Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended.
Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology is a collection of politically charged writings by a diverse variety of authors (all or nearly all of whom are female) concerning violence against women of color, endemic in numerous settings - from domestic violence to institutionalized or even militarized rape committed against women of color crossing the US-Mexico border, legal...
Published on April 6, 2007 by Midwest Book Review

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced
This product is horribly overpriced. The publisher's site sells it for 22 dollars. 160 is unreasonable
Published 3 months ago by Lawrence Godfrey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., April 6, 2007
This review is from: The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology (Paperback)
Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology is a collection of politically charged writings by a diverse variety of authors (all or nearly all of whom are female) concerning violence against women of color, endemic in numerous settings - from domestic violence to institutionalized or even militarized rape committed against women of color crossing the US-Mexico border, legal and illegal immigrant women of color, and women of color in the prison-industrial complex. Other feminist and person of color concerns addressed range from the tendency of state systems to take black children away from their mothers more readily than white children in the same living situations; the profound negative impact that war has upon the lives of women and the culture they live in; discrimination and dehumanization amid domestic violence shelters; and much more. Though some of Color of Violence may lean toward the radical side of social engineering - such as the exhortation "prisons don't work", which ignores the simple fact that a rapist or murderer removed from society cannot continue his violence against society at large while he remains isolated from it - the majority of the essays are biting, candid, and honest in their assessment of very real inadequacies on personal, familial, and governmental levels to promote a safe world for women, as well as how the white, middle-class feminist perspective can actually be deleterious to the needs of women of color. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Important, September 25, 2011
This review is from: The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology (Paperback)
This book is one of the most important things I have ever read. I read a lot of nonfiction surrounding issues of oppression and struggle and this one stands out from the rest. I am white. I appreciate that there are resources out there that I can get access to that will teach me profoundly important and helpful things as this book has. This book is intense. It is triggering at times. It left me somewhat obsessively thinking about the issues inside of it every day afterward. But it is a privilege that I was not already thinking about all of those facets of race and class and ability and sexuality already. I feel that I can not write a favorable enough review of this book. I think people of all backgrounds can get something out of it whether it be huge lessons, or knowing someone understands what you are dealing with. Some of the articles are academic and confusing but I found most to be accessible. Please read this book, especially if you are a person of privilege that this book can teach you about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Classic, November 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology (Paperback)
The Color of Violence is quickly becoming a classic collection of modern feminist thought!

Andrea Smith and Nadine Naber's contributions stand out as some of the most important and interesting material included in this volume. The article contributed by Communities Against Rape and Abuse (CARA) is also a must-read. CARA's work reminds readers that justice for sexual violence is possible outside of the lens of the state.

Some articles rely a little too heavily on privilege analysis and insufficiently explore the possibilities of revolutionary change, but for the most part, this is a brilliant collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent anthology for Violence against Women, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology (Paperback)
This anthology works very well in the undergraduate classroom. Authors focus on grassroots-to-national level organizing around violence against women , and show in a compelling manner through the various case studies, how vital it is to approach the problem through analyzing the intersections of gender with race, ethnicity, and nationality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced, October 8, 2014
This review is from: The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology (Paperback)
This product is horribly overpriced. The publisher's site sells it for 22 dollars. 160 is unreasonable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, December 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology (Paperback)
Was a fine book for my women's study class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Review: Color of Violence, the Incite! Anthology Edited by Incite! Women of Color Against Violence Color of Violence, th, November 8, 2013
This review is from: The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology (Paperback)
I give the book 5 stars. My reasons: The authors express views that are sound, important and infrequently available.
Color of Violence, the Incite! Anthology
Edited by Incite! Women of Color Against Violence

Color of Violence, the Incite! Anthology introduces the reader to an array of topics of particular concern for women of color. The public policies described have an especially damaging impact on African American families and other women of color. But when large segments of our population are marginalized and disadvantaged, all of us are negatively affected, regardless of the color of our skin. Each chapter offers a new author's perspective on the lives of women of different nationalities, genders, identities, economic levels and situations. For readers who are white, heterosexual, English speaking and able bodied, the book offers windows into the lives of women of color that rarely are accessible elsewhere, including, for instance, those who are Arab-American, poor, queer, sex workers, immigrants or unjustly entangled in the justice system.
Very recently, the mass incarceration of black men held for decades in isolation cells has caught the attention of mainstream media, largely as a result of the prisoners' hunger strikes in protest of their appalling conditions. In contrast, little attention has been paid to the dramatic rise in imprisonment of women of color during several recent decades or the mistreatment they routinely endure, which has remained very much in the shadows. Color of Violence provides a long overdue platform for women of color to speak out about sexual assault and other crimes committed against them by local police, INS officers, U.S. prison guards and Mexican-border control guards.
Another form of violence described in the book is sometimes labeled as "the cradle to prison pipeline." It begins when judges, court social workers and psychiatrists unjustly separate women from their children. A chapter on adoption informs readers that black children comprise less than 20 percent of the nation's children, but more than 35 percent of the foster care population. In Chicago, for example, almost all of the children in foster care are black and in New York black children in 2004 were "ten times as likely as white children to be in state protective custody." In some situations even the staff at shelters for abused women contribute to those decisions. Color of Violence urges all feminists to acknowledge that "the racial disparities in adoption are powerful reasons to radically transform the child welfare system, so that it generously and noncoercively supports families."
Though for several decades I have tracked racism and have worked on behalf of women abused by intimate partners, I learned much from reading this book. In thirty chapters a wide range of authors do more than expose the numerous injustices endured by women of color. They call for changes in government policy. White readers such as myself may feel uncomfortable in learning about the many ways cruelty and abuse of women of color are institutionalized by government policies. But new knowledge about large numbers of our population can inspire us to work toward creating humane policies that makes all of us safer. Reading this book has certainly had that effect on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure yet, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology (Paperback)
have not had the time to read it yet. No pictures in it. Hope you enjoy this book regardless. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology
The Color of Violence: The Incite! Anthology by INCITE! Women of Color Against Violence (Paperback - August 1, 2006)
Used & New from: $126.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.