Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Joe and Raven and welcome back Lisa!
This item will be released along with the season 5 set on November 6. The cast is slightly larger than ever before now,with Joseph C. Phillips and future superstar-teen idol Raven Symone joining the cast. Also,we,who were fans of NBC's The Cosby Show since its 1984 premiere,welcome back Lisa Bonet as a regular. Denise Huxtable Kendall(Bonet) and her new husband navy...
Published on August 28, 2007 by andy8047

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show - Too expensive
I couldn't bring myself to give such a great show a bad rating, but $2 for 20 min of 30 year old content that has already made the people involved very wealthy seems way outside what I'd consider market value.

The writing and acting in The Cosby Show remains brilliant and funny. I wish the price was more reasonable...I mean with netflix there's basically...
Published 5 months ago by Daniel


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Joe and Raven and welcome back Lisa!, August 28, 2007
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cosby Show: Season 6 (DVD)
This item will be released along with the season 5 set on November 6. The cast is slightly larger than ever before now,with Joseph C. Phillips and future superstar-teen idol Raven Symone joining the cast. Also,we,who were fans of NBC's The Cosby Show since its 1984 premiere,welcome back Lisa Bonet as a regular. Denise Huxtable Kendall(Bonet) and her new husband navy Lieutenant Martin(Phillips) pay a visit to the Huxtable home with previously divorced Martin's 3-year-old daughter Olivia(RS) in tow. Of course Cliff(Bill Cosby) and Clair(Phylicia Rashad) were at first shockingly surprised but slowly adjusted to Denise's new roles as wife and stepmother. Ten-year-old Rudy(Keshia Knight Pulliam) is no longer cute,but Cliff just simply adores the cuteness of Olivia. Also we'll see Theo(Malcolm Jamal Warner) finally getting his own place,but not for long. He wasn't too far away from his parents' Brooklyn,New York home. He wound up moving back in with his parents and at one point this season,Clair had no desire to take Theo back(she and Cliff were upset with Theo at the time). In fact,at that time,he was living with his girlfriend Justine(the late Michelle Thomas) and her folks. Also,we see Denise,with Olivia,babysitting her sister Sondra's(Sabrina LeBeauf) twins Winnie and Nelson who themselves,wreck havoc in the Tibidaux household while Sondra and her husband Elvin(Geoffrey Owens) are out for the evening. Denise was just driven crazy by the obnoxious behavior of her niece and nephew. Vanessa(Tempest Bledsoe) and her friends go out-of-state(unbeknownst to Cliff and Clair) to attend a concert. But their tickets wound up being stolen and the girls had no transportation back to New York. Clair was so pissed that she grounded 16-year-old Vanessa. Elvin volunteers as an elf for a Christmas benefit. The other episodes are great. For the fifth and final time,TCS finished at #1 this season,this time tied with ABC's Roseanne,which was also produced by Tom Werner,Marcy Carsey and Caryn Sneider Mandabach. Bonet stayed on TCS as a regular for season 7,but she would be gone thereafter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Cosby Show Season Six, August 2, 2010
By 
Auburn Niewiadomski (Anacortes, Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cosby Show: Season 6 (DVD)
Season six of the Cosby Show in my opinion is not as great as the first five seasons but it's still a stellar season. There are again many changes, Lisa Bonet has returned to the show to stay (until the final season) and she's now married to Martin Kendall (Joseph C. Phillips) and she's also a step-mother to Olivia Kendall. (Raven Symore) And there were a lot of fantastic episodes that I enjoyed, "Mr. Sandman" is a hilarious episode, Rudy takes tap dancing lessons and while she's in class Howard Sims notices Cliff trying to tap dance and they decide to have a tap dancing challenge. "Isn't it Romantic" is another great episode, Cliff, Elvin and Martin compete to see who is the most romantic husband is in the family. But even though the season is great the release of season six is still exactly like the previous four, there isn't any bonus material and it's packaged like the previous four seasons, and there still are no episode descriptions, so I'll list season six's episode descriptions below.

Denise: The Saga Continues - Airdate: 9/21/1989 - Denise returns from Africa, with a new husband and stepdaughter.

Surf's Up - Airdate: 9/28/1989 - After recreating one of Cliff's adventures in college about washing the kitchen floor in a strange way, Theo and his roommates are kicked out of their apartment.

I'm 'In' With the 'In' Crowd - Airdate: 10/5/1989 - Airdate: Vanessa and her friends get drunk playing a drinking game.

