Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation STEM Toys & Games

The Cursed Crusade - Xbox 360
Format: Video GameChange
Price:$12.24+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on October 27, 2011
I have been interested in The Cursed Crusade for a while now, I enjoyed the demo but then reviews began coming out and were trashing the game pretty good so I wavered a bit on picking it up or not, however I had a 20 dollar gift card so I figured it would only set me back 20 bones so why not?

The Cursed Crusade is obviously not a AAA title as evidenced by it's small unknown development team and it's starting price of only 39.99 however while playing the game you can tell that the devs really did care about the game and did the absolute best they could with what they had. For starters the graphics are a mixed bag, they range from ugly to generic to decent to good to pretty darn cool looking (the cursed world). One thing that always looks quite good are the main character models, both Denz and Esteban look good and have some really nice animations.

Voice acting is again a mixed bag, the voice actors are at least trying, some are bad and some are decent and I would say that the decent outways the bad so the voice acting has not been a distraction for me. Its a good thing to that the voice acting is passable since there is a lot of it. The game contains a lot of cutscenes but the story has kept me interested thus far. The music score has been quite good and appropriate for the game.

Now on to the most important part of a game, the gameplay, a game can be the best looking and best sounding game ever but if the actual gameplay is a broken mess then whats the point? Cursed Crusade is a solid hack and slash game but its combat has more in common with Assassains Creed than God of War, its slow and methodical, lower end enemies can be dispatched with a few quick hits but higher end enemies will reguire you to parry and break their guard while other enemies will be heavily armored requiring you to break their armor before you can do any damage to them at all. Your weapons take damage as well and will eventually break and they actually degrade very quickly however you can pick up the weapons of vanquished enemies so there is never any lack of new weapons to pick up and holy cow are there a lot of different weapons and ways to combine them!

You can wield 2H swords, 1H swords, maces, spears, shields, crossbows, ect. and then you can combine them in many different ways like sword/shield, spear/shield, dual wield swords or maces or one of each and then every combination has several differnt combo moves that can be unlocked by upgrading using victory points that you earn at the end of each stage. You get graded at the end of each level and depending on how you did and how many collectibles you picked up you are awarded victory points to upgrade your character adding some rpg elements to the game, you can increase the usual suspects like strength and constitution but you can also upgrade your armor as well which adds another piece to your armor that an enemy must break before they can actually start damaging you and you can increase your curse mastery which I will touch on now.

The last and highly important gameplay element is the curse, Denz and Esteban and several other characters in the game are cursed which alows them to enter a cursed state which changes them and the world around them into a demonic flame engulfed realm. In this state you move and attack fatser and hit harder, you also gain access to curse powers like shooting fireballs, healing, seeing things that can't be seen in the normal world like lost souls and crucifixes that need purifying 2 of the things you need to find in stages to increase your victory points and the ability to destroy things that a normal person in the normal world would be unable to. The curse is the coolest part of the game, it looks fantastic and is a lot of fun to destroy guys however you obviously can't stay in cursed form forever, if you stay to long it will begin to consume your health and eventually kill you so you have to use it cautiously.

The Cursed Crusade really is a solid game, its disapointing that so many profesional reviews have pretty much dismissed it with a few sentences stating its crap when there is really so much to the game but its also understandable that with so many AAA games out right now they wouldn't want to devote much time to this diamond in the rough. So if you are interested in it, played the demo and enjoyed it then don't let the reviews scare you away, I only paid 20 bucks for it but would still have been happy if I spent the whole 40.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 25, 2011
I downloaded the demo for The Cursed Crusade while trying to sludge my way through the mess that is Hunted. Man, Bethesda shoulda called Atlus, because for everything that was wrong with Hunted was pretty well fixed with TCC. Apparently I wasn't the only one who decided to hit up this little title, because within days of the demo hitting XBL, every GameStop in the area was sold out of it (Best Buy never did have it).

Here's a quick run-down:
* Controls: are responsive and intuitive, simple enough to pick up and run with yet with enough of a combo tree that combo-techies won't feel neglected.

* Story: I felt the story is pretty immersive, thanks to brief "chore" levels (similar to in the demo when you push the portcullis-thing to the gate before the shooting begins).

* Graphics: the graphics back up the story admirably, especially while in hell view. While the backgrounds and texturing can occasionally look a little "early-gen"ish, the character models are sharp and the animations stayed fluidly on-par with Assassin's Creed.

* Co-op: the most important for me is the local co-op (I like to play with my pals, so I don't buy games without it). Here TCC proves well-thought out. In too many games the title character so dominates the game that the secondary character is just along for the ride, but here Esteban feels like a fully-fleshed character in his own right.

My only real hang-up from a full 5-stars is that the game gets inconveniently reliant on timed combos sometimes (like Dante's Inferno) where I wish it was a little more straight-forward hack-and-slash. But I understand what the developers were trying to do, in making these moments different.

