Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to navigate set of Austen's novels for Kindle
Of course Jane Austen's novels merit 5 stars, and this particular ebook set is a very nice compilation of all them, including Lady Susan. While free versions of Austen's work abound, the advantage to this set is having the ability to move around easily inside the books. With plenty of links and navigating features, a simple swipe or touch allows you to go from book to...
Published 20 months ago by Jaylia3

versus
60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent collection but nothing special
The quality of this collection is pretty decent. They are hardbacks and the bindings look to be sturdy. The "ribbon" for a bookmark placement is a nice homage to the era, as is the interior of the box.

I am a Jane veteran, and have read her stories throughout the years. I personally don't find the illustrations add much value. They aren't always of essential...
Published 21 months ago by Epilady


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent collection but nothing special, November 13, 2012
This review is from: The Complete Novels of Jane Austen: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Persuasion, and Lady Susan (The Heirloom Collection) (Hardcover)
The quality of this collection is pretty decent. They are hardbacks and the bindings look to be sturdy. The "ribbon" for a bookmark placement is a nice homage to the era, as is the interior of the box.

I am a Jane veteran, and have read her stories throughout the years. I personally don't find the illustrations add much value. They aren't always of essential scenes or of sufficient quantity that they add much to the books. I prefer the leatherbound series offered by a competitor. However, it's difficult to get Lady Susan in hardback or leatherbound. If you're not familiar with Lady Susan, it's definitely worth a read - it tells the story using documents (letters, diary entries, etc) - and one of her wittiest "novels".

It's also difficult to justify this price for a non-leatherbound item for literary works that are in the public domain. If a reader isn't tied to a physical book, all of the titles can be read via an e-reader for very low cost or free.

For die-hard collectors, it's not a "must have" item. However, if there is someone just starting to discover Ms Austen's work, this would be a decent gift set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to navigate set of Austen's novels for Kindle, December 22, 2012
By 
Jaylia3 (Silver Spring, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Of course Jane Austen's novels merit 5 stars, and this particular ebook set is a very nice compilation of all them, including Lady Susan. While free versions of Austen's work abound, the advantage to this set is having the ability to move around easily inside the books. With plenty of links and navigating features, a simple swipe or touch allows you to go from book to book or chapter to chapter. There are not a lot of illustrations, but the ones the books have display nicely even on a black and white Kindle screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Novels of Jane Austen: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Persuasion, and Lady Susan (The Heirloom Collection) (Hardcover)
I am extremely happy with this set! A price that was outstanding! For a magnetic box, all the books (in hard cover!) All with gorgeous covers. I am extremely happy. Anyone that is a lover of Jane Austen or reading should buy this set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, a true treasure to own., July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Novels of Jane Austen: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Persuasion, and Lady Susan (The Heirloom Collection) (Hardcover)
These books are simply beautiful, everything from the box that houses them to pages themselves. the books are embossed and each is a lovely pale shade of color and adorned with roses, scroll work and a ribbon bookmark. They are very large and heavy books and fit beautifully in their box. The box itself is adorned with quotes and beautiful silhouettes of a chandelier, horse and carriage and tea table with chairs. Beautiful to display and to read. I am delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen Complete!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have accumulated several Jane Austen ebooks from a variety of sources, most of which have been sitting somewhere on a cloud, unopened. I gladly purchased this one for my Kindle library, because it is optimized for taking advantage of the Kindle features across all my readers. Now I can delete the previously acquired Jane Austen ebooks as I come across them. Four stars (it is an inanimate object, after all - hard to "love" it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic hitherto unread, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a discovery at 63 years of age! I recommend it to all and everyone. Get it right away! You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Books!, December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Novels of Jane Austen: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Persuasion, and Lady Susan (The Heirloom Collection) (Hardcover)
These books are very nice with illistrations throughout the books too! I bought these as a Chirstmas gift on Cyber Monday (as they were cheaper than buying each book separately), but now I am starting to want to keep them for myself as I own all of Jane Austen in one volume and prefer having each book separate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Novels of Jane Austen, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Novels of Jane Austen: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Persuasion, and Lady Susan (The Heirloom Collection) (Hardcover)
I am happy with this set of novels because I love Jane Austen's wit and satire and the old-fashioned appearance of the covers and pictures. The print is large enough for me, which is always a concern when I order books online, but it seemed to me that the pages were not very securely fastened to the bindings. I had to be extremely careful in handling them and will therefore not be too eager to lend them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and Adorable!!, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Novels of Jane Austen: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Persuasion, and Lady Susan (The Heirloom Collection) (Hardcover)
Love and adore this box set! The only issue I had though was that the box was ripped from the sides but since I work at a library, that's not a problem for me to fix. Thank you sooooooo much! ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Beautiful!!!, July 30, 2013
This review is from: The Complete Novels of Jane Austen: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park, Persuasion, and Lady Susan (The Heirloom Collection) (Hardcover)
Just got this a few days ago...so beautiful. The covers are so pretty and femenine. It makes you wanna read all of them at the same time. The bookmarks are very well made and do not stick off. I would defenitely recommened this to any classic reader out there!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.