Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the price., July 10, 2002
By 
"times-gone-by" (Carpinteria, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cycads (Hardcover)
This book on cycads is very informative without being to technical. It is an outstanding source of information for all who have an interest in cycads. I feel I received value that exceeded the price paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cycad "Bible", May 18, 2002
By 
R. Buckley (Trabuco Canyon, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cycads (Hardcover)
This book will prove invaluable to anyone who has ever brought a single cycad into their garden on impulse and years later found themselves with a small "forest" of these rare and fascinating ornamental plants. Written for all of us, Loren Whitelock has devoted his life to the study and cultivation of these contemporaries of the dinosaurs and the photo section is rich with shots of cycads in their natural habitat. The cultivation and propagation sections are based on years of actual experience growing cycads, but it is in the detailed species descriptions that "The Cycads" excels. Excellent line drawings by Geoff Stein accent many of the pages, but you'll find yourself wishing that there were more. If you garden and you've gotten "hooked" on cycads, this is the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable Cycad Reference, May 24, 2002
By 
Zone 10A (California, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cycads (Hardcover)
Loran Whitelock has put a lifetime of cycad knowledge and experience in this book. Its excellent photographs give both views of mature plants and close ups of leaf detail that help readers distinguish among similar species. In addition to detailed physical descriptions of all of the recognized cycads and subspecies, Whitelock gives invaluable information on habitat, geographical distribution, conservation status and horticultural characteristics. This book will be the standard reference for cycad gardeners and admirers for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A big one for Cycad lovers, July 15, 2008
By 
Shizhou Liu (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cycads (Hardcover)
I 'm a frenzy Cycad lover. For this reason, I would like to collect everything related Cycad, including plants of different species, books, stamps, photos.This is second important book on Cycad(the first one is CYCADS WORLD ED 2E).I consider the author spend much efforts and time on finishing this book, he had travel (I guess) all round the wolrd to collect the imformation on Cycad. He had a lot of experience. In this book, he shared his experiences with the readers. In this regard, I would like have this book, since you will know all the author had experienced. it 's a treseaue, a fantasitic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book, October 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cycads (Hardcover)
My husband love palm trees and he had and opportunity to meet Mr . Loran and he wanted his book so bad now he has the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introductory reference, November 9, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Cycads (Hardcover)
For any novice collector, this book offers a wonderful general knowledgebase of the Cycad family. Whilst not filled with botanical overload as some more in-depth books, it will assist you to identify differences between key plants within a genus.

No reference collection is complete without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE CYCADS, October 7, 2005
This review is from: The Cycads (Hardcover)
What can one say, simply the best book available on these fascinating ancient plants.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cycads (Hardcover)
Alles besten abgelaufen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Cycads
The Cycads by Loran M. Whitelock (Hardcover - May 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $185.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.