violence or needless blood and guts. Detective Hieronymous "Harry" Bosch is a tough skinned , well seasoned cop who is missing an "edge" I really wanted him to have. I enjoyed "The Closers" but really could have done without the procedural overload. It dragged the book down.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2005
This is not one of Connelly's best efforts. Maybe he and Harry Bosch have have exhausted their useful life. Maybe Connelly was just grinding out a journeyman effort. Whatever the reason, this book lacked the punch and excitement of many of Connelly's earlier Harry Bosch novels.

As alluded to above Harry Bosch is back, now a member of a "Cold Case" unit with his old partner, Kiz Rider, who has left administration for the more exciting and rewarding life of criminal investigation.

They are investigating the death of a mixed race 16 year old girl from 1988. His old nemesis, Irvin Irving again appears in this novel as malevolent as ever. Harry's a little rusty and it shows, but, as one might expect, the indomitable Bosch once again prevails.

But the story bogs down, at least for me, in several places. The inner turmoil that makes Bosch such an interesting character was given short thrift in deference to boring police procedures. This book just never seemed to grab hold of me.

It really wasn't a bad story, but the formula just seems a little stale to me now. The novel seemed to lack the heart and soul of earlier Bosch novels. I'd call this a good, but not great, journeyman effort, however not as good as I've come to expect from Connelly
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2005
This is the best Harry Bosch novel in some time and that's saying a great deal. Michael Connelly is a great writer, and as other reviewers have mentioned, has gone back to the basics and the 'core' of Harry Bosch. This book clearly deserves five stars. That said, the early pages of this book reminded me of T. Jefferson Parker's, 'California Girl', an absolutely sensational book. As good as 'The Closers' is, 'California Girl' is the better book - it just doesn't have the great Harry Bosch.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2006
Having only read one other Michael Connelly book, I really didn't know what to expect so I went into this one with an open mind. The main character is Harry Bosch, a formerly retired homicide detective who's brought back into the force to help with the "Open Unsolved Unit" of the Los Angeles police department. Open-Unsolved is another name for "cold cases."

Before I get into this review, let me start by saying that this kind of story is a personal favorite. Bosch is assigned a case where a DNA sample from 20 years ago has a "cold hit" in a murder case. However, the person it matches to, seems to have little to do with the case. Slowly but surely, the case unravels into a fast-paced mystery thriller. The story is written so well, that you literally feel like you're looking over the shoulder of Bosch during the entire investigation.

What's more, in addition to a great plot, the character development is simply excellent. You find yourself feeling an incredible amount of empathy for the victim's family. There's a ton of red herring thrown into the plot to make the murder mystery all the more complex, yet all the more satisfying.

Hats off to Connelly for writing a modern classic!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 17, 2005
Superlatives after superlatives are used to describe the books of Mike Connelly over the years. When reading his books, the reader will immediately realize they are like no other. He is poetic at the same time as being a superlative storyteller. The vast majority of writers simply do not know when to shut down the lyricism and get on with the tale that must be told. Hence, in the middle of a highly compelling beginning the reader is given the following:

"As he read through the catalogs of the city's horrors, Bosch felt a familiar power begin to take hold of him and move in his veins again. Only an hour back on the job and he was already chasing a killer. It didn't matter how long ago the blood had fallen. There was a killer in the wind and Bosch was coming. Like the prodigal son returning, he knew he was back in his place now. He was baptised again in the waters of the one true church. The church of the blue religion. And he knew that he would find his salvation in those who were long lost, that he would find it in these musty bibles where the dead lined up in columns and there were ghosts on every page."

Take that, James Lee Burke! One of the major differences between these two exceptional writers is that Mike Connelly writes a different book almost every time. They might differ in narrative voice or point of view. He might write a series or a stand alone. His next book will be unlike any of the others with more of a legal thriller- perhaps a courtroom drama. This one is a pure police procedural as opposed to a true thriller. There is the usual Connelly twist in the end just to keep things interesting.

Detective Harry Bosch returns to the LAPD. He is assigned to work with an old partner Kizmyn Rider in the Open Unsolved department- old unsolved cases. His first concerns a sixteen year old girl who was found murdered in 1988 behind her home of a gunshot wound. The reason the case is reopened is that the gun found with the girl has some blood from the owner and with new DNA detection techniques, it appears that the elusive killer might finally be identified. Of course, things are never that easy. What follows is a complex police procedual almost in real time as we follow Bosch every step of the way. Once again Mike Connelly shows his mastery in the field of crime fiction by writing one of the best books of the year and possibly one of his best in several years.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2005
this police-thriller really is of its own kind !

If one were to look for a thriller that makes meticulous research,

a hero succeeding by his years of hard-core experience,and,yes,intuition,its centerpiece,rather than violent action and gunslinging,one would have to look no further-it is right here.

This is a masterpiece in a district of the thriller-and-crime genre

that lives off the quiet sounds rather than the bangs,a steady and altogether involving narrative.

Absolutely recommended read !
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 5, 2005
After what I thought were a few just so-so Harry Bosch outings, I was so pleased with this, which I think is one of Connelly's best in some time. Harry is back on the force, paired with Kiz Rider, and assigned to the unsolved case division. Their first cold case involves a sixteen year old mixed race girl who was found murdered near her home seventeen years ago. The killer or killers were never found, and the case was left sitting with many unanswered questions; Questions that Harry is going to find the answers to,despite some secrets that want to stay buried. I guess what made the book so good to me was that Harry seemed so invigorated and refreshed it took the dourness, that I think pervaded some of the previous novels, out. It's just nice to see that after fourteen novels Connelly can still turn out a great read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.