Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

82 of 89 people found the following review helpful
on February 9, 2010
If you want to improve your writing skills for print or the web, this is the book that you need to own. This book is all steak with the fat trimmed off, powerful tips and techniques with absolutely no fluff.

While some of the techniques included in the book aren't unique to copywriting guides, Bly offers his own effective spin on them. In the first 60 pages alone, you're treated to a goldmine of tips on writing effective headlines and crafting easy-to-read copy. Bly tackles copywriting methods for direct mail, catalogs, brochures, websites, and even press releases. Unlike most books on copy, Bly provides great advice on writing for TV commercials and radio spots.

As a Search Engine Optimization guru, I found Bly's take on writing web copy to be extremely refreshing, even if it wasn't new information to me personally. I loved that this was probably the only copywriting book that actually stresses finding the balance between writing copy that sells, and copy that is search engine friendly. Most web design books don't discuss copywriting, and most copywriting authors have no knowledge of writing for search engines. Bly certainly did his homework.

This is an excellent guide for writing copy, especially if you're writing for websites. This book is probably the best investment that you will ever make.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2009
This book is mainly geared towards people wanting to learn hard sell direct response advertising. Sales letters and web advertising are its main focus. There are chapters on other forms of advertising such as brochures and white papers, but IMHO there are other more effective books on soft sell methods.

As for the comments dinging the Bly on his comments about creative advertising... Yes, there is a place for creativity in advertising, but the creativity should never obscure the main purpose of advertising, which is to sell products. As a copywriter, your job is to write the words that get people to pull out their wallets and buy. Are there ads that are both effective and creative? Of course. However, for a copywriter, effective should always come before creative. Never forget that you're playing with other peoples' money, and advertisers want the best bang for their buck.

Note that there have been some revisions for the 3rd edition. The section on computer equipment have been removed. No big loss there, since by definition the technology would be outdated by the time the book went to print. The chapter on freelancing has also been omitted, since Bly devotes an entire book to freelancing, Secrets of a Freelance Writer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on July 28, 2007
Before I started my own copywriting business years ago, this one was my first books on the subject. And I still refer back to it periodically. Bob Bly is a copywriting legend who is well-known for making the fundamentals of writing great copy easy to understand. Whether you're thinking about a writing career, or just need to make your marketing materials more effective, this is the perfect primer for anyone who wants to learn how to write to sell!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on November 3, 2012
The knock that some reviewers gave on this book is that its just contains basic copywriting principles for beginners. Have you guys noticed a lot of the print and television advertising? Mostly cute, gimmicky filler that doesn't do the job of selling products. I remember a few years ago when the media blasted the Super Bowl ads for "not being entertaining enough" and being a "major fail." Many media outlets blasted for running ineffective ads and not knowing who their target audience is. They were wrong and so are the reviewers who criticized this book. By the way, GAINED 10,000 SUBSCRIBERS by Monday morning --the very next day. That was over $21 million in annual subscription sales. So much for not knowing their target market and target audience. It wasn't a cute commercial, but it was great sales copy that targeted underperforming sales professionals looking to gain a competitive edge over their peers. In fact, the commercial had the best ad copy, and it followed many of the principles explained in this book.

The Copywriter's Handbook will break down the anatomy of what's behind writing a good ad and how to construct good ad copy that sells products. Many copywriting books will tell you to use a bunch of techniques, but never explain the how or why about it. This is why there's so much inconsistent, bad ad copy proliferating. The author helps you understand why you must follow certain principles of constructing ad copy, and why certain techniques work. If you buy this book and actually read and comprehend what's in this book, you will learn how to write better ad copy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
47 of 59 people found the following review helpful
on July 26, 2008
If you're a practicing copywriter and don't know what a brochure is -- ummmmm...I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but perhaps you should consider another career. Yes, this book actually defines what a brochure is. I am shocked to see that experienced copywriters found it useful. The advice is rudimentary at best. I gave it three stars because a) basic information has its place and b) I didn't want to tarnish the rating. It was my mistake to buy it. If you're looking for a book to inspire award-winning creative, get Creative Advertising by Mario Pricken. After devouring it in one sitting, I wrote copy all night long. For fun. On a weekend. And, no, I'm not a sweltering geek. The Kickstart Catalogue is an amazing tool for bringing out your natural talent. It teaches you from the inside out (you'll understand what I mean when you read it).
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on March 19, 2009
From the opening line: "A copywriter is a salesperson behind a typewriter." Mr. Bly shows how sales, marketing and copy are related in a fast-paced and fun-to-read book that deserves to become dog-eared and highlighted and kept close by.

