Customer Reviews


510 Reviews
5 star:
 (434)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Spinoff To Date.
This series had a variety of unique features, a great cast, chemisrty, on, under & over the top plots, infuriating personalities, Bulldog the sports announcer & sexist twit with few positives, & very endearing ones Frasier, who makes a mess of things{especially his dealings with women} yet you root for him because he keeps trying.

Frasier Crane a psychologist...
Published on November 5, 2007 by SUPPORT THE ASPCA.

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why no subtitles?
i absolutely love Frasier but continue to be disappointed with many region1 dvds that do not have subtitles....can someone a reason??? i'm forced to purchase region2 DVDs for that reason - i have a deaf brother and subtitles are a must
Published on March 8, 2005 by tont


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Spinoff To Date., November 5, 2007
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
This series had a variety of unique features, a great cast, chemisrty, on, under & over the top plots, infuriating personalities, Bulldog the sports announcer & sexist twit with few positives, & very endearing ones Frasier, who makes a mess of things{especially his dealings with women} yet you root for him because he keeps trying.

Frasier Crane a psychologist played by the enigmatic Kelsey Grammer has moved from Boston back to his hometown of rainy Seattle to take a job as a radio psychologist. In supporting roles are the great David Hyde Pierce as the even more finicky picky brother of Frasier who is also a shrink. He in my opinion steals more scenes than the rest of the cast members combined. Picture a very hyper "Felix Unger," & you will see how over the top Niles Crane truly is. The brothers cranky but common sense father, is played by John Mahoney, who gives his exasperating sons sound advice that they rarely take. His flaky English live in caretaker{Daphney Moon}, is the wickedly funny Jane Leeves. Frasier's hard bitten, man crazy co-worker Roz is played by Peri Gilpin. The exchanges between her & snooty Frasier are classic.

For me this was the best season of the whole series, the stories had plenty of variety without the usual predictability that so many shows quickly adopt. The cast had chemistry from the very begining. The relationships between the urbane brothers with its sibling rivalry & their relationship with their very provincial father was totally new on TV.

