Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST BOOK EVER written on the subject!, August 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
This book is by far the best book EVER written on Antique Chocolate Molds! It is positively gorgeous! The author, Wendy Mullen, added in depth, wonderful information about the history of molds and the lives of the families of the mold makers themselves, making it a fascinating book to read. She clearly has a love of history!

The book is filled with beautiful pictures of these exquisite molds. I LOVE how Ms. Mullen included so many examples of the different techniques that can be used with these wonderful "Objects of Art." From the candles, paper mache, soaps, and candy to the beautiful painted chalkware, all molded from these antique molds, this book is a joy to read. It was exciting to see that so many different and talented artists also contributed their work to this worthy undertaking!

I also really enjoyed the step by step photos illustrating how candy makers actually use these molds to mold beautiful chocolates today. In addition, the photos of the molded chocolates commissioned especially for this book were absolutely gorgeous and exquisite!! With so many ways to use these antique molds, I believe this book could cause even an ordinary, non-collector of molds to be excited about collecting and using these wonderful treasures from our past.

This book, The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds, is another fine example of the talented author and historian, Wendy Mullen's work! I look forward to seeing what other unique pieces of history she will unveil for us in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over 1300 photos of such antiques with discussions of all kinds of molds, October 6, 2005
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
Wendy Mullen's The Comprehensive Guide To Chocolate Molds: Objects Of Art & Artist's Tools more than just a collector's price guide, Wendy Mullen, chocolate maker for 15 years, delves into the history of antique chocolate molds and their design and production, packing over 1300 photos of such antiques with discussions of all kinds of molds. Topped by an interview with the great-granddaughter of one of the best German mold specialists in history, Anton Reiche, The Comprehensive Guide To Chocolate Molds is unparalleled in depth and detail: there's simply nothing like it on the market, past or present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate Gifts as Art and Beyond Easter Bunnies, March 30, 2006
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
Wendy Mullen found her first chocolate mold over fifteen years ago and loves writing about chocolate. She has published articles about chocolate molds and this book displays a wide array of antique chocolate molds that include everything from Easter eggs to cats and angels. There are molds for butterflies, bunnies, frogs, turtles, goats, roosters, pigs, lambs, dogs, elephants, teddy bears, deer and just about any other animal you can think of including storks, seals and stylized dolphins. Fairy Tales are also featured and you can may enjoy seeing a Hansel and Gretel house, Red Riding Hood and Snow White Scenes.

All the prices are included so you can have an idea of how much you want to spend if you go looking for these molds. All the main holidays are represented, as are unique items like the the Krampus mold familiar in Austria. Neptune also appears and then there are may pages of Santa. If you love collecting Santa items, there is page after page. Christmas takes up at least one fifth of the book and is perfect for getting ideas if you make chocolates for Christmas. There are snowmen, angels, Christmas ornaments and even manger scenes.

Even if you don't want to go looking for a three hundred dollar scallop shell, at least you can get ideas for what you want to go find online. Many of these molds seem to be useful for candy making and for making soaps.

Additional creative finds at the end include hearts in a postcard style which are very beautiful once painted or if you use three types of chocolate. There are castles, temples, crowns, shoes, cars, boats and even hot air balloons.

A special "Collector's Tips and Closing" section shows how to purchase antique chocolate molds, explains how they must be cleaned and handled to prevent rusting.

From the information in this book, you could actually buy a new chocolate mold that looks antique. Additional information on suppliers is briefly discussed. To find most of the molds, you only need to do an Internet search because all the items have collection information and the names of the specific items.

As a coffee table book this is highly entertaining, but the usefulness factor is especially enjoyable because of the way the book is organized. A lovely gift or a research tool for your own journey of chocolate art.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Comprehensive Guide To Chocolate Molds, January 20, 2008
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
I absolutely love The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools. It has beautiful photographs of molds with their values. This was of great interest to me since I have a mold collection. Also I use my molds for chalkware and have for more than 15 years. It was exciting to see photos of other chalkware artists' work. In all I love the book and hope Wendy comes out with Volume Two as there are many more molds to cover. Thanks, Carol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools, March 22, 2006
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
this book was well worth the money, it was well done. very informitive, unique and happy to own it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another MUST HAVE book for anyone collecting chocolate molds; so many pictures along with values that are a great help., May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
Besides all the beautiful pictures of the most gorgeous chocolate molds ever made; true works of art, the information in the book is also invaluable. It is a great help when collecting molds to help in finding the fakes versus the real deal and in what is a reasonable price to pay for them. A real joy to read and just look at the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference, September 27, 2013
By 
R. Gilbert (Kenosha, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
The book is filled with hundreds of good quality photos and pricing information. Having a number of books like this on other subjects, I know that the prices aren't always current, but the diversity of the molds and the care with which they are detailed makes this a must-have for the serious collector. Besides, the author, Wendy Mullen, is extremely helpful if you have a question about molds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative on chocolate moulds...., February 6, 2007
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
I have enjoyed the book on chocolate moulds and it is very informative for the antique moulds. I would recommend this book and am happy that I ordered it. It has many pages of information and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Antique Chocolate Mold book, February 26, 2009
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
I love my book. It is full of so much history regarding the chocolate molds. I enjoy all the pictures too, and finding out about the molds being used for Chalkware. The book arrived quickly and in great shape.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate Molds, April 10, 2010
By 
MOE (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comprehensive Guide to Chocolate Molds: Objects of Art & Artists' Tools (Schiffer Book for Collectors) (Hardcover)
I purchased this for a friend that collects Molds
She is very pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.