This book, the Copywriter's Handbook by Bob Bly, is one of the best books ever written on the subject of Writing Copy that Sells. He covers the range of sales materials from headlines and advertisements, to brochures, to public relations statements and he gives examples at each turn.

My favorite part of the book starts on page 79, and is titled "Getting Ready to Write". You can improve the effectiveness of your sales writing by 1000% if you will just take the information in this short twenty page chapter to heart and do the simple things that Mr. Bly recommends.

This is a classic and deserves every one of the 5 stars I have given it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2010
Do you know how many kinds of brochures there are?

Well... this book tells you (on pages 176 to 177)

Do you know how to crawl under your prospect's skin, connect with them at the core and make your copy so irresistible they feel helpess to resist so they buy from you at "hello"?...

Well... this book tells you (on pages 82 to 90)

Do you know how to get a job as a copywriter?

Well... that's what the whole of chapter 13 is for (I especially love the insights on page 338, "Client Side: Where The Jobs Are")

Usually, when a book says "step-by-step guide for (insert any craft/skill)" you can bet your most expensive suit that it's going to cover the bare minimum in order to give the illusion of being a "step by step guide"

But Bob's classic copywriting Bible does the OPPOSITE!

He gives you MORE than just "step by step" he goes at least 2 levels deep on EACH topic he talks about.

On connecting with your prospects, not only does he reveal studies which back up his talk, he reveals a simple formula you can apply to your sales materials right now to boost the "I feel like this guy knows me" factor.

If you're thinking about getting a "ginormous" course by someone else......STOP...... get this book first, not only is it affordable it spills the beans on writing superb salesletters and copy that sells. Period.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Bob Bly is the master of showing beginning copywriters how to write compelling copy. He also knows all there is to know about the copywriting business.

If you're just starting out in this business, you must buy this book and any time Bob updates it, buy the new one.

He helps you know what to charge. He guides you in the rules of the road in a way you'll understand. Reading this book could be the ticket to a great career for you. So pick up your ticket and enter the world of copywriting.

Highly recommended --- especially for beginning copywriters or those who need a handy everyday reference to refer to when they have a question.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on October 20, 2007
Highest recommendation!

I'm a copy writer for a small company serving businesses across the country. I learned the ad writing business "on the fly via Bly" after miraculously landing a copywriting job when a very brave Pacific Northwest employer decided to take a chance and hire me -- even though I didn't have a single day's worth of "in the trenches" experience beforehand!

My resume documented that I had written four books and dozens of articles for magazines and newspapers, but writing advertising copy is a whole 'nuther animal!

Because of Bly's excellent books (he has several -- none of them will steer you wrong) and a few others by Joe Vitale, I was able to jump into the new job and truly wow diverse clients from the get-go. The information and insights in The Copywriter's Handbook saved my bacon!

Kristine M Smith, Author

DeForest Kelley: A Harvest of Memories : My Life and Times With a Remarkable Gentleman Actor
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 10, 2012
I have purchased courses, read many books and reports on the subject of copywriting and I can tell you none of them even come close to how Bob Bly's book, The Copywriters Handbook educates and breaks done every step in a very easy format, that anyone can follow and learn how to sell with words.

Don't be fooled on how basic the first few chapters may seem, you'll find that Bob bly doesn't hold back on any of his expert knowledge on the topic of copywriting.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is serious on learning how to be a marketer and on selling with words.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Ogilvy on Advertising
Ogilvy on Advertising by David Ogilvy (Paperback - March 12, 1985)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.