I can't remember anything involving sons & their father that was like this testy trio??? The latter were the heart & soul of the show. The best three episodes to my recollection were "The Good Son, Dinner At Eight, & My Coffe With Niles." Buy this one, you will laugh until it hurts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sitcom Ever!, January 11, 2004
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
I found myself a while back with a gift certificate in hand and nothing in sight on which to spend it. I chanced upon a copy of Frasier's first season on sale and, since I had always liked it when I had watched it sporadically throughout the years, I went ahead and bought it. I am glad I did. Frasier is an intelligent sitcom alternative for those disillusioned with the crap you so often see on other comedy shows. It has incredibly talented actors, the best writing on TV (this was before Aaron Sorkin came on the scene, anyway), and its blend of family and workplace comedy allowed the show to try out many things, which meant that things never got boring.
The leads and supporting cast are uniformly excellent. Grammer is one of the best comic actors ever and he is always great in his signature role. David Hyde Pierce steals many scenes as Frasier's uptight, snobbish brother Niles. John Mahoney's Martin often plays the straight man to Niles' and Frasier's antics, but he has perhaps the best dry humor of anyone in the cast. Jane Leeves and Peri Gilpin both brighten up the show as Daphne and Roz, respectively. One of the strengths of the show, though, is the strength of the supporting cast. I personally love the character of Bulldog, the grating, cheuvenist sports show host. Gil Chesterton is also featured in one episode of the first season, his character is the hilarious but devious food critic. Frasier's manipulative agent Bebe shows up here, as does Lilith, and both are fabulous. Simply put, the support cast is so strong the cast can feel like an ensemble at times.
The first season's highlights include Frasier and Niles going out to dinner with Martin at a decidedly non-fancy establishment (Dinner at Eight), a touching Christmas episode (Miracle on Third or Fourth Street), a return by Frasier's ex, Dr. Lilith Sternin (The Show Where Lilith Comes Back), and an episode revolving about the titular "My Coffee With Niles," in which Niles admits to his attraction to Daphne. That attraction was the cause of many funny moments in the first few years, when Niles and Maris were still together.
All in all, this show has always been funny and literate and successful; it shows that there is a market for smart TV out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally on DVD!, February 28, 2003
By 
Parker Benchley "Edward Garea" (Branchville, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
For those of us who love sophisicated, urbane comedy, Frasier has been our lightning rod for the last ten years. Far better than its predecessor, Cheers, it almost harkens back to its spiritual predecessor in Jack Benny. (It was no accident that Kelsey Grammer hosted a prime-time retrospective on the comedy of Benny.)
The merits of this show are almost too numerous to mention in a short review, but let's start with the cast. A strong group of ensemble players who are given free reign by the star (most refreshing that Grammer is not tempted to hog the limelight when confronted by this group) to define AND broaden their characters. No one remains static.
I realize that to go on is only to continue preaching to the choir. Those who have seen the show know all about it. Even those who have not seen the show have more than an inkling of what it's about. So let me now give you the most compelling reason to buy this DVD:
The only way to see the first season as it now stands is to watch it in reruns on various television stations. One also realizes on second or third viewing that more and more of the show is disappearing into the sea as more time is allotted for commercials. If you want to see it UNCUT and COMMERCIAL FREE at any time anywhere there's a DVD player and television handy, this is the only way you will ever be able to achieve that goal, and for fans of Frasier, it is a goal more than worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show - DVDs not spectacular, May 27, 2003
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
I am a big fan of the show and not much can be said that hasn't already been said about the shows themselves. I just wanted to comment specifically on the DVD presentation. The picture quality is average - maybe this has to do with the source materal but I was not blown away by the clarity. The sound is fine but seems to be louder than other DVDs - I have to set the volume down on my TV compared to most movies. Maybe this is something to do with my particular DVD player?
The discs are light on extras - most notably, the DVD is missing a "play all" feature - you have to go to the remote to start every episode. I would like to see this feature in the next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Doctor Crane Goes Home, May 21, 2003
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
After Cheers went off the air in 1993, NBC spun off a new series starring Kelsey Grammer who continues his role as Dr. Frasier Crane. Instead of keeping Frasier in Boston, they moved him back to his hometown of Seattle (although that is never mentioned as his hometown in Cheers, but Seattle was the trendy, cool city in 1993). Frasier has taken a job as a host of radio talk show on KACL where he will dispense psychiatric advice. The show's pilot episode finds the newly divorced Frasier settling into his new job and new lavishly decorated apartment ready to enjoy life as a bachelor. This set up is disrupted when his brother Niles (David Hyde Pierce) informs him that their father, Martin (John Mahoney), can no longer take care of himself (the fact that Frasier has a father is a bit of creative memory loss on the part of the creators because in an episode of Cheers where Frasier's son is having his bris, Frasier mentions that his father has long been dead and that he was a scientist, thus even his job was different. He would mention that his father was dead in subsequent episodes as well.). Martin is a former policeman who has hip problems that resulted from a gunshot wound he suffered in the line of duty. Frasier reluctantly agrees to take his father in after Niles says that he can't do it and a nursing home would be wrong. This is more than Frasier bargained for as not only does his father bring his dog, Eddie, but his wacky physical therapist Daphne Moon (Jane Leeves) and a tacky green, beat up old recliner that is his favorite chair and clashes with Frasier's high end décor. Niles is an even more hauty, prissy and uptight than Frasier and Martin is nothing like either of his sons. He likes simple things like ballgames and beer as opposed to opera and fine wine. The show employs a trick used on Cheers where like Norm's wife Vera, Niles' wife Maris is often mentioned and talked about, but never seen. Daphne is from Manchester, England and is a psychic. At the radio station, we met Frasier's producer Roz Doyle (Peri Gilpin) who is a brassy, man chaser. The show came up with a great gimmick to incorporate guest stars as callers into Frasier's radio show. Frasier would intone his now famous line of "I'm listening" and the guest voice would detail their problems and Frasier would respond. First season guest voices include actors Mary Tyler Moore, Christopher Reeve, Christine Lahti, Carl Reiner, Mel Brooks, Ben Stiller, Joe Mantegna, Jeff Daniels and Elijah Wood and non-actors Eddie Van Halen, Timothy Leary, Patty Hearst, Tommy Hilfiger, Dominick Dunne, Jay Leno, Rosemary Clooney and Gary Trudeau. Dan Butler's overtop character of Bob "Bulldog" Butler who hosts a sports talk show on KACL is also introduced and supplies big laughs every time he appears. Bebe Neuwirth was the first Cheers co-star to guest star on the show as she appears in sixteenth episode as Dr. Lilith Crane who comes to Seattle to try to reconcile with Frasier. A young Brittany Murphy has a guest role as a high school student in a hilarious episode where Frasier throws out Martin's chair and goes all over Seattle to find and it ends up it is being used in a high school play. Frasier is a rare spin-off that matched its parent series success. The show was an instant smash with the critics and in the ratings. The show has won a record number thirty Emmys in its ten year run and the show won five Emmys at the 1993-94 awards ceremony including the first of its unprecedented five consecutive wins for Outstanding Comedy Series (Cheers won four times). Mr. Grammer had been nominated for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series for his role as Frasier twice before (he was also nominated once for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series in 1992 for guest shot he had on Wings playing Frasier, the Emmys for some reason included one-time guest appearances in with the continued roles, but wisely changed the guest shots to a separate category), but he finally broke through with a win for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series. Frasier's first season had the advantage of being created, written and directed by the people who performed the same duties on Cheers. But instead of becoming a clone of Cheers, Frasier developed its own distinctive voice while maintaining the high standards set by Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go ahead, caller: I'm listening., October 6, 2003
By 
cplewis "cplewis" (Merrifield, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
If you're a fan of Frasier, you don't need me to tell you how great the first season of this show truly was -- from the uncomfortable arguments between Frasier and his father to the indescribable sexual tension between Daphne and Niles. This DVD set is a must-have for any Frasier fan.
Extras: The commentary behind the pilot was fascinating. I wish there had been more commentary and/or interviews with the actors, but I hear this is coming with Season 2 (due out in early 2004). The features with the guest callers (celebrity guest voices) was pretty neat too. The packaging is really nice and sturdy.
Biggest complaint (and the reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5): No sub-titles. The closed-captions are there, but on many TVs it's impossible to bring those up without muting the TV, which somewhat defeats the purpose. That said, though, the audio is generally very easy to understand and I wished for subtitles only on a handful of occasions.
Can't wait for the next volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please add subtitles for foreing viewers, July 10, 2003
By 
ma. nieves herrera (méxico, D.F. Mexico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
This DVD is excelent. The show is clever and funny. For the next seasons I would ask the DVD producers to add subtitles in spanish, french and english because the show is watched in many other countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovering Frasier, the impeccable first season., February 17, 2005
By 
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
Even with unlimited space, I don't think enough praise can be said about one of the finest sitcoms in television history.

