Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucid, accessible, human, intelligent - not your usual travel guide.
Dennehy and Powers have written a captivating account of not only the major battle fronts of D-Day, but also of the heart-breaking and human small victories and stories that are commemorated and memorialized for posterity. They have painstakingly and precisely chronicled for us the memorials, cemeteries, plaques, archives, statuary and archived diaries and town hall...
Published 4 months ago by Jude

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good supplement but doesn't stand alone well.
This book is fair and has some good info on the background of some of the battles and monuments, also the directions to places would come in handy. However, there were several typos such as on one page "airborne" was "airborn" and some words which should have been plural were singular. One confusing point - the book was published in 2014 and the title reflects the 70th...
Published 2 months ago by Ken H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucid, accessible, human, intelligent - not your usual travel guide., April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The D-Day Assault: A 70th Anniversary Guide to the Normandy Landings (Paperback)
Dennehy and Powers have written a captivating account of not only the major battle fronts of D-Day, but also of the heart-breaking and human small victories and stories that are commemorated and memorialized for posterity. They have painstakingly and precisely chronicled for us the memorials, cemeteries, plaques, archives, statuary and archived diaries and town hall records - giving us the actual road maps, directions and instructions but leaving us to find our way on a momentous journey into past and the real events. The old dictum, “history is prologue”, makes for an important reason to read this accessible account of war with all its mistakes, assumptions, victories, and the fallibility of human decisions and nature often turning the tide for an unexpected outcome.

Not only do the authors cover the critical information to make the trip, but provide side trip tips to broaden the experience with stops in Monet’s Giverny, Bayeux for the tapestries and where to find the best moules mariniere, cheeses, Calvados - as well as the soul-stirring water garden in Caen for contemplation.

The book has vital maps of military involvement that back the lucid telling of varied battle strategies; they teach us military jargon of the time that makes the period of June 1944 come alive.

It is evident this accounting of D-Day Invasion and this subsequent travel guide has been objectively and caringly chronicled with huge respect for our military and allies.

Even if you may not be able to travel this summer for the special 70th commemoration, if you read this book, you’ll feel as if you’ve been there through the energetic spirit and scholarship of the authors.

Additionally, those of us who had grandparents or parents directly involved in this front will understand better what those family members bore and what happened and why to those who did not return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good supplement but doesn't stand alone well., June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The D-Day Assault: A 70th Anniversary Guide to the Normandy Landings (Paperback)
This book is fair and has some good info on the background of some of the battles and monuments, also the directions to places would come in handy. However, there were several typos such as on one page "airborne" was "airborn" and some words which should have been plural were singular. One confusing point - the book was published in 2014 and the title reflects the 70th anniversary of D-Day, yet on page 5 it begins "In the 50 years since the end of WWII..." Fifty years? I realize pictures cost money and color ones likely cost more than black and white ones, but in a book of this type color would have sure been better. I was surprised at the lack of photos of some of the monuments; no photo for the monument to Major Dick Winters of "Band of Brothers." Finally, they did two reviews of two D-Day movies which I didn't completely agree with, but there were several others that could have been mentioned too. Overall, a fair book, but if you are going to Normandy, don't depend on this one alone, get others and use this as a supplement to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, April 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The D-Day Assault: A 70th Anniversary Guide to the Normandy Landings (Paperback)
This book strikes a perfect balance, blending historical detail with practical tips for those travelling to Normandy. If you're planning on visiting, or just want to know more about the history of the battle and the current conditions of the surrounding area, you'll enjoy this informative guide. The author's unique historical insights on the logistics of the battle provide excellent perspective, walking the reader through many important sites that are off the beaten path. Highly recommended for the traveller and those simply wanting to learn more about Normandy, both past and present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book took us to all the sights, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The D-Day Assault: A 70th Anniversary Guide to the Normandy Landings (Paperback)
I used this guide for my recent trip to Normandy. Armed with this book, a rental car, GPS and desire to see all the sights, my friend and I traced all the historic steps of the D day assault using this guide. The guidebook was spot on, and if I had to do it all over again I would by using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good modern guide to Normandy, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you look for actual information about the most interesting spots in Normandy connected to the D-Day landings, this is the right book for you. You get lots of background info to each military site, which is a plus for everyone not having extra literature on it.
At the same time it may be a little bit annoying for tourists, who like to see the usual attractions, but may as well be interested in other sweet spots in the countryside, especially if you travel with familiy and kids.
But the title "D-Day assault" says it all, so don't expect a general tourist guide to Normandy.
If you are new to Normandy and your main desire is to watch the numerous D Day landing zones, historic battle spots and museums, the book does a perfect job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Found this on Amazon and it is a great reference for our upcoming trip to Normandy France for the 70th anniversary of D-Day. The authors are incredibly knowledgeable and the guidebook is well written. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Normandy, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The D-Day Assault: A 70th Anniversary Guide to the Normandy Landings (Paperback)
Very pleased. Having been to Normandy I would have liked to have had this previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Won't regret buying!, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazing information! A lot of research went in to this book. Well worth the time to read - learn about the invasion and learn some tour it information too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I got this book to get me ready for a ..., August 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this book to get me ready for a trip to Normandy and the Beaches in Sept 2014 and have found it most helpful in describing the areas I want to visit as well as detailed maps and hours of numerous museums and other sights we want to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, August 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The D-Day Assault: A 70th Anniversary Guide to the Normandy Landings (Paperback)
Very information with pictures of today and after the invasion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The D-Day Assault: A 70th Anniversary Guide to the Normandy Landings
The D-Day Assault: A 70th Anniversary Guide to the Normandy Landings by Kevin Dennehy (Paperback - March 13, 2014)
$12.95 $10.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.