Customer Reviews


1,527 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,067)
4 star:
 (299)
3 star:
 (104)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect family film
This movie was some of the most fun i've had with a movie in a long time. It was hilarious, emotionally deep and original on every turn. The moral and underlining tone is as relevant as ever. Going against everything you know in order to survive and actually live your life is something we all must come to terms with and this movie hits the nail on the head. The graphics...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. Joe Newman

versus
44 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought it would be.
I admit, I went into the film thinking this was going to be a total bomb, but a friend had a free ticket for a pre-release showing of the movie, so I thought, why not?

The Croods is a story about one of the last surviving pre-historic families that embark on a road trip looking for a new cave when their old cave is destroyed as the earth is going through many...
Published 16 months ago by Kathlee S. Bell


‹ Previous | 1 2153 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect family film, April 27, 2013
This review is from: The Croods (DVD)
This movie was some of the most fun i've had with a movie in a long time. It was hilarious, emotionally deep and original on every turn. The moral and underlining tone is as relevant as ever. Going against everything you know in order to survive and actually live your life is something we all must come to terms with and this movie hits the nail on the head. The graphics are incredible, the soundtrack is heart racing and dialogue is fluidly natural.

From the previews I did not expect it to be this good but I was pleasantly surprised. This is an absolutely perfect family film. It's hilarious, touching and relevant. Everyone should see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I can say is HILARIOUS MOVIE!!!!!!, June 16, 2013
By 
Erica (Orange County, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Croods (DVD)
The previews for this movie made me not want to see it at all, but I ended up taking my niece & nephew to it in the theater (both far apart in ages) and they both LOVED it, and I have to admit I did too! Actually everyone in the theater watching it was cracking up, it has a ton of hilarious lines from every character in it. Best part, it was consistently funny throughout, not just in a couple of scenes, with jokes geared for all ages. A very creative story too with the family obviously (The Croods) who are the last surviving cavemen family. Their curious teenage daughter Eep runs into a more humanly "evolved" guy, actually whose name is Guy who lets her know the world is coming to an end. The Croods are afraid of life where animals hunt you at all times, but when their cave is destroyed in an earthquake, they are forced on a journey with their survival guide, Guy to stay alive. A MUST WATCH ANIMATED MOVIE!!!! Best one I've seen in a long time! The writer/director -Chris Sanders, who made Lilo & Stitch & also How To Train Your Dragon did this one! Hopefully Dreamworks holds on to him for future animated movies, Disney definitely missed out by letting that guy go!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamworks proves they are the best! Refreshingly DIFFERENT!, September 17, 2013
By 
John Owens (Fresno, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Croods (Amazon Instant Video)
Well, I want to write a review, but I'm afraid you will think I'm a Dreamworks plant, or something.

This movie makes me hate watching movies with my kids...for the first 10 run-throughs. The reason? My kids won't stop repeating the lines and laughing and saying, "Dad, did you hear that part when he said 'blah blah blah'?"

This movies has it all. It is funny. It is inventive. It has cave drawings. It has unrefined, crazy, cave-man behavior. It has touching, heart-warming moments. It has action. It has death-defying feats. It has monsters, but interestingly no real villains...except the subtle Earth-Apocalypse hint. It has weird creatures and never-before-seen extinct species. It has politically-correct free/wild pets. It has family dinners, for the old fashioned, but less-than-perfect manners for the non-prude. It has dreams. It has in-laws (great for laughs). It has little side jokes and stories that make kids laugh, but they aren't stupid or simiple, so adults laugh too. (Kind of like Shrek: intelligent humor for adults wrapped in silly stuff for the kids = cha-ching!) I have watched it 3 times now to catch all the quick one-liners that I missed or forgot. You'll never guess how it ends because it never gives away the plot like most movies do. It is very fast paced. There are enough jokes and funny comments to fill 3 movies. You literally can't catch it all and savor the "funny" in just one viewing.

Just good, relaxing fun for all ages. If you like movies, you'll like this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for kids as well as adults!, April 5, 2013
My 7 yr old daughter took mom & Grandma to see this when it came out. She was so excited and it did not disappoint any of us. This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. It delivered a wonderful message for everyone! Now if only someone can come up with grown up movies that are original, excellent quality all around, heartfelt, and that stick with you & make you think long after you leave the theater, that's what we'd gladly spend our hard earned money to go and see. Keep these kinds of movies up, please :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Croods, April 16, 2013
By 
This movie is hilarious. i love the characters and the story was good. you don't see to many caveman movies and i thought that this was a good one. i just love dreamworks animation films. this is the best one since shrek and kung fu panda. the movie is not boring at all. it was well made. great for the whole family. if you have not seen this movie then i recommend you do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see!, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Croods (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie has it all for all ages. This could be super for preschool to highschool. It is super fun, the story line moves, the characters are outstanding, the colors blow you away. It is one to see and even own. The characters are ones you relate to but the relationships are amazing. The character growth really is a key element to this movie.