I had been a fan of "Frasier" since the first episode aired back in 1993. But my tape collections had focussed mainly on the second through sixth seasons which I had at the time considered the show's peak. And I had this inherent notion that most of the 1st season episodes delt with Frasier's relationship with his father to the detriment of the rest of the cast. But that idea was quickly quashed once I viewed all the episodes of this wonderful season.

The pilot episode, "The Good Son" benefits from having an enthusiastic audience and very sharp writing. The bickering between Frasier and Marty does dominate the first few shows, but that quickly fades and we get some classic episodes involving Bulldog ("Ooops"), Marty and his love life (the hilarious "Guess Who's Coming to Breakfast?") and the introduction of Frasier's agent Bebe ("Selling Out"). That particular episode has, in my honest opinion, the best radio comment by Frasier ever done in the show's history (it happens at the beginning of the episode and it's about a boat).

The best episodes are on disc 3, highlighted by Niles 'n Daphne's first encounter, if you will (the riotous "A Midwinter Night's Dream"). That episode has one of the funniest lines in the series history (I won't give it away, but it does have to do with the German name for a particular clock). And "The Show Where Lilith Comes Back", which rekindles the sparks Frasier 'n Lilith had on "Cheers".

Extras:
The commentary for "The Good Son" is okay, but nothing really inciteful. The documentary about the first season is rather perfunctory with short interviews of the cast (the interviews appear to have happened during the tenth or eleventh season).
The art director for Frasier gives us a walkthrough of the set, but it is needlessly chopped up into different clips that send you back to the menu screen way too often.

All in all, if you're a fan of Frasier you must, Must, MUST begin your collection with this wonderful DVD set. And while the 1st season may not be the best, it is probably much better than you might remember.

Trivia Bits:
- Originally, Lilith (Bebe Neuworth) was intended to be a regular on the show, but backed out early in the production process. It's funny, but I remember thinking waaaay back in '93 before the first show aired that "Frasier" wouldn't be that interesting without Lilith. Boy was I wrong.