In the end, The Cursed Crusade won't make the chronic complainers about every nuance of AAA titles happy (you know the type), but I think it's a solid, fun game for the rest of us - and definitely worth its bargain price. Enjoy!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on November 13, 2011
The Cursed Crusade came out of nowhere and totally surprised me. I picked it up at game stop for 14.99. The game is essentially a low budget version of Assassins Creed, but there is much more sword play and bloody carnage. This is what a sword fighting game should be like. The graphics are good, not great, but who really cares? The story is solid, the voice acting is decent, and the ability to play in two realms is awesome. The controls are intuitive and easy to learn, as well as the combos. The bottom line is that this is a really fun game that should be judged on it's merits. If there were more games like this on the market, there would be a lot of smiling faces all across the world. It is too bad that this game did not get the media attention it deserved. If you like swordplay and carnage, this game is for you. There are so many games out there for 60 bucks that don't hold a candle to this game. Rent it or buy it, you will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 28, 2014
If you're looking for a game about the crusades, Templars, and unrequited love, look no further. The Cursed Crusade follows the lives of Denz and Esteban, two men that share the same unique abilities and thirst for adventure. The game is a standard third person hack and slash with manageable controls. It's really the story that carries this one. A surprisingly progressive game about forbidden love in the Middle Ages. Check it out!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on October 25, 2011
The Cursed Crusade is yet another Templar game, following other releases such as the Assassin's Creed franchise and The First Templar. Unlike both of those, The Cursed Crusade has been released at a $39.99 budget price (The First Templar debuted for $49.99; the Assassin's Creed games debut at $59.99). While the lower price point makes the shortcomings a little more forgivable, it doesn't make it any better of a game. There's a clear amount of love and dedication that shines through in the final product that Kylotonn Entertainment developed, but sometimes good intentions don't make a stellar product, as is the case with The Cursed Crusade.

I guess I'll start by saying that the combat can look flashy due to very satisfying finishing maneuvers, but there's a delayed reaction from the on-screen avatar after a button press. The combat isn't as 1:1 as I would like it to be. Had the combat been more intuitive and reactionary, I would've given it more props since the heavy feel and satisfying finishers are both positives to me.

The story can be good campy fun and pretty enjoyable, but everything in The Cursed Crusade is very long-winded. There are a lot of cutscenes, which last forever, and the hammy stuff -- though definitely enjoyable -- can get a tad bit tiresome after so much of it.

The presentation is a total mixed bag. It's got a low budget look, but it's not a terrible looking game by any means. The most depressing part of the presentation are graphical glitches, choppy character animations, in addition to the asinine amount of screen tear. Like I said, it's not a terrible looking game, but it's very sloppy in overall execution, and it stinks of low budget development.

Though this review may come off as very negative, it's still an enjoyable game. The combat isn't perfect, but it's still flashy and fun at times. The story stuff can become aggravating because it's so long-winded, but it's still interesting enough to watch most of the time.

At the end of the day, when you truly look at what The Cursed Crusade offers, the budget price of $39.99 is still a bit high considering the game's overall lack of level design sophistication, because each level comes down to arena-style fight, cutscene, arena-style fight, cutscene, wash, rinse and repeat. There's not many down moments where you're just soaking in the environments, solving puzzles, etc. The formula is quite basic, which is why it's sad that what little is here isn't more refined. There's still a lot of things to enjoy about The Cursed Crusade, but this is one game that's cursed by mediocrity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 9, 2012
This game is good fun,a hack, and slash game all the way through.Story is great charecters are a 6.5/10,has comedy in it and is fun to play with all the weapon combos and variety upgrades.I seen all the bad reviews but still hadta try it myself and gotta say its a game even worth $30.All in al i liked the game,its a keeper.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2013
The Cursed Crusade is a game that could have turned out to be a lot better than it actually is. What it Is, unfortunately, is a mess.

As a game, Cursed Crusade isn't awful. Its about as average and generic as a hack and slash game can get. As such, it can get repetitive and dull as you dice up enemies with the same dial-a-combos over and over. There's not much there that makes it stand out. The only thing that's close is the 'curse' gimmick which is pretty much superficial. The Cursed Crusade has a kind of dual-world thing going on. With the push of a button, the normal world converts into a hellish burning landscape and all your enemies look like burn victims or living corpses. Its kind of a neat idea, but it doesn't add a whole lot to the game. The curse feature is basically a powered up mode that allows the player to use super moves and solve extremely crude puzzles. Its an intriguing feature, but the developers didn't do a whole lot with it.

In nearly every other department, The Cursed Crusade is garbage. The story is absurd and silly desperately attempting to do what Assassin's Creed 2 does trying to weave fiction into historical events but failing to be anywhere near as inspired or interesting. Graphically, the game is inconsistent. Most of the time it looks okay, but every now and then the game obviously looks like it isn't properly finished. For instance there's a part where you fight a duel and before you grab your sword, its stuttering and hiccupping around in its holder. The game itself is glitchy as well. I've had to restart a few chapters since an event that was supposed to trigger didn't. There's also poor design where there's no indication on what to do or where to go. Typically this means using your curse to reveal a hidden wall, but sometimes those aren't even properly highlighted.

