Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead end 2011 on a high note
2011 was a busy year for Radiohead. A new album, a "record store day" single, the Radiohead newspaper, another From The Basement, multiple tv appearances, and a boatload of remixes. As for The King of Limbs, reviews have been mixed at best. Some will agree it's another great Radiohead record, while others wrote it off as mediocre and derivative of their earlier forays...
Published on December 19, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound
I purchased this after seeing the songs performed on a cable channel. The sound quality is poor and does not even come close to what I heard on the video production. I am a big fan of Radiohead but am disappointed with this,
Published 8 months ago by Ken


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead end 2011 on a high note, December 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
2011 was a busy year for Radiohead. A new album, a "record store day" single, the Radiohead newspaper, another From The Basement, multiple tv appearances, and a boatload of remixes. As for The King of Limbs, reviews have been mixed at best. Some will agree it's another great Radiohead record, while others wrote it off as mediocre and derivative of their earlier forays into teh beatz. Regardless of how you felt about The King of Limbs, I think both parties will be able to agree that these two tracks represented here are of the highest quality and are certainly among the best Radiohead tracks released in quite some time, Staircase in particular. If you've seen TKOL: FTB, you'll know what to expect. In fact, these recordings are the same takes as the ones used in those From The Basement sessions. While I do think Staircase could've used an extra dash of studio magic, both tracks have been heavily re-touched and re-mixed to acheive near perfect audio fidelity. If I'm hearing correctly, Thom's voice has definitely been re-recorded in rough areas as well, giving these songs a nice ready-for-primetime polish. As for the songs themselves, Daily Mail is a haunting piano driven number that harkens back to the days of You And Whose Army? which crescendos into a hot mess of guitars and horns. Staircase is a beautifully life-affriming dance song (!) that ends with what is simply the greatest Radiohead ending in existence. Seriously, it's that great. Download these, listen to them. Cherish them. This is music for the soul that goes beyond what any review could try and explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new Radiohead emerging, April 18, 2012
By 
nb "nb" (phoenix, az, usa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
Again, they begin anew, this time with polyphonic drumming and new member Clive Deamer - thx for joining Clive! Great new life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Daily Mail is Classic Radiohead, January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
The Daily Mail is an amazing song, Staircase isn't great but it's not bad. A must have for any Radiohead fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
Kind of makes you wonder what would have happened if Radiohead wasn't so stuck on the whole 40 minute album thing, what TKOL would have sounded like. It doesn't matter, cause they released both these tunes and they are both fantastic. Read other reviews for details on the performances from IN the Basement or whatever, bottom line is that you will listen to The Daily Mail 100 times in a row once you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Symphonic electronic and Monsters of Grace!, October 20, 2012
By 
M101 (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
I was blown away by the performance at Austin City Limits! Staircase, Daily Mail and Identikit were new to me, I hope they signal a new direction for the band, and a new album?! There is so much more in these pieces,the brilliance of the compositions, the complexity of the sound, Thom Yorke's voice, the added drums (thank you Clive Deamer!) and the layers upon layers that Jonny Greenwood paints... There is a lightness to them too, a dreamlike quality, they don't feel like the abandoned spiral towards the abyss of Weird Fishes ( as much as I enjoy that!) or the helpless doom of Where I End and You Begin ( as much as I enjoy that too!!) Reckoner came to mind, they seemed to continue the line of thought.
It's hard to describe the complexity of what they achieve, Tangerine Dream came to mind all of a sudden, Philip Glass with a dose of Telecaster, A Love Supreme! Radiohead is a sound machine operated with extreme precision, and professionalism. Oh, gosh, they are great at what they do, and they have fun experimenting!
Glenn Gould! I watched Lotus Flower on you tube and it crossed my mind,I just hope Mr. Yorke will keep sharing his brilliance with us, yes, we do appreciate the beauty and we are grateful, keep playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
I purchased this after seeing the songs performed on a cable channel. The sound quality is poor and does not even come close to what I heard on the video production. I am a big fan of Radiohead but am disappointed with this,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead awesomeness!!!, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
Awesome as only Radiohead can be!! These should've been on The King of Limbs. Staircase is one of my favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Stop Gap Release, October 5, 2012
By 
Brian77 (Chicago Area) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
The Daily Mail is fantastic and better than most of King of Limbs (other than Lotus Flower and Codex) but it really would not have fit.

Staircase is also quite good, but would not be worth hunting down if it was on its own - for completionists.

Definitely worth the download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why wasn't this put on King of Limbs?, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
I wish these songs were put on the King of Limbs. They're my favorite. I really enjoy hearing these performed live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars much better, July 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Daily Mail & Staircase (MP3 Music)
These two songs are better than the eight songs on the king of limbs album to me. If these were recorded after the king of limbs songs then maybe this a hint of better music to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.