Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Gazeteer
Richard Wilkinson has written one essential book - "Reading Egyptian Art" which belongs on the shelf of anyone who is interested in Ancient Egypt. "Temples of Ancient Egypt," although worthwhile, is not that book. Temples is a gazeteer, which is to say, a book that describes the essential sites in Egypt, arranged by geography. This is all very...
Published on September 9, 2000 by Michael Gunther

versus
68 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Survey
This book is worth half its price for the photgraphic survey of Egyptian temples alone. In this manner it maintains the quality of its predecessors, 'Complete Valley of Kings,' etc. However, from a scholarly standpoint, the book was a bit disappointing. For example, the title "Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt," is simply an overstatement. Many small but...
Published on July 7, 2000 by troytron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Gazeteer, September 9, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
Richard Wilkinson has written one essential book - "Reading Egyptian Art" which belongs on the shelf of anyone who is interested in Ancient Egypt. "Temples of Ancient Egypt," although worthwhile, is not that book. Temples is a gazeteer, which is to say, a book that describes the essential sites in Egypt, arranged by geography. This is all very well, and competently done, but Baines and Malek ("The Cultural Atlas of the World: Ancient Egypt") have done it first, and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Survey, July 7, 2000
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
This book is worth half its price for the photgraphic survey of Egyptian temples alone. In this manner it maintains the quality of its predecessors, 'Complete Valley of Kings,' etc. However, from a scholarly standpoint, the book was a bit disappointing. For example, the title "Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt," is simply an overstatement. Many small but significant sites are completely left out (Kom Mer, El Qua'la, etc.) Further, the author frequently makes no attempt to mention which god or goddess owned the temples in his survey. For example, he could have noted that the great lost temple at Antaeopolis was dedicated to Antiwey...a Horus/Set fusion. He could have noted the Temple of Nephthys and Anukis at Kom Mir, etc. Indeed, in most of his articles, he merely skims over the temples without any depth (save for the most famous ones: Philae, Karnak, Edfu, etc.). I found the information to be very basic, and had been looking forward to greater scholarly detail about the history of each temple, the deity of each temple, and more obscure temples mentioned (which are often just as fascinating as the great sanctuaries). There are also a number of errors in the information. All in all, a lavishly illustrated book for the average Egyptophile, but not very satisfying to the advanced Egyptophile. If you're going to spend a great deal of money, I would recommend Stephen Quirke's absolutely fascinating 'The Temple in Ancient Egypt.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Temples and More, July 19, 2000
By 
C. A. Ausec (Tucson, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent addition to the "Complete Tutankhamun", "Complete Pyramid", and "Complete Valley of the Kings" series. As a student of Egyptology, with a special interest in the religious aspects of the society, I found this book to be an excellent addition to my reference library. It is filled with color photographs, charts and information in a clear easy to follow layout. This book features not only information on the architectural lay out of individual temples and sanctuaries of Ancient Egypt, it also provides a valuable overview to evolution of the temple in Egypt, the function of the temple in Egyptian society, Egyptian deities and cults as well as the role of kings and priests. The blending of information on the symbolism, function and architectural aspects of temples makes this a "must have" reference, which I will go back to again and again. If you have an interest in Ancient Egyptian society this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Story of Temples, July 26, 2001
By 
Carolyn P. Scott "webhotep2" (Oakland, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
No other volume manages so comprehensive a detailing of the temples of ancient Egypt--their history, lore and design. There are color and black and white photos, maps and floor plans, but most importantly, the text documents the historical development and significance of each site it references.
The concise narrative covers the entire system of temple monuments, such as the Temples at Karnak, Luxor, Dendera, Kom Ombo, Edfu, Giza and Abu Simbel. But, this is no tourist guide to temple sites. The casual reader may find the detailed discussion of such subjects as building materials and construction methodologies a bit dry. This is a must-have for the student of Egyptology and the religion and art of the ancient world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pharonic Temple Extravaganza!, June 18, 2000
By 
Chris Milton (Yeovil, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
This book is a must for anyone with a interest in Ancient Egyp, whether studying Egyptology or planning a Nile Cruise. This book is filled with excellent full colour photographs and illustrations to provide an extra insight into the wonders of this ancient civilization. The clear layout makes this book a brilliant reference book and is easy to browse through. Have you ever purchased a Egyptain book and wanted to see and read about all of the temples not just the famous ones? If yes, this book is for you.
