Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are We Alone in the Universe? A Superb Story That Offers an Intersting Answer to the Question.
David Brin has always been one of my favorite authors. I like his story-telling abilities, and his writing style is clean and crisp. In The Crystal Spheres, however, he deviates from his normal prose style and creates something more lyrical, more "other-worldy."

Brin writes in many scientific journal, and one of the topics to which he has contributed is the...
Published on March 11, 2012 by Jonathon K

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short story by Brin
Brin's The Crystal Spheres was readable and had a few interesting bits, but the short format was disappointing. The author's talents are better served in his full length sc-fi works.
Published 23 months ago by T. Grow


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are We Alone in the Universe? A Superb Story That Offers an Intersting Answer to the Question., March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
David Brin has always been one of my favorite authors. I like his story-telling abilities, and his writing style is clean and crisp. In The Crystal Spheres, however, he deviates from his normal prose style and creates something more lyrical, more "other-worldy."

Brin writes in many scientific journal, and one of the topics to which he has contributed is the question of whether we humans are alone in the universe or not, and if we are not alone, just where is everyone? In The Crystal Spheres, he offers an imaginative explanation, but one perhaps not appropriate for the scientific journals. It is entirely appropriate for a science fiction short story, though.

Without going into too much detail, suffice it to say that Brin's explanation was quite interesting, both uplifting and sad, to an extent. And while this is a piece of fiction, after finishing the story, I so much wanted it to be true.

One thing I really liked about the story was Brin's writing technique of combining words. The story takes place far into the future, and it is logical that language would have evolved by then. Some authors, when faced with this scenario, take great pains to create entire new vocabularies. This can create a situation where more time is spent trying to decipher just what is being read than reading the story itself. What Brin does instead is combine everyday words into single words such as "goodstar," "greatdepression," "timestretched," and "smallbodies." The resultant words need no interpretation; however, they are different enough to interrupt the cadence of the story, giving it an almost lilting flow. And this gives a sense of verisimilitude to the narrative.

This is a very good story written by a very talented and accomplished author. This is not just my opinion. The Crystal Spheres was awarded the 1985 Hugo as the best short story of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely, old-school science fiction story, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those stories that reminds me of the best of Clarke or Asimov, a big idea of the universe and human destiny. It is a short story that you'll read quickly but it's a tale that will linger fondly in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting premise, interesting book, December 17, 2011
By 
David "David" (Dallas, TX, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
I'm generally not a big fan of modern SF (or what passes for it), but this one was good. The premise of the story was very intriguing, but it could have been developed a little more. Nonetheless, it was well worth the time investment and I want to read more of the author's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRIN AT HIS BEST, February 26, 2013
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
Short and sweet is my favorite kind of David Brin. His ideas are big. His characters are smart. The settings are one of a kind. This short story was a great find on our Kindle. I;ll look for more..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Short Read, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
Average for a short story. Expected a longer more developed story. Wasn't up to my expectations after reading many of Brin's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Brin at a good price, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
This classic Brin short story has all his usual trademarks - hard, far-forward science-based fiction told with a deep understanding of human desires and fears. David is totally on top of current science and yet can spin a credible yarn, with wonderful use of the language of today and perhaps tomorrow. Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short story by Brin, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
Brin's The Crystal Spheres was readable and had a few interesting bits, but the short format was disappointing. The author's talents are better served in his full length sc-fi works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratic, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
I found the narrator to be idiosyncratic and full of futuristic slang that was hard to follow. The story had some interesting science to it, but the characters were not very interesting to me. I had a difficult time getting into this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brin is great reading, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
As long as David Brin stays away from senescent fish co-habituating with land mammals on space ships its great reading, but unfortunately he keeps writing about these stupid Dolphins as though he wants to prove the concept, most everything else he writes is great reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting setting that touches on deep philosophy., January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crystal Spheres (Kindle Edition)
I really liked how the Main character was written and while I found some of the sociology unrealistic, I really loved the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Crystal Spheres
The Crystal Spheres by David Brin
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.