Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Complete Guide to Affiliate Marketing on the Web: How to Use It and Profit from Affiliate Marketing Programs
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 6, 2009
This book is a must have for anyone who seriously wants or is toying with the idea of Affiliate Marketing. Brown takes you through the entire process from getting started to choosing a software application right for you to how to market and promote your site. He explains the ins and outs of Affiliate Marketing on the Web in language anyone can understand, even if you're not smarter than a fifth grader.
Do you know the difference between residual and flashflood traffic techniques? How about pay per click as opposed to pay per lead? I didn't. However, after reading this book I certainly have been educated in the lingo associated with Affiliate Marketing. Brown also manages to take the guess work out of Google.
You don't have to be a web designer to apply the techniques, but if you're somewhat computer savvy it's beneficial. Brown doesn't present a get rich quick scheme, but instead delivers a sure fire way to get more traffic to your site and more money in your pocket. He doesn't lead you down the garden path and his book will definitely help you travel the road to success.
11 comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2009
Bruce Brown's The Complete Guide to Affiliate Marketing on the Web is a crash course for those who want to learn how to successfully host an affiliate program on their Web sites or join an affiliate network. This book provides an in-depth look at all of the basics of affiliate marketing, including managing, promoting, and growing programs; helping affiliates who are technically challenged, managing cookies, developing multi-tier marketing, and writing a marketing plan. It's clear the author has a firm grasp of where affiliate marketing is today and where it's likely to be headed over the next few years.

I was worried that this subject would be too technical and, therefore, hard to learn. Fortunately, the author provides simple, step-by-step, easy-to-follow instructions for novices who are learning how to become affiliates. He also describes how to maximize search engine optimization, how to become a power affiliate, affiliate mistakes, and effective ways that to deal with click fraud and scumware (commission stealing applications).

The book is chock full of useful resources regarding website development techniques that will enhance affiliate marketing programs, the best software to use (and it's often free), and ways to select the most reputable affiliate programs. Also, the last part of the book features case studies and interviews with several experts in the field--I learned a lot from reading what they had to say. Though the book is big (nearly 400 pages), I found reading The Complete Guide to Affiliate Marketing on the Web to be profitable and worthwhile, and I would highly encourage anyone who is interested in a good introduction to the subject to read this book.
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2010
If you are completely new to affiliate marketing, you will appreciate the overview, advice, and pointers. For me the book was way too basic and was not polished (lacking solid editing) like I expected from a book available on Amazon. It promoted a few affiliate management software products which felt salesy and out of place. I agree with the comments that the content switched back and forth between being an affiliate and running an affiliate program for your site. The book was OK and serves a purpose, so 3 stars is my review.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2009
Affiliate marketing is a profitable, web-based advertising method in which internet merchants pay independent third parties to promote their products or services. While Amazon.com developed it, it is available to any business, and The Complete Guide to Affiliate Marketing on the Web provides six steps to developing a successful web marketing campaign to increase web visitors and sales. Case studies supplement the practical tips in a guide perfect for any business library catering to web-based businesses.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 6, 2010
Affiliate marketing is like getting a turn-key business without any investment. While others invest hundreds in a MLM, you can make an equal amount of money with no cash outlay.

Companies today are spending less on traditional marketing and funneling more cash toward affiliates that are producing results. I know of many individuals that make an above average income with one or two affiliate programs.

This book is well researched and will provide you all the tools you need to produce an immediate income in an affiliate program. Keep in mind that just signing up for an affiliate program will never guarantee success. You need marketing techniques that work. This book will walk you step-by-step in a marketing plan that will generate results.

This book is not about theory, but about practical tips and tricks that generate cash.

I highly recommend this book for anyone that wants to succeed in any affiliate program.

James Garton

Author of 25 Ways to Make Money Online
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2009
This book begins with a quote from the Godfather: "In war there is no substitute for victory." While that seems like an unusual opening to a marketing text, this book is very hard-hitting and aggressive, insisting that if you want to make this style of marketing work, you have to go for it - but that profiting from such marketing is attainable.

Beginning with basics and soon delving into technical nitty-gritties such as meta-tags, web site optimization and other technical nuances, necessary for such aggressive marketing campaigns as this book is touting.

Finishing out this guide with "Affiliate Mistakes" and case studies makes this book a great resource for anyone wanting to make a living from their laptop, or even those who already have a successful business and simply need a better marketing resource in a "Web 2.0" world.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2010
I just got finished reading Affiliate Marketing on the Web. Having been in the Internet Marketing business for almost 10 years, I must say that this was one of the best books I've read on Affiliate Marketing from both the merchant's and publisher's side. If you are looking for a book that gives you specific recommendations and pros and cons on which type of affiliate program you are seeking to deploy or participate in, this is the book for you!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2010
If you run a company that has a product that you want to sell through affiliate marketing, this is the book for you. It has a tremendous amount of great information about setting up and running such a program.

If, on the other hand, you are someone who wants to market someone else's products, this book probably isn't for you. Yes, the book does mention those of us who want to get into that side of affiliate marketing. But that's about all. There is a small chapter that sort of discusses that side of the business. But if you want nitty-gritty information about how to get into the business of being an affiliate, you'd be better off looking elsewhere. Gardner's "Make A Fortune Promoting Other People's Stuff Online" is much better for information about marketing as an affiliate.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2011
As an affiliate manager for a company that has over 20K affiliates, I can tell you that yes... this book has some good information. If you are totally new to affiliate marketing, you will learn all the basics. BUT... if you already have a good hold on what affiliate marketing is and are looking for some deep stuff.... move along.

Good for newbies, boring for those who are intermediate to pro. That's about it in a nutshell.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2009
I just received this book in the mail not too long ago, and although I haven't been able to put it down I find the organization a little confusing. I am very new to affiliate marketing. I mean, I know how to use HTML, blog, etc but I am no techie. I can follow directions without a problem, but what I find confusing about the book is that the author goes back and forth with information for individuals who want to become affiliates (and sell other people's products) and individuals who have products to sell (who are considering enlisting affiliates to sell for them) and for a newbie it gets confusing. I admit that even when I was trying to figure out if I should buy the book I couldn't really figure out who it was for. I would rather deal with one side or the other at a time in one book, but not both.

There are some things that are confusing to a newbie such as "affiliate tracking" that isn't clearly explained, but (I'm old school) I have noticed that it is typical of writers in this day and age to assume that the readers understand most everything the author is talking about. Even when I took web design classes at a local college the instructors assume ALL students are millenials (I'm a gen X) and will not explain in more detail unless asked.

Though I like the book and would recommend it, I have been on the hunt basically for an instruction manual (haven't found one yet and don't think I will in this day and age). But the author does give good info about getting into affiliate marketing on both sides. Though I recommend it, it won't be the last book I buy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse