Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Yet
After reading many books on the subject of Islam this is by far the most comprehensive review of the threat to the Church and what Christians must do to survive. America, especially the Church, is not even aware that mosques are taking over empty church buildings and that our freedoms and culture are at stake. It is a wake-up call to Americans, Christians, and all those...
Published 20 months ago by Larry and Connie

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An essential look at Islam's impact on the Church - with a significant flaw
Lutzer is conflicted.

On one hand, this is one of the few books that explains well the Islamic threat to Christianity in America. It is well written and substantially accurate. It correctly points out "that the greatest challenge we face might be within the church itself - the dimness of our light is just as much a problem as the depth of the world's...
Published 14 months ago by Objective


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Yet, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent: An Informed Response to Islam's War with Christianity (Paperback)
After reading many books on the subject of Islam this is by far the most comprehensive review of the threat to the Church and what Christians must do to survive. America, especially the Church, is not even aware that mosques are taking over empty church buildings and that our freedoms and culture are at stake. It is a wake-up call to Americans, Christians, and all those who appreciate the freedoms we have grown accustomed to and take for granted. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Panoramic View of all these issues., February 26, 2013
This review is from: The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent: An Informed Response to Islam's War with Christianity (Paperback)
The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent is Dr. Erwin Lutzer's newest book, and perhaps one of his most important. Dr. Lutzer has searched Scripture, mined history, and watched current events unfold for the last decades. He combined these areas of expertise to write this book. This book is a panoramic view of politics, world history, Church history, and missionary work as they relate to the Islamic agenda.

We need this book in our time. As Americans we need this book. America is the focus of much attention by the part of Islam that desires to dominate. And America has been sleeping, drifting off to the lullaby of Political Correctness and Tolerance.
When the terrorist attacks of 9/11 occurred, few of us knew what "Jihad" was, or why they were attacking. Now, most Americans know a little about terrorism. And that is good, but not enough. Islam's agenda includes terrorism, but only as one of twelve major steps to world domination.

The leader of the Muslim Brotherhood has proclaimed blatantly that Muslims "must understand that their work in America is a kind of grand jihad in eliminating and destroying the Western civilization from within and sabotaging its miserable house by their hands.."
Muslim protestors have said "We will use the Freedoms of the Constitution to destroy the Constitution."

One Muslim leader said "I have no doubt in my mind, Muslims sooner or later will be the moral leadership of America..either we do it now or we do it after a hundred years, but this country will become a Muslim country."

We need this book both as members of a nation where freedom was hard won and valued and as a Church where freedom in Christ is proclaimed, because this is even more important to us as Christians. We are called to reach out to all people in false religions with the saving Gospel of Christ. How do we reach Muslims with the Gospel? How do we speak truth to Muslims in kindness and still oppose Islam's agenda?

The Muslims in this religion are people like us. How do we reach them *as* people?

Dr. Lutzer's pastoral heart shines in this book as he answers this question. "Only love can overcome suspicion and hatred. If you ask former Muslims who converted to Christianity what won their hearts, they often repeat the words of Jesus: 'Love your enemies.' This is so antithetical to Islam that when Muslims encounter Christians who love them, they have no defense."

The eternal question that we ask when addressing Mormons and Jewish people and everyone else must be asked here... How do we speak the Truth in Love?

We must not change the Gospel to avoid offense, but we must not speak harshly and give offense either. And if we leave either Love or Truth behind, we sin. We also fall into one of two errors.

Dr. Lutzer calls these errors the "EXPOSE THE WORST (AND PREACH NO GOSPEL)" error and the "THOU SHALT NOT OFFEND" error. Due to pro-Islamic bias in our government education system and media, very few people take the "EXPOSE" error. The "NO OFFENSE" error is far more popular.
The false doctrine of "Chris-lam" is one of the fruits of this error.

A very important portion of this book is dedicated to addressing "Chris-lam," a merger of Islam and Christianity. (To readers of Narnia, this reminds us of the false religion created to control the people by merging the false "Tash" and the true Aslan, creating "Tashlan.") The idea is deadly. Churches within the US have fallen into it however, with Qurans in the pews and guest Imams speaking to a Biblically illiterate membership. It has been predicted that very Liberal Protestants and Muslims will coalesce as they promote Chris-lam.