Denise Kendall: Navy Wife - Airdate: Airdate: 10/12/1989 - Denise forgets to respond to a letter from the Navy and confirm that she and Martin want housing on the naval base.

Theo's Gift - Airdate: 10/19/1989 - Theo is diagnosed with dyslexia, a learning disability which contributed to the academic problems he has had over the years.

Denise Kendall: Babysitter - Airdate: 10/26/1989 - Denise and Olivia babysit Winnie and Nelson.

Shall We Dance? - Airdate: 11/2/1989 - Rudy and one of her classmates have a crush on each other.

The Day the Spores Landed - Airdate: 11/9/1989 - Cliff dreams that men worldwide have become pregnant.

Cliff's Wet Adventure - Airdate: 11/16/1989 - Denise invites Martin's ex-wife Paula for Thanksgiving dinner meanwhile Clair continues to send Cliff to the store for last-minute groceries.

Grampy and Nu-Nu Visit the Huxtable's - Airdate: 11/30/1989 - Martin's parents come for a visit.

Cliff la Dolce - Airdate: 12/7/1989 - Cliff is in charge while Clair and Denise are out of town.

Getting to Know You - Airdate: 12/14/1989 - As Christmas approaches, Cliff and
Martin start getting to know each other better.

Elvin Pays for Dinner - Airdate: 1/4/1990 - Elvin takes two female college friends to dinner to reminisce and Sondra becomes very upset.
Cliff's Nightmare - Airdate: 1/11/1990 - Cliff has a dream that includes the Muppets.

Denise Kendall: Singles Counselor - Airdate: 1/18/1990 - Denise causes trouble while trying to help Vanessa get a date.

The Birthday Party - Airdate: 1/25/1990 - Olivia's fourth birthday arrives.

Not Everybody Loves the Blues - Airdate: 2/1/1990 - Theo thinks about proposing to Justine.

Rudy's Walk on the Wild Side - 2/8/1990 - Rudy steals money from Clair to buy a sweatshirt.

Mr. Sandman - 2/15/1990 - Rudy is forced to take tap dancing lessons for a school project.

Isn't It Romantic? - 2/22/1990 - Cliff, Elvin and Martin secretly compete to determine who the most romantic husband in the Huxtable family is and try to find the best gift but it has to be under twenty-five dollars.

Theo's Dirty Laundry - Airdate: 3/15/1990 - Cliff and Clair discover that Theo has moved in with Justine.

What's It All About? - Airdate: 3/22/1990 - Clair is burned out from work and family pressures and hurries off to a cabin resort Cliff's doctor friend suggested.

Off to See the Wretched - Airdate: 4/5/1990 - Vanessa and her friends sneak out of town to attend a concert in Baltimore, but encounter huge problems along the way. Afterwards, she must face the wrath of Cliff and an infuriated Clair.

The Moves - Airdate: 4/19/1990 - The Huxtable's next door neighbor Jeffrey Engalls reinvents himself after his divorce for a lovely friend of Clair's.

Live and Learn - Airdate: 4/26/1990 - Denise wants to become a teacher... without finishing college.

The Storyteller - Airdate: 5/3/1990 - Cliff's 98 year old aunt comes to visit the family.

Season six is another great season and this DVD release is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosby all the way!, January 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cosby Show: Season 6 (DVD)
I am enjoying this DVD series so much because these are the complete episodes and I watch it all the time. The only problem is that I have to keep starting each episode; they don't play straight through and that can be a problem if I'm in the middle of something. Other than that, this is the one season that I didn't think I'd enjoy, but it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show - Too expensive, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cosby Show Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
I couldn't bring myself to give such a great show a bad rating, but $2 for 20 min of 30 year old content that has already made the people involved very wealthy seems way outside what I'd consider market value.

