Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it A. Sinclair Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2005
I can't even believe that folks actually thought this was a funny movie. It had a few moments, and I mean a few, but it just wasn't enough to justify paying 19 bucks for this. The concept was a good one cuz anybody in the african american community knows what it's like when we have "our" family cookouts anuually. However, along with a great idea came miscasting. For one, how does Ja Rule, Eve, or even Quran Pender (who I've never heard of) get casted for a movie like this when it's clear they cannot act. Meagan Good went from the cute sassy girl on Eve's Bayou to now playing hoochies on a regular? Secondly, how do you cast Queen Latifah, Danny Glover of all people, Farah Fawcett, Tim Meadows, and the beautiful Jennifer Lewis and Frankie Faison, all veteran actors and actresses who's been in the game a long long time and instead of creating a script and letting them enhance the script, Lance Rivera makes them look bufoonish. Well, there you have it, Lance "um" Rivera. Lance stick to making videos and leave the big screen to real directors. They should have never entrusted a cast that i just mentined to an amatuer like Rivera. A wasted script with quality actors and actresses. Yes, it's a matter of opinion and this opinion states that this movie stinks.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2005
i typically don't write bad reviews, but this was just aweful. i didn't crack a smile the entire time i watched it. instead i just got more pissed off by the moment. i don't blame any of the actors/actresses for this because it wasn't their fault, except for maybe danny glover for accepting such a rediculous role as a white bred black guy who is scared of other black people moving into the neighborhood, but then dramatically changes into the thing he hates after smoking some weed. it was a shame that this one even got off the editting room floor. BUT if you like movies where stereotypes are running wild, this one is for you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2006
This movie was full of stereotypical characters that you really don't care about. I don't think there is one original idea in this film.

Just a few stereotypes that stood out were:

- The young black guy getting drafted, as if that is all that young black guys aspire to.

- The young attractive goldigger girlfriend

- The overprotective mother and goofy father

- Once blacks move into the neighborhood all of their family come, which are always ghetto, and take over the neighborhood

- The "cool" white guy that is down with everyone.

Geez!

Now moving on to the predictability:

- From the getgo, did we not know that he would get picked?

- It was so obvious way before Eve came in the picture that the goldigger girlfriend would get dropped and that Eve would get the guy.

There was no real substance to the film, so other than those 2 points, nothing else was really going on. Farah Fawcett??? Why???

I really don't think that I laughed once the entire film. The characters that Queen Latifah and Danny Glover played were just plain embarassing. So over the top and NOT funny. I really don't like this film and probably will never watch it again.

I really like the lady that plays the mom (can't remember her name), Queen Latifah and Danny Glover, but I cannot recommend this film. Don't waste your time.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2006
This movie was not funny at all. I was very dissapointed. No wonder it dissapeared from the theaters as quickly as it appeared. Great talents like Jennifer Lewis, Danny Glover, Farrah Fawcett and the incomparable Queen Latifah wasted their respectable and impecable talents on this boring flick. Jennifer, Danny, Farrah and Latifah, I forgive you!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2014
This is a parody of someone who is a high school and college star that is about to hit it big in the NBA! He buys a house in a gated community and the fun starts there! Queen Latifah, the late Farrah Fawcett and Danny Glover round out the cast. You will be laughing from the beginning until the end. I have watched it more than twice and continue to laugh. I saw this on cable and decided to buy it because it is so funny and outlandish!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2006
I read everyone's review.

Yes. I know its "stereotyped" and "predictable" but it doesn't mean its not funny. I went out to blockbuster and rented this movie. When I came back, my friends groaned.

"Thats the blackest movie ever!" "You should have played it save and rented Dude Where's My Car." But in the end, everyone loved it. Brittany does get VERY annoying, and one of the best parts of the whole movie is the security guard and the Crowley's.

The things in between. Name any other movie that has a full throttle security guard who cleans her glass and kisses it everyday. Now, we watch this movie all the time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2010
When Todd Anderson signs a $30 million deal with his hometown team, the New Jersey Nets, he knows that his life is set for a big change. To keep things real, he decides to throw a barbeque at his place just like the ones his family used to have. But when you have new and old friends, family, agents, and product reps in the same house, things are bound to get crazy. This movie had a good message about being responsible and down to earth even after hitting pay dirt. The Cookout is a ok movie, if you take if for what it is.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2006
This movie was so bad that I got up and left the theatre before it was over. To call this movie boring would be an insult to boring movies. So many talented actors, so little entertainment. Please don't waste your time on this one. You'll probably come out better watching paint dry. Believe me, that would be far more entertaining.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
The talent associated with this should be embarrassed that they ever agreed to be part of it.. I can't tell what's worse: The bad script, the no sense of timing direction, the horrible story or the bad acting. It's all so horrible. Not one laugh to be found in this sad stereotypical mess. It's right up there in the same league with Soul Plane..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2005
Oh yes, this movie is just a waist of time. the cookout made me love fast food even more. do youre self a favor dont wach this movie...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.