Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into the game behind the game
I must admit to approaching this book with some apprehension. I thought it would revolve around justifications for bean balls and steroids. Instead it is a thoughtful and very interesting insight into how baseball players view the game and how it should properly be played. The book really does cover it all. It provides a subject by subject overview of what the code...
Published on July 20, 2008 by R. C Sheehy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur Writing & Common Knowledge
If you're 8-15 years old or know next to nothing about baseball, then this may be the book for you. If you appreciate good writing and/or are already familiar with baseball, then I'd suggest looking elsewhere. This book feels like it was written by a college undergrad in a composition class. The same things are repeated over and over again and the same phrases pop up...
Published on May 9, 2012 by Jacob R. Hoogterp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into the game behind the game, July 20, 2008
I must admit to approaching this book with some apprehension. I thought it would revolve around justifications for bean balls and steroids. Instead it is a thoughtful and very interesting insight into how baseball players view the game and how it should properly be played. The book really does cover it all. It provides a subject by subject overview of what the code more or less is. Granted, we can not treat this like a text book as the code is well not very codified.

The examples given by former ballplayers are intriguing as are all of the historical examples going back to the start of the game. As you might imagine former players do not believe current players have proper respect for the code, but I see that as more generational then anything else. In fact I believe that is something the players themselves note in the book. I also liked the section on cheating and what is OK (stealing signs by observation) and what is not (steroids and using equipment to steal signs). The views of relationships with fans is also very interesting to see.

All in all this is a must read for serious minded baseball fans who would like to broaden their knowledge of the game. My only hope is that the author follows this book up with one about football, basketball and hockey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, August 29, 2009
By 
Dave (Sierra Vista, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Recommended by a friend, the first fifty pages of The Code were kind of disappointing. Then it caught fire! Great book from there on. Played and watched baseball for fifty years and found some stuff I didn't know!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur Writing & Common Knowledge, May 9, 2012
If you're 8-15 years old or know next to nothing about baseball, then this may be the book for you. If you appreciate good writing and/or are already familiar with baseball, then I'd suggest looking elsewhere. This book feels like it was written by a college undergrad in a composition class. The same things are repeated over and over again and the same phrases pop up every 2-3 pages or so. If you really want a good book on this subject, I would suggest checking out "The Baseball Codes" by Michael Duca. It was a much better read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some great stories, a lot of repetition., August 16, 2010
There are some great behind-the-scenes yarns in here that the average baseball fan would never know about. There are some 'codes' that are worth exploring ... reaction to a bunt late during a no-hitter, for example. But he spends the first 50 or 60 pages letting us know, from 20 or 30 people, that beanballs and brushback pitches are all about 'respecting the game.' After about 100 different quotes essentially repeating that thought, I was ready to throw the book at the wall. Some of the later stories are more enlightening and less repetitive. Also, the writer is a big Twins fan, and more than half those quoted are Twins/ex-Twins,etc. It gives the impression of a fan who is just giddy at the chance to talk to his heroes. Like I said, decent material, but I think it belabors its point early and misses the mark overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would have liked more., March 21, 2009
By 
Thought the concept of the book was interesting and decided to purchase on amazon after perusing it in a bookstore. Wish I had paid closer attention in the store as alot of the same players tend to get interviewed chapter after chapter. Also, I found the interview inserts in the middle of every chapter bothersome. Would have liked more current players interviewed. Overall, a tired read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so baseball book, July 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a somewhat easy read, and somewhat enlightening when it came to beanballs and drilling batters in retaliation for violating the code. However, there are better baseball books out there on the other topics. For example, on cheating and steroids, check out "The Cheater's Guide to Baseball".

And to the previous reviewer - yes, the author had previously written a book on the hockey code, which is referenced several times in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh!, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not bad, but this could have been so much better, Way too much time is spent on the whole beanball controversy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Many baseball players are idiot savants. Some are just idiots., November 22, 2011
By 
JOHN GODFREY (Milwaukee ,WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
But they all seemed to have long memories. Disrespect & slights or imagined slights can be remembered for years if necessary. Retaliation is certain & expected. Not retaliating can be seen as breaking the code. In 55 years of fandome, I have been aware of the code for many years in a superficial way. Ron Bernsteins book goes deep into the nuances & brings this inside game to life with humor & some understanding. The main thrust of this dense book of 31 chapters is the art of hitting purposefully the batter & believe me it is an art. The what, where, why & how is infinitely more complex than might at first be imagined. Ignore the code at your own risk if you are a major leaguer. The best part of the book, maybe 50%, is the stories told by players regarding the code. Mr. Bernstein is from Minneapolis so most of the stories are from Twins & former Twins. But that includes greats like Killebrew, Molitor, Kaat & other HOFer's so that's a minor quibble. They talking around the code without actually talking about the code through amusing stories. Whatever you think about the code, hard-core baseball fans will love this stuff. Especially during the long cold winter coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, shows players perspectives, November 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been a baseball fan for 40 or so years and thought I knew it all until I read this book. It explains why certain things [beanballs, HBP, take out slides, etc] happen from the players and managers perspectives. Definitely had a "Minnesota Twins" slant to it. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chin Music, beanballs and beyond!, July 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am relatively new to understanding baseball and have been learning more about the game from my partner who loves it and has lived it her entire life. Baseball is a difficult game to ignore -- and with that in mind I wanted to learn more about the grit and grizzle of the game. I wanted to understand more about the psychology of baseball and why certain things are done the way they are.

Bernstein's "The Code" reads a lot like a documentary. You will find the pages splashed with gray boxes containing dialog from past and present players and coaches on such topics as retaliation, running hard into second base and beanballs (just to name a few).

As you read the book, you begin to understand some of hidden agenda and etiquette in baseball -- they call this "The Code" and it colors the way the game is played. You'll begin to watch your favorite team (for me, the Boston Red Sox) and understand why a player might run stone-faced around the bags after a home run with very little celebration. It's all part of the code. You'll understand why "pussy pads" can be frowned upon and how The Code has evolved throughout the history of the game.

I loved the book. I watch each BoSox game with a little bit more intrigue and understanding on why a certain action that looks retaliatory is done. It's all part of The Code.

If you love baseball and enjoy learning some of the inner workings regarding behaviors and etiquette, I think you'll enjoy this book just like I have.

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Code: Baseball's Unwritten Rules and Its Ignore-at-Your-Own-Risk Code of Conduct
The Code: Baseball's Unwritten Rules and Its Ignore-at-Your-Own-Ris
k
by Ross Bernstein (Hardcover - March 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.