Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pace yourself - lots of laughs ahead!
What a great book. I've always thought there was a doctoral dissertation lurking in cartoons on the pages of the New Yorker, and now I'm sure of it. Look at the difference in style and content across the decades, look at the cartoons that were funny in 1950 and see what is still funny now and what has become outdated, look at the vast changes in cartooning...
Published on September 23, 2004 by portledgesteven

versus
160 of 173 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a MAJOR disappointment!
I should have read more of the reviews here. I wanted this book since the day I spotted it in the bookstore, but held off because of the price. I was particularly anxious to see the 2 CDs. But the cartoons are all LOW RESOLUTION--what a disappointment. I can understand why--they don't want people to be able to print high-res versions...to still have to go to their website...
Published on June 19, 2005 by mileslarboy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 173 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a MAJOR disappointment!, June 19, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I should have read more of the reviews here. I wanted this book since the day I spotted it in the bookstore, but held off because of the price. I was particularly anxious to see the 2 CDs. But the cartoons are all LOW RESOLUTION--what a disappointment. I can understand why--they don't want people to be able to print high-res versions...to still have to go to their website if they want to do that. But they should have announced that on the cover. Really--it is almost sinful. What a RIP-OFF. Read the other comments here about how unreadable some of the cartoons are because of the LOW-RESOLUTION. Really disgusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


149 of 162 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it's partly the cd, February 2, 2005
By 
E Rice (western ny state) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
that brings my rating down to 2 stars.

i have a very advanced, nearly state of the art cpu and monitor. i can't read the captions on the most of the cartoons. they're pertectly legible if i print them out, but that's hardly a sensible solution.

the other part of the low rating is the size of the book. obviously, the book industry has become infatuated with huge tomes lately. i would have preferred two, or even three, volumes of a size that could be read comfortably in a chair or in bed. unless i buy an actual lectern, i have nowhere in my house to put this book where i can read it casually or easily.

as most reviewers do, i love the new yorker cartoons. i'm glad to have the collection, but i wish i could enjoy it more easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Product should not be on the market, January 28, 2005
The book is outstanding (hence one star) but the New Yorker is engaging in a form of fraud for claiming that the CDs contain all the cartoons ever published. In actual fact the CDs are of such low resolution that MANY of the cartoons cannot be interpreted because the caption or even the entire drawing is illegible. If a drawing is too illegible to interpret it is the same as not being included. I love the cartoons of the New Yorker and it was incredibly frustrating browsing the CDs and repeatedly finding cartoons that simply cannot be read. Enlarging them doesn't help. You WILL get a headache. The publisher should retract their claim and remove the illegible cartoons from the CDs. And shame on them for foisting this on those of us who truly love their cartoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book is wonderful, CD's are nearly fraudulent, January 20, 2007
By 
B. Ault (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
IF you want this book almost exclusively for reading the cartoons - on paper - by all means buy it. They are delightful, sometimes laugh-out-loud funny. The cartoons are a terrific history lesson of the culture of the New Yorker reader. For example, while FDR was being re-elected three times by historic margins, the New Yorker reader identified with wealthy characters who couldn't stand his egalitarian economics. Fascinating and funny besides.

IF you are largely looking forward to the CD-ROM's, DON'T buy this book under any circumstances. As reported elsewhere, the cartoons are so poorly reproduced that signs - often essential to the laugh - are completely illegible. Also, sometimes Adobe Reader will obscure cartoons under a gray "filter". The filter doesn't disappear until the magnification reaches 200%, by which time the poor quality is far worse. Also, at 200%, the cartoon is often so large that you can't see the whole thing on your screen. Mind-boggling.