The way the artists created the creatures, different geography, different regions was five stars! The colors, imagination and visuals are pushing the animation limit for this season.

Just typing this review makes me want to go and watch this movie over again. It has humor, action, romance (cute and clean), relationships, teen growth, trusting others, learning new ways and so much more packed inside this movie!

Just go watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Croods - Taking Notes From Ice Age, March 20, 2013
I saw this movie at a prescreening event at my local theater. I went in without any expectations as I hadn't seen any of the advertisements other than movie posters. When I left the theater, I was more than pleased. The version showed at the event was in 3D. I found it to be very exceptional as I noticed it the whole way through without getting lost in it. It enhanced my movie going experience with the amount of depth that was perceived. It literally felt like looking into a box.

This is a movie that succeeds as a family movie. In my opinion, there weren't any questionable content at any point in the film. My kids enjoyed it and asked if we could buy it when it comes out.

One thing I did notice about this movie is there many elements taken from the Ice Age franchise. I don't want to divulge too much as to include spoilers but when watching the movie, I recommend you matching this movie against each of the Ice Ages and you will see many similarities.

Overall, the movie had heart and a lot of funny moments. I wouldn't be surprised if it was followed by a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous animation, engaging characters and good use of 3D make for a highly enjoyable movie, March 29, 2013
By 
If The Croods has a familiar feel to it, it's because it deals with familiar themes - coming of age, fish-out-of-water experiences, confronting one's fears, and of course, the most familiar theme of all, family. That said, there's a lot to be said for the ways in which The Croods takes on these themes. The animation is beautifully done, the voice cast highly talented, and, unlike most other 3D films, the 3D is put to good use here, both of which should not be surprising when you consider that a lot of the same talent that made How To Train Your Dragon, one of the best 3D animated films ever made, was also behind the making of The Croods.

Set somewhere in an imagined prehistoric past, the film starts with a pelt-wearing girl named Eep (engagingly voiced by Emma Stone), talking about her family of cave-dwellers living deep in a rocky canyon, who apparently survive by adhering to the strict rules of the head of the family, her over-protective, over-cautious and over-bearing father Grug (Nicolas Cage), the number one rule being 'Never leave the cave!' Back in their cave, Grug is telling a story to the rest of the family - wife Ugga (Catherine Keener), younger daughter Sandy (Randy Thom), son Thunk (Clark Duke), and mother-in-law (the inimitable Cloris Leachman) - using a prop that represents Eep and her curious nature. None too subtly, Grug uses his story - and the unfortunate prop - to warn the family that curiosity, exploration and 'new things' are all threats to their survival and therefore to be avoided at all costs. While the rest of the family are appropriately chastened by Grug's bluntly cautionary tale, it only irritates Eep who longs to see what lies beyond their cave. And particularly above their cave, where a sliver of blue sky beckons. So when night comes and the rest of the family falls asleep, Eep decides to ignore her father's advice and she leaves the cave.

While she's out exploring, Eep unexpectedly meets another another human, a caveboy named Guy (Ryan Reynolds) whose intelligence and adventurous nature are a refreshing change from her cautious risk-averse father. She becomes fascinated when Guy shows her fire for the first time and she immediately wants to learn more. It also doesn't hurt that Guy is something of a prehistoric hottie who has also apparently invented fashion, aided by his pet/sidekick/accessory, a long-armed mini-sloth named Belt (voiced by Chris Sanders, who was also the voice for Stitch in Lilo & Stitch). Guy ends up telling Eep though about his belief that their world is reaching its 'end' and wants Eep to come with him, but Eep cannot forsake her family. Before he leaves, Guy gives Eep a horn made from a conch shell which she can use to call him if she feels the need for help. Eep is then found by Grug who had been frantically searching for her, even though it meant leaving the safety and security of the cave. But just as they are returning home, an earthquake brings down the rock walls of the canyon they inhabit, destroying the cave. Grug and the rest of the family are distraught, but Eep ventures to an opening in the rock walls that the earthquake has created, and there she discovers a new land just beyond, a land filled with lush brightly-colored vegetation and teeming with wildlife, at once beautiful and strange. And in some cases, it turns out, quite, quite dangerous.

Venturing reluctantly into this new world, Grug and Eep and the others must learn how to survive in it. And later, when they meet up with Guy, Grug has the additional unwelcome challenge of dealing with the threat (to his authority, anyway) of a younger male whom his daughter is obviously attracted to but who stands for everything he deems dangerous and to be avoided.

All of the characters are well done and distinctive, both in their look and in their voicing, but one of the things I particularly liked about the way Eep was drawn was that she actually has the kind of solid, athletic build it would take to engage in the kinds of activities she does - like climbing up rock walls unassisted. You have no trouble believing that she can do the things she does in the film.

If, as some people have noted, the quality of the story-telling in The Croods tends to be uneven in places, I think this is due to the film's rather convoluted production history, which is worth relating here. Originally, back in 2005, the film was intended to be a stop-motion animation film to be produced by Aardman Animations as part of a deal with DreamWorks Animation, working from a screenplay by John Cleese (yes, that John Cleese) and Kirk DeMicco, based on a short story called "The Twits" by Roald Dahl. Cleese and DeMicco reworked the script to fit a film idea DreamWorks had about two cavemen on the run, one an inventor-type while the other was suspicious of anything new. But Aardman dropped out of the project in 2007, with the rights to the film reverting to DreamWorks. Chris Sanders, the director of Lilo & Stitch, was brought in by DreamWorks to direct the film, and began making significant rewrites to the script. But then in September 2008, Sanders took over directing How to Train Your Dragon, which resulted in The Croods being put on the back-burner and its release date pushed back a year. In May 2009, DeMicco was brought back on as co-director, but further delays results in the release date being pushed by yet another year.

In the end, the story was something of a mixed result with Sanders and DeMicco as the primary influences. The best parts are clearly the work of Sanders, who not only wrote and directed both Lilo & Stitch and How to Train Your Dragon but also worked as writer on notable films like Mulan, The Lion King, Aladdin and Beauty & the Beast. DeMicco, on the other hand, has a somewhat less stellar record consisting of films like Space Chimps, Racing Stripes and Quest for Camelot. All things considered, it's remarkable that The Croods turned out as well as it did.

Highly recommended for anyone who likes a good story with engaging characters coupled with well-done animation where the 3D actually adds something to the feel of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Movie I've Ever Seen, August 7, 2013
This review is from: The Croods (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this movie SOOOO much!! A great family movie, especially a daddy-daughter movie :) I went to see it in theaters six times and always cried :) It's hilarious, the picture is great, really emotional, and leaves a warm fuzzy feeling :D This movie is truly fantastic. And to you dads out there, you should really get your daughters, snuggle up with some popcorn, and enjoy the show!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An evolutionary step forward for female protagonists, March 26, 2013
"The Croods" is one of those rare family films that is actually about a family. Like so many of these animated flicks, the plot is supposedly about slapstick humor but is actually about the erosion of father figure Grug's (Nicolas Cage) authority as leader of the family unit. Throw in a burgeoning romance between his eldest daughter Eep (Emma Stone) with stranger Guy (Ryan Reynolds) and you have...well you have the exact same plot of "Hotel Transylvania." Only better.

In the world of the Neanderthal, the Croods have to work hard to stay alive, a fact the film never shies away from. A thrilling hunt sequence concludes with barely enough food to feed wife Ugga (Catherine Keener), baby Sandy (Randy Thom), son Thunk (Clark Duke) and arch-nemesis/mother-in-law Gran (Cloris Leachman). Their brutal world involves spending most of the day hunting for eggs in the desert, and then cowering in a heap in a cave at night. In case it's not clear, "The Croods" demonstrates that Grug's over-protectiveness is well-earned by throwing, get this, a bearowl at the family over and over. This is probably the closest gamers are ever going to see the Dungeons & Dragons equivalent of an owlbear on screen.

The true threat turns out to be both physical and existential: first in the inevitable separation of Pangea and then the arrival of a boy. That boy happens to be homo sapien Guy and his pet sloth, Belt (Chris Sanders). Guy has lots of interesting ideas like fire, puppets, and an apocalyptic vision that piques cute redhead Neanderthal Eep's interest in him. You can guess where this is going, right?

When the apocalypse destroys the cavemen's cave, the family is forced into a land lush with vegetation, animals, food - and predators. Lots and lots of predators. Where and when the Croods live is undefined, but it's a lot like "Avatar: The Last Airbender" in that fauna is a mix of two or more animals: mousephants, piranhakeets, liyotes, jackrobats...you get the idea. Grug discovers that his usual fight or flight tactics are not enough in this strange new world. It will require flexibility, courage, and no small amount of imagination to reach their new home.

Along the way, "The Croods" isn't afraid to make fun of family dynamics. Grug routinely trains Thunk to take the lead in the hunt even though it's obvious Eep is the superior of just about every character on screen, including the physically weaker object of her affection, Guy. Much of Grug's motivation is determined by the possibility that elderly Gran will finally kick the bucket. And Eep must learn how to separate herself from her family without losing her identity. It's heavy stuff for a kid's film.

Most of the time the film rumbles along at a breakneck pace, careening from natural disasters to bizarre animals and back again. But then there's a lot of talk about feelings, Grug threatens Guy, and Guy comes up with a solution involving genre-stretching puppets. This happens not once, but twice, and during those talky moments my son fidgeted in his seat.

But then more explosions happen, the family rallies, and Belt shouts his trademark, "Dun, dun, DUNNNN!" Kids were repeating it in the audience, so mission accomplished. Although it's not always a smooth ride, any film where the female protagonist is smarter, stronger, and more creative than her male counterparts is a great evolutionary step forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2153 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Croods (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray / DVD + Digital Copy)
$48.99 $22.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.