Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the top of more than 125 Cubs books
I have more than 125 books on the Cubs, and this certainly ranks among the top three or four. Not only is it an informative and detailed history, but it's readable as well. The pictures alone are just fascinating to browse through and pore over, and it's obvious that a skilled editor oversaw the entire project. A must-have book for any Cubs fan.
Published on November 21, 2007 by a reader

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but many facts are wrong
Overall, I thought this was a good book. It gives a good history of the team and the pictures that are used throughout the book are fantastic. Unfortunately, there are quite a few minor factual errors that were made that take away from the experience.

For example, when talking about the Cubs' collapse at the end of the 2004 season, they said Ryan Dempster blew...
Published on December 9, 2008 by John


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but many facts are wrong, December 9, 2008
By 
John (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
Overall, I thought this was a good book. It gives a good history of the team and the pictures that are used throughout the book are fantastic. Unfortunately, there are quite a few minor factual errors that were made that take away from the experience.

For example, when talking about the Cubs' collapse at the end of the 2004 season, they said Ryan Dempster blew a 3-0 ninth inning lead against the Mets in a game that kick started the collapse. While the blown game and the way in which it was lost is correct, it was LaTroy Hawkins who blew the game, NOT Dempster. In fact, they even said Hawkins had the day off and that was why he was not pitching.

Another example is just one page later when they are describing the Cubs' off-season moves before the 2007 season. They said that the Cubs "re-signed" Mark DeRosa. The problem with that is that DeRosa didn't play for the Cubs in 2006, so they didn't re-sign him, they just signed him as a free agent.

There are other errors like these throughout the book. While they aren't huge errors and don't take away from the overall feel of the book, they are simple factual errors that should not have been made when giving a history of the Cubs, especially considering the relative ease in which the correct facts could be found. If not for these mistakes, I most likely would have given the book five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the top of more than 125 Cubs books, November 21, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
I have more than 125 books on the Cubs, and this certainly ranks among the top three or four. Not only is it an informative and detailed history, but it's readable as well. The pictures alone are just fascinating to browse through and pore over, and it's obvious that a skilled editor oversaw the entire project. A must-have book for any Cubs fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
Hubby said that this was an awesome gift, he read it front to back in 1 day, he works a very busy schedule so that was amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cubs book, October 22, 2007
By 
Donna Ellingson "gram9" (Monroe, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
I am very pleased with this book. Going to make excellent gift for the Chicago Cubs history buff in my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift Idea for Every Cubs Fan, November 21, 2007
By 
S (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a great gift for a Sports Fan and better yet Cubs Fan then this is the best book! I bought this for my boyfriend and he loved it! The book contains great history and facts that even I didn't mind reading. The book also looks great on a coffee table and was way cheaper than at Barnes and Noble!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cubs, May 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy this product. I do not enjoy having to type a certain amount of words, I am about to start disliking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just short of great, February 15, 2013
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
There is much to recommend this book. It is about as thorough a history of the Cubs as I have read, one that gives ample coverage to every era in Cubs' history, even reaching further back than the founding of the National League in 1876, during the era when the White Stockings (the predecessors of the Cubs and not to be confused with the team from Chicago's South Side) toiled in the National Association. Moreover, Glenn Stout, the author, writes in a lively, engaging fashion, weaving in statistics (which, when relevant, as they are in this book, are never boring) with enough interesting anecdotes to keep every Cubs fan satisfied. Stout is willing to share space with a number of other authors, such as Scott Turow and the late Mike Royko, whose essays grace the pages of this book. Finally, a significant number of photographs break up the monotony of the two-column text and provide a sense of presence to the reader.

So, why isn't it a great book? For whatever reason, the author chose not to include any color photographs. I realize that so doing would probably add to the cost of the book. But this being a "coffee table" book, one that is not cheap to begin with, a few dollars more wouldn't have made much difference. Some color photographs would have considerably livened up the presentation.

Finally, a few more charts in the Appendix would have proved useful. While Stout includes a chart that gives the Cubs' record each year, where the team finished in the standings, and the name of the manager for that year, listing the yearly leader in average, homeruns, wins, ERA, etc., would have been a welcomed addition. (Also, for some reason, the Cubs' record for 1876 is missing. For those who want to know, the Cubs finished first in the initial season of the National League with a 52-14 record. Albert Spalding was the manager.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, March 2, 2009
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
I gave this to my boss for Christmas, and he seemed very happy about getting it. I had it shipped to him, so I didn't get to see quality or look through the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very happy!, February 11, 2008
By 
Gypsy (Chicago IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
I ordered this book as a gift for my boss, who is a HUGE Cubs fan. He said it was an awesome read. He was very happy with his gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cub History Book Yet!, November 3, 2007
By 
S. Ehr (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball (Hardcover)
I have just about all "Cubs history" books, this is the best. Real depth, not just BS and "oh why can't we win". This gives REASONS and reality plus great history and unique pictures. Well worth the cost and time reading. You won't be so quick to chew Wrigley gum either as a lot of the blame goes to P.K. that we just can't seem to shake off! Anyway, its 99 years and counting and NEXT year has to be our year, we deserve one every 100 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball
The Cubs: The Complete Story of Chicago Cubs Baseball by Glenn Stout (Hardcover - October 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $6.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.