The Creeper: A Novel (Pegasus Crime) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.99
Condition: :
Comment: exlibrary hardcover book in jacket with light wear, shows some light reader wear throughout ,all the usual library marks and stamps.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Creeper: A Novel (Pegasus Crime) Hardcover – August 1, 2012


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, August 1, 2012
$5.60 $0.01

Spring Books
The Big Books of Spring
See our editors' picks for the books you'll want to read this season, from blockbusters and biographies to new fiction and children's books.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Pegasus Crime
  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Pegasus; First Edition edition (August 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1605983594
  • ISBN-13: 978-1605983592
  • Product Dimensions: 0.6 x 0.2 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,202,186 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“An impressive debut, an intense British police procedural.Carver never crosses the line into gratuitous violence, while myriad clues and surprising twists keep the reader off-kilter.Fans of Mo Hayder, Chelsea Cain, and Karin Slaughter will find much to like.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Carver’s expert timing is aided by her prose, deceptively laconic but with a constant forward push. Everything, it turns out, is done for a reason.” (Booklist) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Tania Carver lives in the south of England with her husband and two children. She is the author of The Surrogate, The Creeper, and Cage of Bones, all available from Pegasus Books.

Customer Reviews

I have read all of Tania Carver's books.
Lyn Anderson
There is no excuse, in my opinion, for any typos never mind this number.
Saucier
The suspense was taut, the characters were well drawn.
Terannmac

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Saucier on June 28, 2012
Format: Paperback
If you like Mark Billingham then you will like this because it is just so like his books or hate it because it is just too like his books! The style of writing, plot layout, even the characters are almost identical to the Tom Thorne series by Mark Billingham. I am not sure who wrote them first but it was quite unnerving how alike they are.

It was a good crime thriller story with the right amount of characters and the right amount of plot twists to keep you reading through quite smoothly. Some plot twists were very obvious (but perhaps that is because I have read all of Billinghams books so knew what to expect!) and others were a bit of a surprise. What let the story down were a couple of happenings that were just not believable. I can't be more specific or it will be a major spoiler, but I could not believe that certain things would happen in any police force in the UK, no matter how inept you think they are at times.

This book was actually the 2nd in the Marina Esposito series and having not read the first book (I didn't know it was the 2nd until I updated my status on Goodreads) I wondered whether I would be able to follow the characters. I could, because they were simply not that complicated and Marina actually played a very minor role in this book. If I had the first book I would have read it first and I may even try and get it and read it now, despite any criticisms in this review.

The story on it's own would get a 3 star rating from me but I have had to downgrade to 2 stars because of the large number of typos in the book. So many, that I double checked whether I had a proof copy but, sadly, no. There is no excuse, in my opinion, for any typos never mind this number.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Tania Carver's "The Creeper" is an eerie and violent thriller about a predator who stalks, abducts, tortures, and kills his victims. The story opens in the apartment of Suzanne Perry, a twenty-six year old speech therapist who senses that someone is spying on her. When her tormentor leaves behind a photo of Suzanne, along with the statement "I'm watching over you," she is terrified and reports the incident to the police.

Meanwhile, Detective Inspector Phil Brennan of the Major Incident Squad in Colchester, England, is summoned to the scene of a brutal murder. The victim is a young woman who was slaughtered and severely mutilated. Could she be Julie Miller, who was reported missing twelve days earlier? Brennan and his team soon fear that a serial killer with a visceral hatred of women may be at large. Phil is a sharp, efficient, and hard-working detective, but his personal problems are throwing him off his game. Matters become even more difficult when Phil's shallow and self-centered superior, DCI Ben Fenwick, brings in Detective Sergeant Rose Martin and an obnoxious profiler, Fiona Welch, to assist with the case.

Carver effectively fleshes out her detectives' personalities, revealing their secrets, insecurities, prejudices, fears, and ambitions. To her credit, the author adeptly depicts the many facets of a grueling homicide investigation, including forensic examinations, witness interviews, surveillance, background checks, and the interrogation of suspects. Although Carver nicely captures the feel of life in an English town and gives the detectives intriguing back stories, she ultimately loses control of her plot when she introduces several over-the-top developments that culminate in a contrived and melodramatic conclusion. Instead of trying so hard to surprise readers, suspense writers would do well to ground their novels in at least a modicum of logic.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is definitely a strong follow-up to The Surrogate: A Novel (Pegasus Crime). The shock-value based gore has been replaced with a genuine (haha) creepy atmosphere. The opening section, in particular, offers up plenty of bone-chilling moments. To avoid nightmares - particularly if reading while home alone - turn up the lights (not that this will keep you safe... to stay safe from the likes of this Creeper, your best bet is to invest in guard-dog!)!! This book taps into not only the fear of someone unknown watching your every move, but also the trauma of being haunted - but by a flesh-and-blood monster rather than ethereal one. In sending chills down spines, this husband-and-wife-writing-due succeed in their second novel. It's an intense, gripping and highly entertaining read!

But, unfortunately, the book is not without its flaws. From an editorial standpoint, my hardcover version contains several obvious typos. Hopefully this will be rectified in future editions. And the plot - though exciting - takes some rather predictable turns. It's much more of a thriller than a mystery due to the lack of surprises in the plot.

More troubling, though, are the characters. In The Surrogate: A Novel (Pegasus Crime), the authors lay a solid foundation for character growth and the network of relationships created. Unfortunately, Marina Esposito, in particular, regresses rather than grows here.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?