Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and Ethereal
This book resonates with ethereal and otherworldly beauty while delivering an important message.

It begins, "There was once a boy who could weave cloth from the clouds. He had a spinning wheel and a loom on top of a hill. As the clouds p[assed, with a whir of the wheel, he would spin them into thread; gold in the morning with the rising sun, white in the...
Published on May 11, 2012 by Andrew Schonbek

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A moral tale
I found The Cloud Spinner beautifully illustrated with a rather predictable moral slant. Will be a nice book for preschoolers.
Published on December 26, 2012 by sandra noll


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and Ethereal, May 11, 2012
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
This book resonates with ethereal and otherworldly beauty while delivering an important message.

It begins, "There was once a boy who could weave cloth from the clouds. He had a spinning wheel and a loom on top of a hill. As the clouds p[assed, with a whir of the wheel, he would spin them into thread; gold in the morning with the rising sun, white in the afternoon,and crimson in the evening".

The boy, taught well by his mother, "Enough is enough and not one stitch more", is a paragon of quiet wisdom. In this timeless tale he encounters a vain and boastful king whose greed disrupts the balance of everything. The intervention of a brave, resourceful princess rescues the kingdom from impending disaster.

She does so by asking the urgent question, "Is it too late to undo what has been done?"

Masterful illustration by Alison Jay complements the text in weaving this magical modern parable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to be a masterpiece, April 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
I have purchased numerous Caldecott and Newbery award winning books and this one ranks up there with the best of them. Noted illustrator Alison Jay is at the top of her game with this beautiful book. Micheal Catchpool's story is whimsical and heartfelt with an important life lesson to tell. Short enough to keep the little one's attention, but long enough to tell a beautiful story. I bought this along with other beautiful stories like "Plant a Kiss," "Interrupting Chicken," "A Sick Day for Amos MGee," "Boy+Bot" and several Fancy Nancy books - all wonderful books - but the Cloud Spinner stood out among these classics. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful children's story-- with a fantastic, sharp princess!, April 2, 2012
By 
sassymom (San Francisco, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
A lovely children's story with beautiful illustrations and a wise, magical story about the fragile nature of our world and the wisdom needed to protect it.

Our little one loves this story-- the illustrations are detailed and the story provides plenty of memorable lines. Fantastic children's book that is modern but with the charm and pacing of a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spun Magic, October 16, 2012
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
In this lovely, dreamy fable, a wise young boy spins clouds into cloth under the stricture "Enough is enough and not one stitch more." One day a greedy king spies his cloud-woven scarf and wants more, more, more, despite the young boy's warnings. When the king's greed dries up the clouds, it's up to the observant princess and the wise boy to set things right.

Released as Cloth from the Clouds in Britain, this story has a universal appeal for both boys and girls, and works beautifully for a read-aloud. Catchpool employs the stricture from the story, using just enough words to convey the story and "not one [word] more." Further, he understands the need for key (non-annoying) repetitive phases that keep the story anchored, and delivers his message of conservation in a gentle but effective manner. Brilliantly done.

The only book we've read previously by Michael Catchpool is his Where There's a Bear, There's Trouble!, which was (and still is) universally adored by all three of my girls as toddlers. (Susanna, at five, still loves it and I still see the older two pulling it out of the bookshelf to read themselves on occasion.)

Alison Jay's deceptively simple, gorgeous folk art illustrations pair perfectly with this story. The colors are so beautiful. My children delighted in the cloud shapes and the smiling hills. (See the one on the cover?) I have loved her art since I first saw it on the original hardcovers of Shannon Hale's Bayern series (The Goose Girl (Books of Bayern), Enna Burning (Books of Bayern) and River Secrets (The Books of Bayern). Click on the links to see the original covers.)

Bottom line: This book was definitely worth the purchase and I know it will be read again and again in our house.

I nominated this book for the 2012 CYBILS in the Fiction Picture Book category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appealing, beautiful story with a subtle message, April 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
A little boy can weave fantastic cloth from the clouds, drawing different colors from them at different times of the day. His mother has always taught him that "enough is enough, and not one stitch more", but he's ordered to weave more cloth by a greedy king, with dire consequences for the occupants of the kingdom. The princess helps him to make things right.

Truly a lovely story. It's one that I'll be picking off the shelf in hopes that my 4yo will want to hear it. He's asked for it multiple times already after just having it a day or two, so it seems to appeal to both adults and children. The messages are subtle and incorporated into the story, rather than feeling heavy handed, but give a great opening for talking about greed and being happy with enough.

As always, Alison Jay's illustrations are a treat. She always has so many exquisite little details that one can see new things after a dozen reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book with absolutely lovely pictures and a nice little story about making amends for mistakes. It made a nice gift for a friend's toddler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful artwork and an important message, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
Enough is enough - you don't need to live in excess - is a message nearly everyone could stand to hear reiterated. I found the story a tiny bit stilted, but the images are simply beautiful and my 7-year old enjoys them also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tender and moving, April 24, 2012
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
I translated it into Japanese language for my granddaughters.
The parents and adults should learn the sensitivity of contentment and care for other people and the tenderness to the nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Childhood Must Have!, January 27, 2013
By 
Auntie M (Minneapolis, MN, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
This tale is both beautifuly written and beautifully illustrated! It shows the damage of greed and excess in a delightfully imaginative way and it is the wise, young princess that saves the day. How wonderful that a princess would be the heroine, but moreso that she is a child. How sweetly that resonates with my children. Oh, what a perfect book! It reminds me of a more "realistic" version of the Lorax without the rhyme or fictional creatures. Both equally belong on a child's bookshelf. This has all the right ingredients of a true classic and is already a family favorite for us! "Please read it again," my children always ask. I'm always happy to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Book with a Good Lesson, September 21, 2013
This review is from: The Cloud Spinner (Hardcover)
This book is just as lovely as its cover reveals. The artwork is gorgeous, soothing and magical and the story was loved by both my 7 and 4 year old boys. The book itself teaches without being too "preachy" why it's important to take only as much of something as you need, to be selfless and to appreciate the beauty in the world without having to "own" it. Great read and I would highly recommend for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cloud Spinner
The Cloud Spinner by Michael Catchpool (Hardcover - March 13, 2012)
$16.99 $14.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.