- The "documentary" feature neglects (probably due to editing considerations) that Lisa Kudrow actually won the part of Roz and she lasted a week before both she and the producers realized just how wrong for the part she was.

- Interestingly enough, Niles doesn't meet Daphne until the THIRD episode ("Dinner at Eight") but he is smitten with her right from the start.

- Look for a young Brittany Murphy in the episode "Give Him the Chair". She appears in the "play" setting and is the only girl (other than the play director) to speak. She may be a bit tough to recognize since she's lost a pound or two since then, but her eyes are unmistakable.

- Does Niles' pirate shirt in "A Midwinter Night's Dream" look familiar? It certainly bears a strong resemblence to Seinfeld's "Puffy Shirt" from the same season. For the record, that particular Seinfeld episode aired on Sept. 23rd, 1993 while "Midwinter..." was first viewed on Feb. 10th, 1994.

- All the "stingers" that appear during the end credits have no natural sound, only the "Tossed Salad and Scrambled Eggs" theme music sung by Kelsey Grammer. However, there are two exceptions during the first season. In "Sold Out" the stinger continues the scene of Frasier holding his breath underwater while Daphne and Marty enjoy the hot tub. At the end, you can hear Frasier's exhale as he pops his head above the water. And in "The Show Where Lilith Comes Back" you can hear the jet engines of the airliner taking off as Daphne recovers from her "psychic" headache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why no subtitles?, March 8, 2005
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
i absolutely love Frasier but continue to be disappointed with many region1 dvds that do not have subtitles....can someone a reason??? i'm forced to purchase region2 DVDs for that reason - i have a deaf brother and subtitles are a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated, witty, and... hilarious!, April 19, 2005
This review is from: Frasier: Season 1 (DVD)
Along with Friends and Seinfeld, Kelsey Grammer's Cheers spin-off, Frasier, dominated the prime time television landscape during the 1990's. Grammer plays the role of Dr. Frasier Crane who, fresh off of his divorce from Lilith, moves back to his hometown of Seattle where he lands a gig as a radio psychiatrist. Frasier's father, Marty Crane (John Mahoney), a Seattle cop recently shot in an attempted convenience store robbery is in need of physical therapy. Frasier and his brother Niles (David Hyde Pierce) make an effort to mend their relationship with Marty whose plaid shirts and penchant for sports and beer strikes a dramatic contrast with their wine club, opera house culture. After a little prodding, Marty and his dog Eddie (Moose) move into Frasier's upscale apartment, and Frasier hires Daphne Moon (Jane Leeves), a housekeeper and physical therapist to look after the two cranes.

The entirety of the show takes place in mostly three places - Frasier's radio station where he works with show producer Roz Doyle (Peri Gilpin), Frasier's apartment, and the favorite hangout of Niles and Frasier, Café Nervosa. A witty comedic exploration of the nation's clash of cultures (also illustrated by Frasier's run-ins with sports guy Bob "Bulldog" Briscoe), Frasier stands alone as one of the best-written shows in television history. Not a single episode can be considered a dud.

Below is a list of episodes included on the Frasier (Season 1) DVD...

Episode 1 (The Good Son)

Episode 2 (Space Quest)

Episode 3 (Dinner At Eight)

Episode 4 (I Hate Frasier Crane)

Episode 5 (Here's Looking At You)

Episode 6 (The Crucible)

Episode 7 (Call Me Irresponsible)

Episode 8 (Beloved Infidel)

Episode 9 (Selling Out)

Episode 10 (Oops)

Episode 11 (Death Becomes Him)

Episode 12 (Miracle On Third Or Fourth Street)

Episode 13 (Guess Who's Coming To Breakfast)

Episode 14 (Can't Buy Me Love)

Episode 15 (You Can't Tell A Crook By His Cover)

Episode 16 (The Show Where Lilith Comes Back)

Episode 17 (A Midwinter Night's Dream)

Episode 18 (And The Whimper Is...)

Episode 19 (Give Him The Chair!)

Episode 20 (Fortysomething)

Episode 21 (Travels With Martin)

Episode 22 (Author, Author)

Episode 23 (Frasier Crane's Day Off)

Episode 24 (My Coffee With Niles)

The DVD Report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Crucible
The Crucible by James Burrows
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.