Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intellectual & entertaining--not just a CPA's DVD
Patterns are the narrator's basis of math. He ponders what be believes to be "THE CODE". Unlike the fictional farce `Da Vinci's Code', this code makes some sense--even to the non-math geniuses (like me). But Marcus du Sautoy, Oxford professor that can be understood, visits such interesting places to demo math--like a travelogue almost. It is both intellectual and BBC2...
Published on May 7, 2012 by Harold Wolf

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numbers was quite dumbed down
I was sadly disappointed in Numbers. As someone who knows the subject matter and was looking for a deeper understanding of the constants of nature and the mysteries of mathematics I was severly let down. Although I do suppose that as an introductory video to get the attention of students and such it would work well. Thing is, really what Cooter was talking about...
Published 7 months ago by D. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intellectual & entertaining--not just a CPA's DVD, May 7, 2012
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Code (DVD)
Patterns are the narrator's basis of math. He ponders what be believes to be "THE CODE". Unlike the fictional farce `Da Vinci's Code', this code makes some sense--even to the non-math geniuses (like me). But Marcus du Sautoy, Oxford professor that can be understood, visits such interesting places to demo math--like a travelogue almost. It is both intellectual and BBC2 entertaining--not just for math geeks. Probably mild for the advanced math scholars. Negative numbers is the only non-positive part of this DVD set.

The Code = Math Equations. The code is natural patterns, math, that can be decoded--well, sometimes. Actually it's closer to Leonardo than you might think, for those of us who have studied Da Vinci for real. Google knows `The Code' and uses it constantly.

SDH SUBTITLES for all 3 episodes.
~~1 NUMBERS
Chartres Cathedral --were the numbers used in the structure's architecture from God, as clergy claim? Or a hidden code? Cicada's 13-yr life cycle is also a mystery--and a prime number. Then there is the 17-yr cicada (another prime number). The episode applies numbers to music/sounds. Pi (not pie) is part of the interconnectedness & puzzling Code. Then Marcus tells us about `i' (Imaginary numbers) and as he states: "the mathematical equivalent of believing in fairies." That `i' understood!
~~2 SHAPES
Northern Ireland's Giant's Causeway -folklore & math phenomenon that appears to cross the Irish Sea. Hexagons! Like a bee's honeycomb. What of shapers? Soap bubbles prove economic solutions in nature. Even snowflakes offer a surprise that shows nature's complexity of shapes. Fractal math is fascinating shape use--enter Pixar. A fun segment.
~~3 PREDICTION
Bird migration uses a code -pattern of behavior -for travel. Nature has much predictability -like lunar eclipses. Du Sautoy demonstrates his faith in the power of The Code knowledge and use. But he calls it `the code of chaos.' Random cause and effect can cause a huge change. Learn much about it.
~~BONUS four minutes each of 3 math shorts on Phi, Reproducing, & M.C. Escher, all causing the viewer to want more. Viewer's guide.
Du Sautoy also was responsible for another excellent math documentary series:
The Story of Math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numbers was quite dumbed down, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was sadly disappointed in Numbers. As someone who knows the subject matter and was looking for a deeper understanding of the constants of nature and the mysteries of mathematics I was severly let down. Although I do suppose that as an introductory video to get the attention of students and such it would work well. Thing is, really what Cooter was talking about throughout the bulk of the episode was the Golden Ratio, but it was never talked about. He got close, but never really delved into the full depth of the mystery of it. I mean really how can you talk about the Nautilus and not even bring up Fibonnacci. I was also disappointed to see that the number 'e' was not covered; that's a number that will blow your mind. Perhaps it wasn't covered because you would need to show some math to get to the heart of e, and Numbers was very light on the math. Maybe without the two flashback sequencies they could have put some more info in there.

The detailed description of how music and dis-harmonies work was cool, though. And like I said probably very helpful to get someone interested in the subject matter. But as someone who has been on the lookout for a non-mathematics' tutorial on all the crazyness that is mathematics, this didn't do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd two episodes are great, January 20, 2013
By 
Richard Jones (Jacksonville, Fl United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Code (DVD)
The first episode has a somewhat low density of information. You might want to skip it and then come back or just use clips from it if you are using it in a class room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so so interesting, February 6, 2014
i love science programs and seeing the practical applications of math and science. really interesting, with super good graphics and animations for some of the more esoteric scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got this one for the classroom, February 8, 2013
By 
Tim (Medford, Oregon, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Code (DVD)
This one is great for school. It has a lot of information presented in a format that is interesting and keeps one's attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, January 4, 2014
Well presented in simple terms for those of us who are mathematically challenged.
Covers so much in a few episodes, some of it I knew of and had read about before but the explanations and visual representations of complex theories was easy for anyone to follow.
Just wish there had been more episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough content, January 17, 2014
I wanted this to be more academic. There was too much filler material of scenery and camera work, and not enough actual content. Conclusions that have been drawn were mentioned but not explained. Overall, this was pretty boring and didn't contain much new information I hadn't read about or heard about over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has some good points, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Code (DVD)
I purchased this video to enhance my students' knowledge of numbers and shapes (the first two scenes). The numbers part was quite boring. I fell asleep. It wasn't even interesting. However, once I started watching the shapes part of the video, I truly enjoyed it! This video leaves me asking why there is nothing out there that really puts the pieces together for an average Math person that simply enjoys Mathematics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and informative, February 24, 2014
This was a fun look at how math describes that world around us. I would like to have seen a bit more detail, but I still enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, February 23, 2014
I view a lot of documentary-type programming. This was one I had not seen and found it to be packed full of useful knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Code
The Code by Code (DVD - 2012)
$39.99 $25.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.