Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the Japanese version with bonus Larry Carlton footage!
This is a fine concert, I can't add anything that all the other reviews have stated so nicely...EXCEPT...the import version of this concert includes a 20 minute live Crusaders show from the late 70's, and features (then) Crusaders guitarist Larry Carlton, which includes a live version of "Spiral". Great stuff! There is very little live stuff on Carlton from that period...
Published on August 16, 2009 by Benjamin J. Neiman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never picked up
I was expecting something more but the songs and the way they played them just seemed to lag on and on, some first class sidemen but I got bored after awhile. The group has one of the best accumulation of songs over the years but this performance put me to sleep.
Published on December 5, 2011 by Brian P. Webb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the Japanese version with bonus Larry Carlton footage!, August 16, 2009
By 
Benjamin J. Neiman (Phila., Pa. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
This is a fine concert, I can't add anything that all the other reviews have stated so nicely...EXCEPT...the import version of this concert includes a 20 minute live Crusaders show from the late 70's, and features (then) Crusaders guitarist Larry Carlton, which includes a live version of "Spiral". Great stuff! There is very little live stuff on Carlton from that period and the Crusaders sound much more inspired in that footage, I must say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, December 16, 2008
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
I RECENTLY PURCHASED TWO OF THIS DVD FOR CHRISTMAS. LAST SATURDAY, I GOT THE URGE AND PLAYED IT. I WAS HOPING TO HOLD OUT UNTIL CHRISTMAS. ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS SET IS OFF THE HOOK BIG TIME. I THOUGHT I WAS BACK AT MORGAN STATE UNIV. CIRCA 1974. THE SOUND AND VISUAL QUALITY IS
SUPREME. THE NEW CRUSADERS ARE SMOKING. WILTON FELDER ALONE MADE MY SAT.
EVENING. READY FREDDY WASHINGTON IS ALWAYS STEADY AND FUNKY. JOE SAMPLE.(ENOUGH SAID) EVERYTHING WAS TIGHT AND FUNKY AND WHEN MISS CRAWFORD
HIT THE STAGE,ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE. THE HIGHLIGHT OF THE CONCERT IN MONTREAUX WAS THE UNDERRATED AND MASTERFUL RAY PARKER JR. THAT'S RIGHT MR.
GHOSTBUSTER AND RAYDIO LEADER WAS FANTASTIC. A MUST HAVE FOR ALL MUSIC LOVERS. I WAS TELLING A FRIEND THAT CASINO LIGHTS WAS MY ALL TIME FAVORITE DVD; IT NOW HAS SOME SERIOUS COMPETITION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very nice audio and video, August 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
The audio and video quality are very good on this dvd. The video looks almost like a bluray dvd and it sounds great too. If you love jazz and some of the Crusader's favorite old songs, I strongly recommend this dvd. I love it .......... i've watched it over & over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Crusaders, June 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
This is a great live performance of the Crusaders and Randy Crawford. You must have this one in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old school new groove, October 29, 2008
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
WOW!!! Joe Sample was awesome along with ray parker and the rest of the band, new sounds and old grooves set the crusaders apart from all the rest. Jazz at it's best the sound was great randy crawford voice is as strong as ever, just wish it had more songs from rural renewal cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crusaders Gold become older men, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
I purchased both the Crusaders Gold CD and this DVD of the Crusaders at Montreux 2003. The members look like myself - getting older - but the fabulous sound is still there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans must have!, January 19, 2009
By 
Martin Kovacic (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
Who likes Crusaders will love this DVD. Joe Sample and Randy Crawford ... hm, It's just amazing connection between music and voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
Great sound and video...I enjoy watching and listening over and over again...great arrangements by Sample and real Grovve...strongly recommend this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bom show, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
bom show com ótimos músicos o dvd chegou em perfeito estado uma boa mistura entre instrumental e voz, um conjunto em perfeita harmonia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll enjoy this concert!, February 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 (DVD)
This is a must hear concert for Crusaders fans. Just sit back and enjoy the music. Turn the volume up! I thoroughly enjoyed this dvd and like "being there" experience. The sound was excellent, despite the audio not actually being in 5.1 surround. I couldn't get my system after alot of tweaking and adjusting to send any audio to the center channel. However, I didn't notice this until I actually went over to the center channel. If you can set your receiver to mix in "DPL IIx Music" mode the sound will be just fine. The mix is still very clean and crisp, Randy Crawford still sounds great. The whole band was "tight". The price was best at Amazon too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003
The Crusaders: Live at Montreux 2003 by The Crusaders (DVD - 2008)
$9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.