Honestly, I would have given this game a 3 star rating saying its average and nothing more, but I can't ignore just how sloppy and rough around the edges it is. The Cursed Crusade is so thoroughly a mediocre bargain bin quality title I really can't recommend it. It is not a quality or memorable game. For the budget price of $20, there's a lot better out there. I got it for $15 brand new, and I still feel like it wasn't worth it. The Cursed Crusade is so unpolished I'd even place The First Templar above it in terms of quality.

However, if you're into Gamerscore, The Cursed Crusade is a rather easy and quick 1000 g.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 22, 2012
I had a lot of fun playing The Cursed Crusade, I found the gameplay quite enjoyable and rather addicting. I couldn't stop playing the first night when i started the game. The graphics aren't as good as most games that came out recently but I don't care about graphics and i don't think games should be judged badly because the graphics aren't amazing.

The fighting system is actually more in depth then most games i have played, there is several combinations for weapon styles for example, one handed sword/axe/or mace, two handed sword or axe, dual swords/axes/maces, and shield and sword/axe/or mace. There is a few i don't remember but each have their own set of combos. The fighting is kinda like assassins creed like you can parry the enemies attack and then counter, or just go in slashing whatever you prefer.

The Cursed feature is extremly cool. You can just use the curse mode and the world changes around you its all dark, and flames everywhere, the enemies look different more like monsters, other people with the curse look awesome, certain things can only be seen in cursed mode. Cursed mode is just extremly cool looking i loved activating it. If you stay in Cursed mode too long your health starts to drain and you almost die and have to push death away from you until your partner helps you up.

This game also has a co-op feature but i can't review that since i just played it solo. Your AI partner isn't too bad I have seen better and worse AI partners. He does get a tad annoying sometimes but not often he does what you ask most of the time the only problem i had with the partner was that he would sometimes get stuck but thats easy to fix.

The Story is actually pretty good but the ending may leave some dissapointed i know i was a bit dissapointed by the way it ended. Other than the ending i enjoyed the story especially the parts with Death he was totally awesome and by far my favorite character in the game.

I don't really have anything bad to say about this game i had fun the whole time i was playing it. This was a budget title so its original price was $40 on release day probably a lot cheaper now but even $40 is worth it, its not too short, good story, fun gameplay. So i Totally recommend buying this game its a lot better then some reviews say people are just way too harsh when it comes to writing reviews. I was a bit worried when i read the reviews for this game, but i figured i would give it a try and i asked for this game for christmas and glad i did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 21, 2013
First off, if you are on the fence about the game, buy it and play it. I waited so long to play, because of all the negative reviews. The game is worth it, trust me.

Now on for the review.

The Positives: If you played First Templar, this game is way better. The collections of weapons you can pick up are awesome and the battle system is flawless. "Cursed mode" is an okay addition, I could have done without it, but the environment is visually awesome. The game is long, a lot longer than I anticipated. Couch Co-Op is also really fun. The upgrade system for your weapons is epic, and for your player is simple but not in a bad way.

The Negatives: The game doesn't let you play as much as it should. There's A LOT of cut scenes, sometimes to the point where you're wondering "why can't i just play the game"? It will feel like you get into the board to fight 4 bad guys, and you're back in a 5 minute cut scene. Your weapons break, and break often. You have to do a lot of weapon swapping, so if you fall in love with one type of weapon, you better not get used to it, because after 5 kills you're picking up something else.

All and all the game is good. No it's not a 5 Star Big Time Release Game, but that doesn't mean it's not good. For everyone comparing it to all those type of games, is just silly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon February 18, 2014
This is easily one of the worst games I've ever played on the XBox 360.
Firstly, the cutscene / graphics / voice-over is utterly pathetic. It's like an old game from the original XBox or something.
Second, the plot/story is so bad, just so, so dumb, I skipped all cutscenes after the first dozen that were so boring.
Third, gameplay is atrocious. Block the guy about to attack you, hack and slash randomly, block mid-swing because some other guy is about to hit you. Repeat ad-nauseum. Not even challenging. I didn't even know you could die until I was 1/3 way through the game.
Fourth, terrible, terrible game progression. You can be stuck in one spot with waves upon waves of guys coming at you, all because you didn't take a step forward into the correct doorway or hallway. Speaking on that, many MANY times it's impossible to know where to go next or what to do next.
And I still have no idea what is up with the switch to the devil/hell demon guy. Ugh this game is so dumb. Even for the ten bucks I spent on it, it's way too much. I flew through the game to win it, only to see the utterly crummy game end graphics. Stupid, stupid game. Anyone involved in it's creation should be ashamed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The First Templar - Xbox 360
The First Templar - Xbox 360 by Kalypso Media (Xbox 360)
$13.67

Blades of Time - Xbox 360
Blades of Time - Xbox 360 by Konami (Xbox 360)
$11.47

Hunted: The Demon's Forge
Hunted: The Demon's Forge by Bethesda (Xbox 360)
$19.79
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.