Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ahead of the curve, get this book!
I've seen a few interviews with Mr. Pento on Bloomberg. Jumped at the chance to hear more. I couldn't put it down! This is one of the most well written, colorful books I've read. He covers ALL the complexities of the past market conditions in simple easy to understand analogies. All the players are given unforgettable character. The analogies are amazingly clear and very...
Published 22 months ago by Roddie

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Of A Political Treatise Than How To
If you are interested in a a summary of the horrendous financial situation we are in and one mans opinion of what we need to do as a country, then buy this book. If you are looking for an in-depth examination of where to place your money to preserve it during a coming economic collapse, you should pass. I was expecting the latter and was disappointed. This is really the...
Published 17 months ago by John Bowen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Of A Political Treatise Than How To, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
If you are interested in a a summary of the horrendous financial situation we are in and one mans opinion of what we need to do as a country, then buy this book. If you are looking for an in-depth examination of where to place your money to preserve it during a coming economic collapse, you should pass. I was expecting the latter and was disappointed. This is really the author explaining where he thinks the nations financial problems are and his prescription. Only the last paragraph discusses what you should do with your money, and it's a pretty superficial review at that. You are certainly not going to walk away with a firm grasp of what to do avoid a coming bond market collapse, as the title implies. Also, while I agree with much of the authors opinions regarding where the nation stands financially, he repeats his basic opinions over and over again in each chapter which gets tiring and makes the read much longer than it need be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ahead of the curve, get this book!, April 26, 2013
By 
Roddie "roddie" (SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
I've seen a few interviews with Mr. Pento on Bloomberg. Jumped at the chance to hear more. I couldn't put it down! This is one of the most well written, colorful books I've read. He covers ALL the complexities of the past market conditions in simple easy to understand analogies. All the players are given unforgettable character. The analogies are amazingly clear and very humorous. Oh, and if you want to know how to invest your money before the really tough economic times, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Timing, April 22, 2013
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
Like most good things in life, it's about timing, accuracy and execution. Mr. Pento's book is spot on and invaluable reading as he makes the complexity of todays marketplace easy to understand and possible to make sound decisions around. What else can you ask for? I've seen Michael a few times on CNBC and wanted more...... this is it. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Pento's book, April 21, 2013
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
I was honored to get an advanced copy of the book and gave it my strongest endorsement. There are only two types on Wall Street; Those who say what they think or those who say what they think you want to hear and it sells. Michael is clearly not a member of the latter and I can assure you there are many in those financial ivory towers and in government who don't want the public to know what Michael tells us in this book. In 30 years on Wall Street I can tell you no book I ever read demanded to be read more than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wish I had my $15 back, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
The title of this book and its subscipt are awesome, but don't be fooled. Buying and reading this book will waste both time and money. I read a lot of books about investing, the economy and monetary policy. The Coming Bond Market Collapse is a must-miss. First, the writing is ameteurish. In fact, the author sounds a lot like my Uncle Wilbur on a rant at a holiday dinner. I don't disagree with him, but... snore. Second, the purpose of the book? Primarily, to sell his services as an investment advisor. I learned nothing new. Although he promises to tell the reader how survive the demise of the U.S. debt market, he devotes way too little time to it and doesn't make meaningful suggestions. Same old same old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Understanding, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pento provides the reader with a firm appreciation of the situation we are now in with a tart sense a humor and a generally flowing narrative style. The several instances of awkward grammar and incorrect word usage could have used a better editor, but he still makes his points, some of which strike with the intellectual force of a Hellfire missile. Unfortunately, Pento seems to have been seduced by the powerful understanding that Austrian School economics can provide into believing that he can prophesy the economic future, just like Marxists and Keynesians. This is a common malady of those in the investment world who are introduced to the brilliant insights of this school of thought so abjectly neglected by the mainstream of my field of learning. With regard to his investment ideas, I have great sympathy with his doubts about the applicability of Modern Portfolio Theory now, thanks to the wildly experimental policies of the Federal Reserve. But his tactical suggestions are too numerous for most investors to be able to manage and he fails to appreciate that correlative relationships in the current environment are not static. I think many readers would prefer Pento's humorous story style of where we are now versus David Stockman's forceful and exquisitely detailed analysis of the same situation in The Great Deformation, particularly if they do not have the rigorous financial background to be able to understand the creation of the Zombie Corporations we now have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, shame about the language errors, May 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
This is a good analysis of the current situation the world economy is in, but was marred by the many basic grammatical errors on almost every page. For example: "As bond holder's sense this inevitability"; "decades of profligate government profligacy"; "800 years of data tell us a countries growth rate will falter". The book needs editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and enlightening, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
The author makes a good case for his premise. It is interesting that he expects it to occur much earlier than I had originally thought. However, the US isn't the first country to go down this road, and we can learn from those others who refused to recognize the long run when the laws of economics prevail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, May 31, 2013
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
Pento explains colorfully his basic thesis on the American economy and his opinion of its lofty debt market. His chapters are easy to comprehend and offer amusing stories to engage a reader in what might otherwise be dry economic concepts. It is part financial history, current market observations and wealth preservation strategies, without grandiose of self promotion. I applaud it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No discussion of the Fed's ability to unwind its balance sheet?, February 22, 2014
By 
This review is from: The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market (Hardcover)
As a political economics book, this book deserves a four star rating. As a predictor of the future economy, it deserves two stars at best. I recommend this book, but I suggest reading it in tandem with More Than You Know: Finding Financial Wisdom in Unconventional Places (Updated and Expanded) (Columbia Business School Publishing), which, as you'd suspect, indicates that the economy is too complex for any single expert to predict. Two major issues I have with the book is that there is no discussion of the Fed and govt's emergency saving of economy's meltdown in 2008. A lot of good economists believe the gov't did the right thing at the time. There are also a lot of economists that believe the ensuing QE(s) were appropriate too. The other major issue I have is there is no discussion of the ability of the Fed to unwind its balance sheet. It's a controversial topic, but it's mandatory that it be discussed. The last chapter included a number of silly comments that further caused me to question the author's credibility. For example, Pento proposed a number of changes to govt policy, but, if the gov't followed the Constitution, as the author suggested it do, then his proposals would be irrelevant. I can't end this review without quoting a great passage from this book:
Soft tyranny evolves through dependencies born out of promises made by those in government to take responsibility for your well-being. You trade your freedom and self-sufficiency in return for a vote and get a promise to be taken care of. In order to get elected, more promises are made and you become more reliant on empty promises promulgated by those in power. Today, Greece stands as an example of the pain experienced when people begin to realize promises made cannot be kept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Coming Bond Market Collapse: How to Survive the Demise of the U.S. Debt Market
$29.95 $19.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.