Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
51
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 8, 2008
The DCC Guide by Don Fiehmann is an outstanding publication for anyone new to DCC! The author presents a very comprehensive approach to the subject and is accompanied with excellent graphics. I have purchased various publications on the subject, but The DCC Guide is truly the best guide for the non technical model railroader.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2010
If you are thinking of using DCC for your model railroad, this book will answer just about any question you may have regarding DCC. Buy it and read it before you buy a system. If you already have a system, this book will explain how to use your system to it's full potential, or guide you as to where to get answers.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2011
First, let me say I think this is one of the best books on the subject.
But I have two minor quibbles...

In chapter six "Layout Wiring" there's only a brief 3 short pararaphs mentioning the two different ways to wire a layout, 2 rail, and common ground. There are no diagrams, or photographs to illustrate these 2 different methods(surprising, since that is Kalmbach publishing's strength)
Apparently, this book is intended for modelers who have operated DC layouts and know how to wire using the two different methods. Still, it would be useful to show any adaptions that might have to be made for DCC.

Secondly, Chart "J" on p 44 is incorrect. The voltage drop for 10 gauge wire is incorrect, (20 gauge wire and 10 gauge wire both lose 1/2 volt in 50 ft? I dont' think so....) Also, the 8 gauge wire listing under 5 amps in the same chart is incorrect. Better editing would have caught these errors and omissions.
So I'm going with 4 stars instead of 5.

Readers may want to look at Mike Polsgrove's "DCC Projects and Applications" also published by Kalmbach.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2008
Certainly helped me choose which equipment to buy. Well worthwhile buying, especially for a beginner.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2010
My old train layout was done in DC. I kept hearing about the DCC setup but didn't know how to proceed. I now have the opportunity to start from scratch with a new layout so needed to find out how to go about a DCC layout. Looked at a few resources but none of them really answered my questions. Then along comes 'The DCC Guide'. Great book for not only the DCC novice, but I will be able to used it for a long time. Great book!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2010
this is a great book to use as an introduction to DCC (digital Command Control). It compares the various systems and their features. It also shows typical decoder installations. A must for those entering the world of DCC
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2011
A great guide to help you figure out what type of DCC system would be best for your layout. It reviews different controller types and gives incite into making an informed decision of which will best for your particular layout. I found it very helpful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
With the constant changing DCC market (Well any electronic market) this book has fallen behind. A great book for the beginner in DCC to get to know the basics but not if you've had any experience with DCC.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
If you're wondering whether computer control of model trains is for you, this is a good place to start. This book does a good job of explaining the basic technology and what is involved in setting up a system using DCC. This approach is not for everyone and this book helps make your decision clear as well as getting you well on your way if you decide to go ahead with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2010
This guide to DCC provides informative data on how DCC works. It is a good tool when looking a DCC systems for your model railroad.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse