Best Books of the Month Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer gdwf gdwf gdwf  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now Halloween
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Other Sellers on Amazon
Buy Used - Like New
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: proglodite
Seller Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (7107)
Add to Cart
Lowest price: New
+ $3.99 shipping
Buy New
+ $3.99 shipping
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Courts of Love: Music from the Time of Eleanor of Aquitaine - Sinfonye Import

2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, June 7, 1993
"Please retry"
$26.19 $2.93

1. Se Be-m Partetz, Mala Dompna, De Vos
2. Kalenda Maia Ni Fueills De Faia (vocal)
3. Kalenda Maia Ni Fueills De Faia (instrumental)
4. L'On Dit Q'Amors Est Dolce Chose
5. Era-m Cosselhatz, Senhor
6. Conortz, Era Sai Ben
7. Can Vei La Lauzeta Mover
8. San'c Fuy Belha Ni Prezada (vocal)
9. San'c Fuy Belha Ni Prezada (instrumental)
10. S'i-us Quer Conselh, Bel' Ami' Alamanda
11. Quant Je Voi La Noif Remise
12. Quant Voi Le Tens Bel Et Cler
13. Quant Flours Et Glais
14. Quant Voi Renverdir

Product Details

  • Performer: Sinfonye
  • Conductor: Stevie Wishart
  • Composer: Gui d'Ussel, Raimbaut de Vaqeiras, Bernart de Ventadorn, Cadenet, Guirant De Bornelh, et al.
  • Audio CD (June 7, 1993)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B000002ZMF
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #622,479 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on August 31, 2000
I chose this CD with absolutely no knowlege of the music of the time. I was looking for a CD to try out, one that I could listen to a couple of times just to see if I liked the style. As a fan of Eleanor of Aquitaine, I chose this CD because there are three songs by Bernart de Ventadorn, her protege. I was blown away when I listened to the CD - it's absolutely amazing! Mara Kiek has an incredible voice - I can enjoy modern talent while listening to the works of twelfth-century troubadours. The selections, especially "L'on qui dit q'amors est dolce chose" by anonymous and "S'ie-us quier conseil, bel' amig' Alamanda'" by Giraut de Bornelh are intensely beautiful. With the rich, sonorous music performed by Sinfonye, I can just close my eyes and imagine that I am in Eleanor of Aquitaine's court. I recommend this CD to anyone who wants some easy listening, romantic songs that have definitely withstood the test of time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Lanja Samsdottir on December 5, 2003
I gave this disc only 4 stars because I'm not familiar with music of this period, so although I'd prefer to give this CD 5 stars, it might not measure up against other performances. Here you'll find a mix of instrumental and vocal music, and the sound is very different from anything that we associate with classical music in the vein of Bach or Beethoven. The instruments are reedier, the voice more nasal; I'm tempted to say, you might try to think of it as an intermediary between Gregorian chant and Baroque opera (especially Monteverdi), but it isn't quite as simple as that.
These are *really* new sounds and they conjure up a much different world than the string orchestras of the late 18th century. I found that there is something uniquely foreign in this music, as if it comes from an era just beyond our grasp. In my opinion, it's not jarring enough to be annoying (no atonalities or microtones) but different enough for you to think twice about its instrumentation and vocal mechanisms.
The melodies are rather catchy, and if you are adventurous then you might want to sample this music. The only note of caution I would give is that it took me a while to get into this music, whereas my parents still can't stand it, so its appeal (like everything else) is definitely not universal. If you can, listen to the sample tracks before you buy it.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: ventadorn can vei