The writing and acting in The Cosby Show remains brilliant and funny. I wish the price was more reasonable...I mean with netflix there's basically unlimited streaming content for $9/month...how can you justify asking $2 for 20 min? I'll wait to watch the rest of the series when this is available somewhere else for a more reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Family Time!, January 17, 2008
By 
C. Mcrae (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cosby Show: Season 6 (DVD)
I purchsed both seasons 5 and 6 and they make for enjoyable family time thats not on Disney channel. My daughter as well as myself have enjoyed watching these dvd's. I forgot just how funny some of the episodes were. I've also posted a similar review for season 5. Both seasons are equally enjoyable. They also make for great travel dvds. You can listen in the car while driving and still laugh at some of the things said by the kids on the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cosby Season I Remember Well, April 5, 2008
This review is from: The Cosby Show: Season 6 (DVD)
As with many here I watched this show fairly regularly.I say that because I stopped watching it EVERY week around the 4'th season because of the demands of school and life (I don't think I watched any of the 5'th season during it's original run). But this was the season when I came back to it a lot more. I had my reasons.For one I championed the return of Lisa Bonnet-I realize there were pros and cons to that to some fans of the Huxtable clan but it was glad to have the entire original cast back together again. And in fact Denise Huxtable had learned a bit about responsibility when she became the step mom of Olivia and began to see the world from a mother's point of view. I have my favorite episodes from this season-the episode featuring B.B.King and the one where Vanessa plays the Alphabet Drinking Game. Of course I also have my own opinion on the Cosby Show today. As innovative as it was and as much as Cosby and Falicia Rashad intended the elder Huxtables to be functional family people,at this point in my life I find myself siding with the kids more and more. For one,Clair and Cliff Huxtable started making it clear that the main reason that they wanted the kids out of the house was to get more time together.Today,to be honest such utter selfishness on the part of parents would be almost impossible;even in the best off of families the kind of upwardly mobile "school/work/success" life the Huxtables seemed to aspire to would be almost impossible today.In fact many children are returning home to their parents house because they cannot afford to live any other way. Even still,I cannot say I find the Huxtable parents constant delight at seeing their children away gets much of a laugh out of me today;that just doesn't always work like that anymore. I don't want to spend the review whinning but all the episode "Off To See The Wretched" has it's funny moments and Vanessa lying was not good I have to say: Clair's out of control tirade against a sobbing Vanessa at the end of the episode is COMPLETELY unfounded,unreasonable and uncalled for. It's important for a parent to keep as cool a head as possible dealing with a situation like that to help the child understand what they did wrong. Clair losing self control and name calling/hauling verbal venom at her daughter is to me a huge flaw in dialog that,by the way I don't blame Mrs.Rashad for in the least bit. Also I think the idea that Theo and Denise's interest in living a regular life aside from the "buppyish" one their parents had in mind was a great thing:having them want to succeed or fail on their own in their respective worlds would help them build character and a better life overall.Of course in the end it did but now I see it more so as being despite itself;take the character of Theo alone for starters. This season was a big transitioning year for the character. After five years of everyone in the Huxtable family and the TV audiance thinking that Theo was little more then a dependant underachiever the episode "Theo's Gift" finds the only boy of the Huxtable siblings being diagnosed with dyslexia.Meaning that he was never an underachiever;he'd just given up on himself and settled for less because of not being in the know. But after his diagnosis Theo became a different guy-he started appyling himself academically and began setting firm goals for his personal and professional life;his constant dreams of living his own life could now become a reality.Ah the joy of sitcom pacing lol. Fact is while I may not have dyslexia I can relate to Theo because I have a disability of my own and like him,my parents both thought it was some excuse to get out of life when I first explained it to them. But it all proves to you that the Huxtable world was not as spotless and plastic as people might have previously thought;things like Theo's learning disability did a lot to change the family;it even inadvertantly set his sister Denise on a new path in her own life after watching his experience. So,the Huxtable kids were becoming "positive models" in a new way. But just because times have changed a lot sociologically doesn't mean I do not love this show and I intend to collect all of them;The Cosby Show is a good deal on DVD;the mastering is excellent and they are available at a very low cost.It's only taken three years for this series to come out on DVD wheras it often takes AT LEAST a year between seasons on other shows (read:'All In The Family','The Nanny','Maude' or 'Diff'rent Strokes'-all series I want to collect on DVD too). In closing it may not by the 80's and 90's anymore but watching this series will make you start to under,if they made a comback today what Cliff,Clair,Sondra,Denise,Theo,Vanessa and Rudy Huxtable would all be up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See all the episodes that never air on TV anymore, December 28, 2007
By 
D. Anthony (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cosby Show: Season 6 (DVD)
I have purchased every season released to date, and plan on continuing to do so until the Cousin Pam character is introduced (at which point I no longer enjoyed the show). This show is still funnier than most on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show! Still have family values back then so ..., July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cosby Show Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
Awesome show! Still have family values back then so that's so refreshing! We need more shows with this moral compass! It's funny and true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars our family loves this show, May 19, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cosby Show: Season 6 (DVD)
My son has spent hours enjoying this show. The family learns a lot about approaching life with a sense of humor and embracing life's challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cosby Show Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
excellent, family fun, clean family fun. makes you laugh, nice, easy to watch, great for middle school age, deals with clothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.