One of the pivotal passages in this book is found here "We should not see a dichotomy between a realistic view of our challenges and continuing to be a loving witness to those around us. We must learn from our Christian brothers and sisters in Muslim-dominated countries, who have learned to do both."
As Christians and as Americans we need to understand Islam's theology. What drives Islamists to do what they do, what consumes them?

We need to understand what Islamic words mean- and what the words mean when Islamists are using them. ("Jihad" is now defined as a struggle against personal sin, according to some modern Muslims. According to many Imams however, Jihad is a Holy War for Allah.)

We need to understand what the Quran teaches about Christians and Jews, about Jesus, about the Cross. Why do Muslims destroy the symbol of the Cross and build a mosque when they conquer?
Does the Quran teach War against the Infidel? Is it a book of violence that fuels hatred, or a book of peace and love? How can loving and raging verses be quoted from the same book?
We need to understand why Islamists attack Christians the way they do and how we as a Church respond. We need to be moved in prayer and action for our Christian brethren in Muslim nations. And we need to stop fearing and or hating the Muslims around us and begin ministering to them in practical, Gospel focused ways. That is what Jesus commanded us to do. Let us do it, for His glory. Muslims are no further from the Cross than we were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Help for Muslims Considering Conversion, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent: An Informed Response to Islam's War with Christianity (Paperback)
Mr. Lutzer is very familiar with the arguments that Muslims give in defense of their religion while attacking Christianity. He understands full well the implications if we remain too complacent and "politically correct" as we cave in to Islamic demands in our literature, our schools, our laws. He lays out the destruction and death toll of Christians and churches worldwide. The numbers are shocking. On pp. 192-193 Lutzer gives us the emotional "Victim trump card" that Muslims use to defend their actions. Lutzer has managed to dissect not the 'history' of Islam so much as the emotional motivator behind Islamic deceptions, excuses, and actions. He explains to us what we must explain to Muslims if there is to be any dialogue between the two faiths. He states 0n p. 140; "Without the protection of Islam as a religion, it would never survive." There is much to think about in this book. I recommend this read for everyone everywhere.
I would give it ten stars if I could. This is important. Very important. Suzanne Olsson, author, 'Jesus in Kashmir, The Lost Tomb.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An essential look at Islam's impact on the Church - with a significant flaw, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent: An Informed Response to Islam's War with Christianity (Paperback)
Lutzer is conflicted.

On one hand, this is one of the few books that explains well the Islamic threat to Christianity in America. It is well written and substantially accurate. It correctly points out "that the greatest challenge we face might be within the church itself - the dimness of our light is just as much a problem as the depth of the world's darkness." Here the author explains the churches ignorance and indifference to the threat of Islam being the likely result of not being serious about our own Christian faith.

But here is the kicker, a significant flaw in the book:

Lutzer inadequately defines the extent of the Muslim threat. He uses the term "Islamist" throughout the book to refer to "extremists only." By doing this he is assuming that Muslims who are not classified as "extremists" are all ok - not a problem - not a part of the theat. What is a Muslim "extremist?" Is it one who wears a bomb vest or has explosives in his underwear? Is it one of thousands who monetarily contribute to the many Islamic terror groups or among the tens of thousands who are sympathetic? Is it one among the majority who desires or promotes Sharia law in the US? He doesn't really say. That is left purposely vague, I presume, so that he does not offend the Muslims who presently have no plans to do us harm.

Fear of offending, sacrificing the whole truth, remains a problem of the Church - and of Lutzer's otherwise fine book. At best, Lutzer gives us mixed messages, first qualifying the threat, distinguishing "extremists" from Muslims and Islam in general and then giving a more accurate depiction of the widespread Islamic influence throughout the Muslim community. This is a big mistake.

The reality is that even "moderate" Muslims are culturally connected to the radicals. Many or most of them will likely side with their more radical cohorts when push comes to shove. Worse, recent history has demonstrated that we have consistently failed to correctly identify "moderates" since many of them have turned out to be true extremists.

The key point that Lutzer did not clearly make is that the orthodox Islamic ideology taught and promoted by Muhammad, reflected in the Islamic scriptures, and taught by the majority of Islamic scholars today is "extremist." Muslims who are not extremist are either apostate or cultural Muslims, or are "sleeper" Muslims hiding their true devoutness to blend in with our culture as so many terrorists have done. But even those who presently appear to be the nice cultural Muslim next door will most likely maintain allegiance to the radical as numerous polls have indicated.

