Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the book and make sure you put your name all over it.
Someone in your agency will "borrow" this because it is the go-to manual for the new investigator. Joe is an accomplished Detective and Instructor with the NYPD who has taken the time to put what you need to know in writing.
TK
Published on December 17, 2010 by TKodiak

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a Teen
This book is nicely laid out and easy to read. As an adult, and a law enforcement officer, this book is simplistic. I would recommend this book for someone who does not have any experience and has an interest in police investigation. My big complaint about the book is the over use of acronyms. Every topic is broken down into an acronym and it becomes annoying. This...
Published on October 30, 2011 by Copperhead6


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the book and make sure you put your name all over it., December 17, 2010
By 
TKodiak (Upstate New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
Someone in your agency will "borrow" this because it is the go-to manual for the new investigator. Joe is an accomplished Detective and Instructor with the NYPD who has taken the time to put what you need to know in writing.
TK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, December 20, 2010
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
Joe is extremely knowledgeable in this topic. He is both a practitioner and academian. This book is very easy to read,easily understood and is full of his investigative practical experience. An awesome book for both beginners and seasoned investigators. It is my hopes that criminal justice programs throughout the United States will utilize his expertise and adopt this book for their students. It's affordability is an added bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a Teen, October 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
This book is nicely laid out and easy to read. As an adult, and a law enforcement officer, this book is simplistic. I would recommend this book for someone who does not have any experience and has an interest in police investigation. My big complaint about the book is the over use of acronyms. Every topic is broken down into an acronym and it becomes annoying. This book would be good for a teen who is looking at a career in law enforcement. This book could have benefited from the author's real world experiences and he should have injected facts based from his own investigations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real World book for real world Investigators, February 26, 2011
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
After spending a decade in
Law Enforcement I have read this book and I feel that this is one of the best books written about Investigations. I strongly recommend this book for any one that is interested in the field of criminal investigation. Well worth the read and well worth the money. Excellent job in articulating the primary functions that are needed to conduct a preliminary criminal investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shows what the police field is really like, November 5, 2012
By 
Paul Lappen (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
Many law enforcement textbooks have been written by academics with little, or no, real experience. The author of this book has many years of actual, crime scene experience.

On TV, detectives will get a phone call, quickly write down an address, and then rush out the door. It's dramatic, and it's also a bad idea. A quick check in the police computer will show if police have been to that address in the past, or if there has been criminal activity in that area in the past.

At the crime scene, the investigator will go over the crime scene with the first officer on the scene (who is supposed to establish the crime scene perimeter, detain witnesses, etc.). The investigator will sketch the scene, take lots of photographs and lots of notes, and establish chain of custody for all physical evidence found at the scene. There is a good, and bad, way to search the scene for evidence. It is vital to document everything. The defense attorney can be expected to focus on the smallest error in police procedure, and use that to move for an acquittal.

The follow-up investigation is necessary, but not very glamorous. It involves things like going over the crime scene photos again, and visiting the various law enforcement databases. The book talks about what is, and is not, allowable when it comes to eyewitness identification.

Much time in the book is spent on what haapens in the interrogation room, whether it is interviewing a witness, or interrogating a suspect. It is vital to establish some sort of connection between the interrogator and suspect. Last but not least, the investigator has to appear in court. The investigator should refresh their memory by going over the file, answer only the question that is asked, and give the impression that they are prepared and they know what they are talking about.

This book should be required reading for all law enforcement personnel. For everyone else, it is very easy to understand, and shows what the police field is really like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no room for error, February 27, 2012
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
I can't even begin to describe how extremely necessary this book is, for experienced and new
investigators the same, to read, or better yet, to own. "The Criminal Investigative Function" is a guide
for investigators, only it is written in such a way, that the reader isn't just reading guidelines. Joseph
Giacalone defines and describes the investigative function in depth, using a professional and clear,
simple approach. The book is so intriguing that Giacalone's viewpoint allows for a thorough
investigation involving the reader. His writing format allows for all investigators to truly grasp the
investigation process on a realistic level. I can read this book on my own, simply because it is excellent
and when I am unsure, I can use it as a guide.
Joseph Giacalone's law enforcement experience and background, speaks for itself. He is
definitely an authority in the law enforcement community and he shares much of his knowledge
through detailed scenarios in this book, making sure that the reader is able to look at all the angles,
facts and possibilities before making a decision. His consistency throughout the book is clear and tends
to be a good quality in investigators, in order to thoroughly satisfy the investigation requirements.
I would recommend this book for any level investigator because the well respected, Joseph
Giacalone shares his keen insight throughout the entire book. He sheds light on areas and gives
reasoning for things that even the most experienced of investigators may not be aware of. His book
covers every aspect in detail, involving investigations. He is open-minded, yet, like the investigation
process, he leaves no room for error.The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators, August 20, 2011
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
When Joseph Giacalone's textbook, The Criminal Investigative Function, arrived at my home, I immediately sat down to begin reading it. I was impressed that someone could turn a textbook into a page-turner.
Using his knowledge and passion, he covers everything known in police procedure, giving the reader a look into the real world of criminal investigation. The book is divided into chapters and each chapter is followed with questions for discussions and review. Not only is it a guide for someone looking to go into the law field, but it also works as a research tool.
As a writer, I appreciate his experience as he describes the dedication and role an investigator takes on in an effort to bring closure to the families who have lost loved ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book written perfectly, July 5, 2011
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
I loved this book dearly. My Spring semester was a success and I really appreciate the fact that it isnt the ordinary ''textbook'' that we are required to spend tons of money on. It's way more than that and you'll develop a sharper image of what an investigator really does and it keeps you thrilled. What better way to learn?! and to learn from someone who has actually experienced being an investigator himself puts the icing on the cake. I recommend this book to anyone who's interesting in law enforcement.You won't be disappointed. Thanks professor Giacalone... (Mz MaeWest)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put: A "good read" for any law enforcement., June 29, 2011
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
Well-organized and written in a clear and crisp format. The book provides fundamental investigative, legal and procedural concepts for novice and seasoned investigators. Joe's clever use of acronyms throughout the book makes recalling key points really easy. If you are going from patrol to investigations, do yourself a favor and take a look at this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cop, Great Book, June 27, 2011
This review is from: The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators (Paperback)
Joe turned a text book into a page turner. He writes well and it is always a good thing to have a book written by a guy who has been there, done that, and has the t shirt to prove it. You will love his home made acronyms, they are a hoot. As a retired criminal investigator and street cop, I appreciate good work when I see it. My hats off to Joe for a job well done.

William R Bell
Retired cop, current author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators
The Criminal Investigative Function: A Guide for New Investigators by Joseph L. Giacalone (Paperback - December 9, 2010)
Used & New from: $25.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.