Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful, Haunting and Emotional Journey, December 18, 2008
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
Having not seen the movie yet, I'm sure my interpretation of the music will change. The score is beautiful and different than I expected - it's not brooding or as achingly melancholic as the score for 'Atonement,' but there's a delicate quality about the music here. Early tracks play a little more upbeat and almost have a mysterious quality to them, like the track 'Love in Mourmansk." As the story of Benjamin and Daisy unfolds, the music grows more complex and sad - in parallel to the emotional journey that the two lovers go through. Well, I've said enough. It's a beautiful soundtrack, there are many great tracks throughout, "Meeting Again" is simply but beautiful track with intricate piano work that I strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful soundtrack in years!, December 27, 2008
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
Whether or not you see the movie, which is also beautiful (by the way), this is a soundtrack you MUST NOT MISS. Without going into detail of each piece, let me say, it is delicious and splendid. Make sure you can enjoy it with as much "noise-reduction" as possible, so as not to miss the delicate, yet powerful, tones of each instrument. You will find yourself softly humming the haunting theme over and over. This is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DESPLAT'S BUTTON SCORE IS STUNNING, January 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
ALEXANDRE DESPLAT SPEAKS WITH HIS OWN UNIQUE MUSICAL VOICE, WHICH IS A GREAT PLEASURE TO HEAR, BOTH WITH THE MOVIE HE ENHANCES AND ON ITS OWN.
IF YOU TREASURE MELODY AND CRISP, CLEAN ORCHESTRATION, YOU CANNOT DO MUCH BETTER. I APPLAUD THE FILM'S DIRECTOR, DAVID FINCHER, FOR LETTING HIS VOICE AND VISION STAND EQUALLY WITH THOSE OF MR. DESPLAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most competent film music of 2008, January 19, 2009
By 
Anthony W. Agee (Kansas city, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
I'll resist the temptation to glow about how happy I am with this music and simply state: this is the best film score I have heard in years.

I am not the least bit surprised to see words like "haunting" and "aching" in the other reviews here. Desplat's score is the music of the lonely and of the dreamers. It's musical and shies away from being manipulative and bombastic like most of today's film music...it compliments the film yet is highly listenable on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle but beautiful, December 21, 2008
By 
JY04 (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
'Sunrise on Lake Pontchartrain', 'Benjamin and Daisy', 'Love in Mourmansk', 'Postcards' and 'Alone at Night' are achingly wistful, exquisite pieces. Such beauty should not be overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting Desplat Music, January 7, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
A haunting and beautiful score from a composer with some interesting ideas. Seeing it within the film was also an experience. This is one of the most muted, yet dramatic scores in a film this year. It definitely deserves an Oscar nod.

Lovely orchestration and beautifully played, particularly the harp solos. The last track is one of the album's highlights.

The second disc is worth listening to for the film's source cues. Some fun stuff, but nothing earth-shattering. I give it four our five for this reason. It would have been more interesting to put more of Alexandre Desplat's score on the second disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous music, February 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
Since the movie this comes from is well worth seeing, listening to the soundtrack is another joy. I'm one who often listens to the music during a movie as much as the story itself. When themes can stand alone or when the music is as beautifully written as this one is, I thoroughly enjoy listening to the soundtrack to enhance whatever I'm doing. Usually I'm driving in the car listening so the miles and distance only seems to be more enjoyable when music like this fills the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Button is beautiful, January 16, 2009
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
This is a double CD that recreates all those magical moments from the movie in a beautiful and authentic soundtrack prodection. "Sunrise on Lake Pontchartrain" is a delicate composition that you'll want to listen to over and over again. And I never tire of the period songs,"Skokiaan" and "That's How Rhythm was Born." The characters "introduce" many selections on CD 2 which can be bothersome, however, I found that I actually enjoyed their sentiments after awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Button Soundtrack, February 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
Two disc CD with composed music on first one and previously composed music on second disc. Very nice listening. Should win Academy Award for best score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Haunting Score, January 26, 2009
By 
Ira A. Nathanson "catbruin" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button (Audio CD)
Lovely original score with accompanying disc that features many original vintage recordings that especially evoke the New Orleans of our memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button
The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button by Preservation Hall Jazz Band (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.