Not all Muslims who took over the churches in Europe and converted them to Mosques were extremists, either. Most were likely every day cultural Muslims who, together, exerted just enough influence to make life miserable for the former Christian majority.

Lutzer says "we must see Muslim as people who long for peace and happiness...and who want to do right by Allah as they understand him." That is the problem. "As they understand" the Islamic Allah is part of the problem. The Islamic Allah is absolutely different from God - not at all the same. Lutzer fails to highlight this distinction in the context of his statement urging charitability toward Muslims who just "want to do right by Allah as they understand him."

He says the way the church addresses the problem of Islam is either the "Thou shalt not offend" method, or the "We must expose the worst about Islam" approach. He is against both approaches and seeks the middle ground. I suppose the middle ground to Lutzer is to NOT inform the folks about the worst of Islam, but dialogue with them suspecting they are all convert-able. Dialogue with them. News flash: Not exposing the worst of Islam is the same as not revealing the truth about Islam. That seems insane and un-Christian. The only way to effectively confront the problem of Islam is to know all we can about it, including "the worst" which is in itself quite extensive. In fact, "the worst about Islam" is the entire ideology, beginning with Muhammad and extending all the way to the present day leadership that promotes sedition in the US, terror attacks, taqiyya-lying doctrine, mis-treatment of women, Sharia, hate of Christians, Jews and the West, on and on. And Lutzer says we should not expose the WORST about Islam? That belief certainly degrades Lutzer's understanding of Islam in my book despite the many accurate facts about Islam he included.

Yes, he does appear conflicted and his book shows it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most important books out there, April 10, 2013
By 
DJ "On Ice" (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent: An Informed Response to Islam's War with Christianity (Paperback)
I just finished reading The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent, and all I can say is: wow! This has got to be the best book I've read by far on the issue of Islam's growth in the Western world and how Christians are to respond. I had no idea regarding the big problem that America and Europe has now with radical Islam and their desire to push their Sharia law into effect and thus promote intolerance. It's just astounding to learn how much Europe and American has gone to accomodate Muslims, in public schools, work places, etc (something even people of other religions don't get!). This book reveals the true story of Islam's agenda in America, and how we need to be aware of it before it is too late. This book should not only be read by Christians, but by people in government and legislation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Passive America will have to deal with an Islamic America., February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked the book in general, but felt the author went into a lot of details regarding the history of Islam that most of us reading the book enjoyed, but is relevant only to the point that Islam has not changed for 1500 years. I don't feel he ever came to a "bottom line" regarding what we should do about the "shadow of the crescent", except that we are to witness to them. He thinks most Muslims are moderate, and that may be true, but they are not the ones that threaten the US, England, Germany or the rest of the civilized world. We are going to be in trouble, and Dr. Lutzer could have been stronger in taking a stand against Islam and Shariah Law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative re: Islam, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lutzer is balanced in his approach to warning/ministering to Muslims. It is my first foray into learning about Islam and its dangers to a free society. Lutzer is warning Christians that what happened to Christians in the past (Turkey, North Africa, etc) can happen to us in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sobering but ultimately hopeful look at the path our country is heading down, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent: An Informed Response to Islam's War with Christianity (Paperback)
As I read Erwin Lutzer's well reasearched book I was impressed with the in-depth historical background he presented. What our country is beginning to experience as far as Islam's infiltration into every aspect of our society, is not a new thing. It has been going on for a very long time in other countries, and successfully too. Many have given in to Islamic demands, and now they are under Islamic law.

Dr. Lutzer suggests we should not give in to despair, but instead he gives practical, workable, albeit not simple, solutions for Christians, and others concerned about the direction this country is going, to take back what we've lost, keep what we still have, and use this opportunity to demonstrate the love of Christ to the Muslims in our country.

I would highly recommend concerned citizens read this book. Things are changing rapidly in this country. You should inform yourself so you can prepare for the future, and hopefully help to divert it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very accurately communicates what is going on in our society. Gives the correct answers to the true solution to the problem. Highly recommend the book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !!!!, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Reading this book makes you realise that difficult times are ahead of us.
Learning from history and today makes you aware of the war that is on his way coming into our western world.
Erwin writes in a clear way (with lots of examples) the world of today.

All Christians should read this book !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cross in the Shadow of the Crescent: An Informed Response to Islam's War with Christianity
$14.99 $12.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.