How could "The New Yorker" jeopardize their reputation with these shoddy CD's? I understand their concerns about people re-publishing good copies, but as it stands, these CD's are extremely frustrating and guaranteed to annoy and disappoint. I have had more satisfying experiences with CD-ROM's that came free on a Cheerios box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality of Graphics unacceptable, October 23, 2004
By 
This would have been a great idea, to have all of the cartoons from the New Yorker. But the resolution on the disks is so poor that they are useless. Certainly, the cost of a few more disks (so that the resolution could be adequate) wouldn't have put this book out of the price range for those interested in buying it. It looks as though someone just decided to do the minimum, so that they could claim that all the cartoons are there, with little or no concern about the quality of the images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pace yourself - lots of laughs ahead!, September 23, 2004
By 
portledgesteven "portledgesteven" (Carbondale, IL United States) - See all my reviews
What a great book. I've always thought there was a doctoral dissertation lurking in cartoons on the pages of the New Yorker, and now I'm sure of it. Look at the difference in style and content across the decades, look at the cartoons that were funny in 1950 and see what is still funny now and what has become outdated, look at the vast changes in cartooning!

But most of all, just look at all of these thousands, no, tens of thousands of cartoons and have a good time. The book is gold, with its 2,004 cartoons, and the essays about the decades and the artists are very well done, but if the book is gold, then there's platinum in the CDs.

One thing - if you're a Mac user, as I am, be aware that you really need OSX to make this work (a detail some purchase sites don't mention).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book is excellent; the CD, dismal, February 12, 2005
By 
nil "mf" (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for the promise of "Every cartoon ever published in The New Yorker." But the resolution of 96 pixels/inch is so bad that the point of subtle cartoons is completely lost. If the joke is in the caption, fine. But if the humor is in, for example, the wording of a sign in the cartoon, forget it. You can see there's a sign but there's no way to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL of the best, January 1, 2005
By 
Stargazer Steve (Plymouth Meeting, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is BIG and wonderful. It not only sits on my coffee table, but with a few legs, it could be my coffee table. The best part however are the two CDs. No way could one volume hold all the cartoons ever in the New Yorker. The CDs are great because they can be sorted, searched and you can even print out any cartoon you really like. Do you have any idea how many cartoons Charles Addams drew for this magazine?(715 in the 1929-64 CD alone) You can look at them, and anyone else, and sort in many many ways. I got 2017 hits in the same CD by typing "war" into the search field. What a resource! Just the thing for a winter's evening. The book will even keep your lap warm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great enjoyment of old memories, November 4, 2005
By 
While living in the USA (1955-'61), I regularly bought the New Yorker every week - and one day in 1955, in a pile of trash, I found the first volume of collection of its cartoons some fool had thrown away. It remained one of the most treasured items in my library until it mysteriously disappeared (it surely wasn't me to throw it away again...). So, I've welcomed this book with open arms: to see again the production of Peter Arno, Charles Addams, George Price, Steinweg, and so many others... I've taken off one star from the full complement of 5 because I can't understand why they made the CD-Rom's readable with Windows '95 or '98 and not with XP, which makes me have to use a very old PC. Couldn't they come out with a Windows XP-compatible version of the CD-Rom's? or is it just me who's not familiar enough with PC's? Anyway, all I have to do is to use my old relic. The enjoyment is well worth the price of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for any Charles Addams and Humor Fan!, October 3, 2004
By 
J P Falcon (Fords, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
If you have read the New Yorker Magazine then you really will need no prodding in purchasing this fine set...for those of you who have never experienced New Yorker cartoons, I have two words for you...CHARLES ADDAMS....Charles Addams, the creator of the ADDAMS FAMILY, has many of his finest cartoons housed within this book and CDs....His brand of macabre humor served as the foundation, which Larson, Wilson, Kliban, and the rest, built their careers upon....this intro to Charles Addams work is only one of the many highlights in this set as you will find many other artists of high quality here, some of whom share Addams' dark style....this set, along with THE COMPLETE FAR SIDE, by Larson are the rosetta stones of illustrative humor... One note: Because there were so many cartoons (well over 60,000) you do not have them all present in the book, so only a rather large sampling is contained within...the CD's are where you will find the complete cartoons...but as it states in the book's forward, the tactile look and feel of handling the pages of cartoons is much better than reading them on a pc monitor which is why the book was produced and not just sold as a CD ROM only set...I could not agree more.... strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Cartoons of the New Yorker
The Complete Cartoons of the New Yorker by Robert Mankoff (Paperback - October 8, 2006)
$35.00 $26.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.