Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Quantum Physics Overview
It is a shame that this book is out of print. Pagels' lucid explanations of the quantum world are the best within lay science publishing. I also believe that Pagels' rational approach is far and away a better introduction/exploration than the Eastern Mysticism-based books like Zukav's "The Dancing Wu Li Masters" or Fritjof Capra's "The Tao of...
Published on June 4, 1999

versus
13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book on Quantum Physics, you just have to get past the Authors personal views on God
This is a really good book on Quantum Physics. I really want to give it 5 stars, but the draw back is that the Author is constantly injecting his views about God into book, which at times is very distracting. The book is good because it guides you through both the history of Quantum Physics, as well as its core concepts. If the Author is still alive, I hope that he will...
Published on June 11, 2008 by D. Hamlett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Quantum Physics Overview, June 4, 1999
By A Customer
It is a shame that this book is out of print. Pagels' lucid explanations of the quantum world are the best within lay science publishing. I also believe that Pagels' rational approach is far and away a better introduction/exploration than the Eastern Mysticism-based books like Zukav's "The Dancing Wu Li Masters" or Fritjof Capra's "The Tao of Physics." Of course, those books are useful as entertainment (as exotic Parallelism) but it should be noted that the connections between Eastern Mysticism and Quantum Mechanics in regards to questions of conciousness and reality are not accepted as valid by any but a minuscule minority of thinkers. Pagels' approach is much more true to the thinking in new physics circles. In regards to a second edition that Mr. Beagle is hoping for, it will not be forthcoming due to the untimely demise of Pagels in a mountaineering accident in the late 80's. He is sorely missed! Also, for the very best in Computer Culture-related lay science (even though it is somewhat dated) I can't recommend his "The Dreams of Reason" highly enough - especially to those familiar with his other works! I've seen both books in used book shops many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A durable, indelible work..., July 15, 2002
This review is from: The Cosmic Code: Quantum Physics as the Language of Nature (Mass Market Paperback)
I've been a fan of this book since it was published in hard back in 1982 and recent re-reading remind me that it is still one of the best, most accessible lay books on quantum physics that has ever been written. It is a little hard to track down sometimes, but perhaps they will eventually reissue it. Unfortunately, Heinz Pagels died in a mountain climbing accident years ago and won't be able to update this wonderful book. It would be great if one of his many colleagues and admirers would undertake to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on a complex, abstract subject, October 1, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (West Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cosmic Code: Quantum Physics as the Language of Nature (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the best Quantum Physics book even written for the lay man. Infact, it might even be the best popular science book ever written. I have been a fan of this book for over 15 years and I feel that it is "must read" for every student involved or pursuing any branch of pure science (not necessarily physics).
Amazingly well explained concepts that stream you to the miniscule, abstract world of Quantum Mechanics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview for the popular audience of quantum physics, July 19, 2007
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cosmic Code: Quantum Physics as the Language of Nature (Mass Market Paperback)
A very good overview, written for the popular audience, of quantum physics, originally written in 1982, by physicist Heinz Pagels. The first part of the book deals with the history of the subject. The second part, the (then) newer stuff, including complex subjects like Bell's Theorem. Unfortunately, since Pagels died in a mountaineering accident in 1988, there hasn't been an update of the book (because of the speed of the scientific discovery, even the best science books can get quickly outdated). That's why the newer stuff in physics, mainly string theory, is not covered here. Still, a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous discussion of modern physics, November 17, 1998
By A Customer
Pagels follows modern physics in an understandable way. If you had trouble understanding p-chem, this is the book for you. Not good for people who haven't had college physics or equivalent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Introduction to Quantum Reality, July 18, 2001
By 
Dr. R. Vento (Oberlin, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cosmic Code: Quantum Physics as the Language of Nature (Mass Market Paperback)
Pagels' work is understandably the best layperson introduction to both interpreting and understanding Quantum Mechanics. It is a wonderful prelude to Omnes' book, Understanding Quantum Mechanics, and ties in much of elementary particle physics from Bohr to Gell-Mann.
The most remarkable part of this book is Pagels' lucid discussion on Bell's Inequality. Bell's Theorem, for those who are interested, forever demolishes the Einsteinian views of local causality, and of hidden variable determinism. Bell derived his classical probability and showed that either we have a violation of local causality (resulting in Einstein turning in his grave) OR, that if hidden variable theories are operative in the wave function, they do so non-locally (i.e. at the edge of spacetime).
In my own lectures and discussions, I have used Pagels' expose to derive a non two-additive Borel measure which explains the non-linear effects we see in actual polarization experiments of Bell's type. Indeed, Pagels gave life and meaning to my Complex-Valued Influence Probability Theory. In effect Pagels initial work, if read carefully, will expalin why we have quantum entanglement and the corkscrewing effects of oppositely-directed photons as they carry information non-locally and non-locally deterministically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quantum Physics for the Thinking Layman, December 10, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cosmic Code: Quantum Physics as the Language of Nature (Mass Market Paperback)
Be prepared to think and get a few headaches on the first read. But Pagels book *is* accessible to the layman with a minumum of math. Many books of this type go out-on-a-limb with excessive references to buddhism and zen, Pagels sticks to the point with some humor, plenty of easily grasped analogies and some classic illustrations.

I first read this book back in 1983 and have now lent my worn paperback copy to my son who is a college freshman and is majoring in physics & computer engineering.

For a quick overview of the physics, I would recommend THIS book, I Asimov's "Understanding Physics" and B Russel's "Layman's Guide to Relativity".

I wonder when Pagel's will write a second edition?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic Code, March 12, 2007
By 
J. Mollica (Deerfield Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was mentioned in a previous book I have read (The Biology of Belief - Lipton). This book easily explains a tough subject like quantum physics. I found it strange that someone like myself (mostly read spiritual books) would enjoy a scientific discussion of the very small. I could not put the book down. If you enjoy reading spiritual books, you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic Code, January 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book which explains fully. in layman's terms.
what Quantum Theory is all about and, in addition, the errors of
the various comparisons with Eastern Religions that have surfaced from it. In addition, it explains in detail "Bell's Inequality"as it applies to the Quantum phenomenon of "Entanglement" which has been misinterpreted as proof of the existence of what Einstein called "spooky information at at distance," equivalent to Star Trek's "Beam Me Up Scotty!" E.G. Telepathy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an Easy Read, but the Clearest Explanation of Quantum Physics for the Non-Scientist that I Have Found Thus Far, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an interesting explanation of quantum physics for the lay reader. I would not say that the information is easy to grasp even in this effort to make it comprehensible. However, it does provide the best interpretation for the non-scientist that I have found thus far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cosmic Code: Quantum Physics as the Language of Nature
The Cosmic Code: Quantum Physics as the Language of Nature by Heinz R. Pagels (Mass Market Paperback - April 1, 1984)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.