The Creeper: A Novel (Pegasus Crime) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$7.15
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by CWJBOOKS
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: exlibrary hardcover book in jacket with light wear, shows some light reader wear throughout ,all the usual library marks and stamps.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Creeper: A Novel (Pegasus Crime) Hardcover – August 1, 2012


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, August 1, 2012
$5.87 $3.00
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Series: Pegasus Crime
  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Pegasus; First Edition edition (August 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1605983594
  • ISBN-13: 978-1605983592
  • Product Dimensions: 9.1 x 6 x 1.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,993,230 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“An impressive debut, an intense British police procedural.Carver never crosses the line into gratuitous violence, while myriad clues and surprising twists keep the reader off-kilter.Fans of Mo Hayder, Chelsea Cain, and Karin Slaughter will find much to like.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Carver’s expert timing is aided by her prose, deceptively laconic but with a constant forward push. Everything, it turns out, is done for a reason.” (Booklist) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Tania Carver lives in the south of England with her husband and two children. She is the author of The Surrogate, The Creeper, and Cage of Bones, all available from Pegasus Books.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

I have read all of Tania Carver's books.
Lyn Anderson
There is no excuse, in my opinion, for any typos never mind this number.
Saucier
The suspense was taut, the characters were well drawn.
Terannmac

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Saucier on June 28, 2012
Format: Paperback
If you like Mark Billingham then you will like this because it is just so like his books or hate it because it is just too like his books! The style of writing, plot layout, even the characters are almost identical to the Tom Thorne series by Mark Billingham. I am not sure who wrote them first but it was quite unnerving how alike they are.

It was a good crime thriller story with the right amount of characters and the right amount of plot twists to keep you reading through quite smoothly. Some plot twists were very obvious (but perhaps that is because I have read all of Billinghams books so knew what to expect!) and others were a bit of a surprise. What let the story down were a couple of happenings that were just not believable. I can't be more specific or it will be a major spoiler, but I could not believe that certain things would happen in any police force in the UK, no matter how inept you think they are at times.

This book was actually the 2nd in the Marina Esposito series and having not read the first book (I didn't know it was the 2nd until I updated my status on Goodreads) I wondered whether I would be able to follow the characters. I could, because they were simply not that complicated and Marina actually played a very minor role in this book. If I had the first book I would have read it first and I may even try and get it and read it now, despite any criticisms in this review.

The story on it's own would get a 3 star rating from me but I have had to downgrade to 2 stars because of the large number of typos in the book. So many, that I double checked whether I had a proof copy but, sadly, no. There is no excuse, in my opinion, for any typos never mind this number.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
This is the 2nd book in this series. The first book The Surrogate was another nail biter but this book freaked me out. Stalkers freak me out in general but when one lives in your house and watches you, drugs you and does creepy things to you when you think you are asleep its worse. I think what gives me the willies is that this kind of stuff does happen. It doesn't jump the shark, it is a sick twisted mind that does this and there are people like that out there. I really enjoyed this book. I love the characters and the creep factor. There were some issues that I wish an editor had caught but they didn't take away the enjoyment of this book. If you are looking for a fast paced nightmarish thriller this is one for you. I may have to sleep with the lights on for a night or two.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Amazon Customer on July 24, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great book, caught my attention from the first page. This is my fourth book by Tania Carver. Enjoyed every one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By tom on July 2, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
tania carver has done it again . . . this is a fast-paced and exciting novel . . . the characters are well-developed and become people you genuinely care about and can relate to . . . the story line is fascinating . . . the only complaint - it is so very hard to put down, so plan on staying up into the wee hours reading this terrific mystery and going to work quite tired in the morning . . .
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Carver (husband and wife writing team of Martyn and Linda Waites) starts off well but finishes in a drawn out strew of absurdity. In addition, as alluded to by another reviewer, the book in many important ways duplicates Mark Billingham's Throne series, lending crime fiction meaning to "imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."

The Creeper is a demented military fellow who fantasizes about a woman in Iraq who rejected him, whom he raped and murdered, and whom he now views in his imagination as one who exists in spirit, who takes up residence in women, and who will assume a final form to be with him as his loving partner some day, when she finds the right vehicle. Not a bad idea; however, the author layers on the notion of a couple of manipulative people who control him to demonstrate their superiority to the world. Until this revelation, though, the novel is quite good: suspenseful, written in a somewhat staccato style that moves the action forward at a good clip.

In addition, the detection team led by Phil Brennan, dedicated and troubled like Billingham's Tom Throne, featuring a quirky medical examiner, young sidekick, pained personal relationship, etc., has an appealing interpersonal dynamic, designed to support a series.

Ultimately, the good aspects of the book can't overcome the absurd elements, not to mention the overly long ending riddled with ridiculous feats.

If serial killers with more than a patina of realism interest you, there are many better choices. For some, see my Listmania. If you simply wish to burn up a couple of hours seeking a few thrills, THE CREEPER serves the end nicely.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Tania Carver's "The Creeper" is an eerie and violent thriller about a predator who stalks, abducts, tortures, and kills his victims. The story opens in the apartment of Suzanne Perry, a twenty-six year old speech therapist who senses that someone is spying on her. When her tormentor leaves behind a photo of Suzanne, along with the statement "I'm watching over you," she is terrified and reports the incident to the police.

Meanwhile, Detective Inspector Phil Brennan of the Major Incident Squad in Colchester, England, is summoned to the scene of a brutal murder. The victim is a young woman who was slaughtered and severely mutilated. Could she be Julie Miller, who was reported missing twelve days earlier? Brennan and his team soon fear that a serial killer with a visceral hatred of women may be at large. Phil is a sharp, efficient, and hard-working detective, but his personal problems are throwing him off his game. Matters become even more difficult when Phil's shallow and self-centered superior, DCI Ben Fenwick, brings in Detective Sergeant Rose Martin and an obnoxious profiler, Fiona Welch, to assist with the case.

Carver effectively fleshes out her detectives' personalities, revealing their secrets, insecurities, prejudices, fears, and ambitions. To her credit, the author adeptly depicts the many facets of a grueling homicide investigation, including forensic examinations, witness interviews, surveillance, background checks, and the interrogation of suspects. Although Carver nicely captures the feel of life in an English town and gives the detectives intriguing back stories, she ultimately loses control of her plot when she introduces several over-the-top developments that culminate in a contrived and melodramatic conclusion. Instead of trying so hard to surprise readers, suspense writers would do well to ground their novels in at least a modicum of logic.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?