A enjoyable read, and now has pride of place in my book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good pictures, Good information, and Good layout, December 28, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
Yes, this is definitely far better than the other book in this series, namely, the complete valley of the kings.
this book is quite extensive and tries to include a picture on each of the temples discussed, i.e. if the temple or its ruins are still there. It is also not full of black and white pictures - i understand the artistic value of these type of pictures but egypt is full of colour!
all the sites are accompanied by well written descriptions and a brief history. Again, i am always careful about what egyptology writes about ancient egypt since i still believe there is a lot of conjecture which tends to be presented as fact. for example: the symbolic nature of the temples seems to be covered well by the book but one should probably read such infor as logical hypothesis rather than reasonable fact - it is rare that authors say the infor comes from an ancient papyrus!
all in all, it is indeed a complete guide to the temples of ancient egypt and worth collecting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly written, illustrated and presented Egyptian history, September 6, 2000
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
The Complete Temples Of Egypt is a superbly presented introduction to the architecture and religious rites of Egyptian temples from the early pharaonic times down to the Roman period. Richard Wilkinson does a truly masterful job in this fully illustrated survey of Egyptian temples which includes the monuments at Karnak, Luxor, Abydos, Edfu, Philae, and the temples along the Nile river. Careful attention is paid to temple construction and decoration, the function and meaning of each part of the temple, the roles of pharaohs and priests, as well as temple feasts and festivals. A very highly recommended addition to any personal, professional, academic, or public library Egyptology collection, The Complete Temples Of Egypt has a highly accessible text which is profusely enhanced with maps, plans, tables, and even includes a guide for visiting the major sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive, and encyclopedic, July 6, 2000
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
Having bought and read the equally comprehensive complete guide to the pyramids, which is another book in this series, I just had to buy this also. I am glad I did. This is another encyclopedic book containing information, photos, histories, site plans, diagrams and anything else you can think of for all the temples in Egypt. In an age when most books give snipets of information on only the best known sites this book and the others in the series are invaluable research and information sources. Having been to Egypt, I would have loved to have had this book available at the time so that I could have visited other sites, that I now know of. Hopefully, I will go back again, and shall bring this superb book with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not complete, but very useful, February 24, 2011
By 
J. Jones (Renton, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
As other reviewers have pointed out, the survey of temple sites is rather cursory, and "complete" is an overstatement. However, nearly half of the book is taken up by general temple information: how they developed, how they were built, their religious importance, the state of temples today, et cetera. In these sections there are a few basic facts that other, more scholarly books overlook, because scholars often get bogged down in the minutiae that they're studying. Wilkinson is a scholar, but he (or the Thames & Hudson editor) has the ability to focus on the essentials better than most. So no, this book is not complete, but it's closer to being complete than any single book on the subject in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Introduction, June 18, 2001
By 
Nagato (Denver, Colorado) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
For a newcomer to Egyptian history and culture like myself, this book is a wonderful introduction to the subject. Wilkinson first explains the role and function of the temple in egyptian society, and describes the common features within the temples. The reader is then escorted up the Nile for a temple-by-temple description of remaining sites, all well-illustrated with pictures. Before I picked up this book, the only thing I knew about this subject was that there was a wonderful old temple at a place called Karnak. Now I feel that I have a pretty good overview of all that is out there, from the Old Kingdom to the New, from the Nile Delta to Nubia. I'm not sure that this book would satisfy veteran egyptologists, but I enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt
The Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt by Richard H. Wilkinson (Hardcover - May 2000)
$39.95 $25.66
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.